Where are You From?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I was doing some thinking about steemit and how cool it is that it is such a diverse group of people sharing their stories from all over the world. So I wanna know where all of you guys are from/heritage?

I am originally from New York but moved to FL when I was 9. My heritage is mainly Dutch and Russian. My mothers side is dutch, as they live up to their hard working stereotype! They are from a dutch town in upstate NY close to the border of Canada. When I was younger, I did quite a bit of exploring in their basement and found all sorts of old pictures of my ancestors and personal belongings of theirs. I once found a pair of authentic wooden clogs from the Netherlands! (Not very comfortable :P )

Anyway.. Here are some pictures of my mother's side.

The youngest Boy is my great great grandfather Carl

My lovely grandparents who I am lucky enough for them to still be in my lives. They are a huge part of my life and I feel blessed to have them around!

My beautiful mother!

Growing up in upstate NY allowed for her to get into horseback riding. She owned 4 horses as that was a huge part of her life growing up.

I am so grateful to my grandparents for keeping such beautiful pictures!!

For my dad's side:

He grew up in New York City and remained there for most of his life before meeting my mom. His side of the family comes from Eastern Europe (Russia & Ukraine). Unfortunately, his parents passed away when I was a baby, so I never had the opportunity to meet them as an adult. I could not find many pictures of them, but found one that I love.

Hope this was interesting for you guys! I would love to know where you all are from! :)

Sort:  

Interesting indeed! 😉Very cool photos and insight to some of your families history.
Do you speak Dutch or Russian?

No unfortunately I do not. I wish I could speak a second language fluently. A little bit of french in high school and college was all I was taught! :P

My great grandmother (mom's side) was first generation american born in 1896. She was 100% Danish. So by default, it makes me 1/8 Danish. She and my mother we born in colorado, but I dont know where my grandmother was born. I was born in Idaho, but I live in Colorado now.

Thanks for sharing and those are some amazing photos.

I am from the upper penninsula of Michigan. Beautiful place ;) we are the infamous yoopers! Welcome to steem! Beautiful family!

Thank you! :)

Interesting! I am from the Netherlands, so a typical dutchie. Do you have any information on where you ancesters from the dutch side used to life? I used to life near Amsterdam. It is called Almere and is rather new. A little bit more than 50 years ago it wasn't there yet, but they build land on the water. Now its protected from the sea with 7 metres high man made dikes.

Wow thats pretty cool! and I unfortunately do not know off the top of my head! Id have to find out from my mother or grandma. I would love to visit the Netherlands one day and see for myself where my roots came from :) Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome! Well let me know if you want a crash course in Dutch language ;)

Good evening) I'm from Russia, and several generations of my ancestors were born and lived in Moscow, I also live in Moscow

Moscow looks like an incredible city to visit! One day :)

Thank you) Only now we have an unusually cold June rain and wind. Uncomfortable)