Is Steemit for Everyone?

in #steemit7 years ago

flashgold logo.png
Ok so I am very new to Steemit although not new to the concept, and as a developer I was incredibly excited to hear of a cryptocurrency that was using a Social Network of sorts to disseminate both information as well as spread the currency and thereby drive its value at least amongst the participants themselves, this is genius. So here I am, a newbie. Fresh off developing my New App for a developing economy, an App that allows users to digitize their Fiat currency and expand its reach. Some may call it a simple wallet App and would say there are millions of those around, and they would be right, but I had to design mine in a way that would not be perceived as such because this economy does not even allow Paypal to work directly, only one bank in the entire Island allows Paypal transactions. So instead of designing a Wallet App I designed a platform that required users to upload Cash and then use it nationwide, the market is there, most of the online shops are happy using the old Craigslist method of "lets meet somewhere I bring the stuff you bring the money" but I simply could not let it be, I could not grasp how in the world it could be that with great connectivity and great infrastructure and a decent logistic this country was still pretty much doing COD and really backwards stuff. As soon as I floated the APK around I was told that it would never work because the people were not ready for it, and that the people were simply used to "feeling their cash in their hands" this reminded me of the old BlackBerry mentality "our customers like to feel the keys on their phones when they reach into their pockets" that went so well for them. Anyhow, so I am facing the challenge of making something that's efficient, innovative and yet alien; making it appealing and convincing to this market.

So I come back to Steemit because I said to myself, now here is something familiar a new crypto looking to take hold in a world of so many emerging cryptos and it is backed up by a community of users that will eventually give it shape. I come running thinking that I would find that community; and it may be that I have not looked hard enough but aside from @jerrybanfield and some others this community is not all that inclusive. It seems that even communing with the Vets in a rookie system has a learning curve to it, this is my first post on steemit directly and it will probably be my last. Guys, figure out a way to make it simple and interesting to the masses, make it a true social network where the user can intuitively figure it out, where even changing your profile picture doesn't require going back ten months into the FAQs, it is this notion of "in the shadows" "hushed tones" type nonsense that has kept an entire economy in the dark ages controlled by a series of banks right here where I am now; and if we are just going to propagate that then why change the system at all? so we're to go from cryptic bankers with weird tiny print contracts with dubious terms to a system that is designed only for coders?
Make it as inclusive as possible and when a newbie asks a question do not get frustrated or impatient, take a quick second and give a simple helpful answer. I assure you that this will not work if the masses do not get involved and become comfortable with it, in the end it will boil down to comfort because BlockChain is here to stay, and the main reason why its here to stay its because it creates a new substantial inclusive "Trust" system where there are no elites where there are no Know it all experts and grand masters of the system.

My hope is that BlockChain will make it impossible for Bankers and retailers to make my fellow citizens pay $300 US for a $65 dollar product again simply because they did not have the mechanism to order it online and have it shipped. They have the money and they have the technology but their lack of access to credit or some type of financial platform has kept them in a weird commercial fiefdom, this is what I believe BlockChain was designed to prevent and it Steemit can educate the masses by simply engaging them, the future is indeed bright and steeming with possibilities.

Sort:  

Congratulations @flashbid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt!

Hi !
Welcome my friend
Enjoy yourself there
Good luck
@yann0975