Photography from my recent vacation/golf tournament [Monterey, CA]

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This last month my older brother and I qualified to play in the Northern California Four-Ball Championship. Bascially, for those who do not know, this tournament is a team golf tournament and the format is best ball between the two of us. Best score per each hole is recorded. The tournament was played at Spyglass hill Golf Course in Monterey, California. This course is currently ranked #11 for the best public golf course in the nation. For us, this was a pretty special opportunity. Also to note, it's $395 for a round here. So four two people who played three rounds each that would be $2370. Thankfully the tournament was no where near that price. The photos below are some of the highlights from our trip. Wish I had a better camera to capture this golf course/city in all its beauty.

Tournament results: Tied for 22nd. (73-75-70, +2)

Extended results:
https://www.ghintpp.com/ncga/TPPOnlineScoring/ResultsStroke.aspx?id=2219

My brother (just off the green) actually chipped this on in for birdie. If only it was a video. Unreal view of the bay. Course in the background is Cypress Point. One of the most exclusive courses in the world. NO joke.

5th hole. 197 yds. Par 3.
FullSizeRender 5.jpg

Favorite hole on the course. Wind was ripping in off the ocean. Typically would hit a 9 iron here but instead hit 5 iron!

3rd hole. 165 yds. Par 3.
14237531_1107006552708901_9218400888221475233_n.jpg

Got this one in two. Easy two putt birdie ;)

14th hole. 560 yds. Par 5.
13726627_1107006449375578_2018917474911156637_n.jpg

Point Lobos State Reserve, Carmel, CA

This state reserve has so many different walking trails. We decided to take the route to the coastal section of the reserve. This paths winds through a forest of beautiful cypress trees. An easy walk with only minimal elevation changes.

14237631_1107006836042206_5078618501787520254_n.jpg

Hidden gem of the trip = Gibson Beach. This was the view we were rewarded with at the end of our trail. Absolutely stunning. Crystal blue water and hardly anyone here. If you are ever in the area you really need to check this place out.

14332927_1107006729375550_3935632467634429878_n.jpg

Thanks for reading. Upvoting helps out a lot :) Would love for more people to see this.

Hoping to bring my background in golf and love for photography to the Steemit community. To stay connected with me please follow.

LIFE IS GOOD!

Sort:  

Good post mate looks mint. I was visiting some marine buddies i deployed with recently, up in NH the golf courses there are immaculate. My buddies dad beat me with this crazy slice swing, but it was like slicing to the fairway like clockwork. Ridiculous.

Nice post, great golf course, this one is on my Bucket List, little bit far away from me and if i come over to USA for it, I wanna play more courses in the vicinity, so would need a lot of cash for it.
Nice score in the 4ball over 3 rounds!

The area is incredible. Fun little course called Pacific Grove that you should check out if you are ever there. Same designer as Pebble Beach and its right near the water. Only about $40usd :)

40 USD is great value in that area to play a round of golf.

This is good info, thanks!! 40 bucks, awesome!! If I'm ever in the area, I will let you know!!

Gave you a nice upvote!! I'm a golf lover as well!!
Good to have you onboard the Steem it platform!! I will be following and supporting!!

Welcome to Steemit @golfncrypto!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steemit @golfncrypto :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Golf can be expensive but...

What a view!

Never played golf myself, but wish to try:)

Congratulations @golfncrypto! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @golfncrypto! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!