Life's Lessons: Going Long Distance

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

9b9e97a5adab6e8777c320f18316b73e.jpg

As tears streamed down her face, mirroring the rain drops that travelled down the windshield, each sniffle grew louder drowning out the tune to Bruno Mars’, “When I was your Man”, playing from the radio speakers. That moment was nothing short of tense as I sat clutching the steering wheel of my Tiguan Volkeswagen parked adjacent to a local coffee shop. Paralyzed by the intensity of the moment I felt as though I couldn’t lift my head. As silence continued to fill the space, the suspense was beginning to take its toll on me. I couldn’t help but think that I had made a terrible decision. Consumed by guilt, I’d originally thought I was doing what was best. I was leaving, not for good, however for a time uncertain. They say “home is where the heart is” and I couldn’t agree more, so why was I leaving? She couldn’t fathom spending this much time apart, the idea of long distance was unimaginable.

She took a while to speak to me but when she mustered up the strength, all she could utter was a quiet, yet memorable, “why?”. Just days prior to this strikingly emotional encounter I’d used words like opportunity, growth, future and success, I would say things like, “I’m doing this for us”. But in this moment I was ever present, hyper focused, attempting to tune into her vibe. I’d planned to learn, to experience, realizing that the journey I was about to embark upon would be done solo. I understood that the sacrifice of the present was only an effort put forth to witness great dividends in the future.

However, when I left I mostly felt sorrow, reminiscing, often finding myself indexing all the most favorable memories with her that my mind could find. And although we talked daily I felt alone, even in the company of many. My outer appearance and inner feelings unmatched, there were many days I just felt like turning back. But with time a faith based resiliency took over my existence, achievements and outer successes formulating, this became contagious and she became encouraged. With inner peace settling in, accompanied by a surprising visit, there too began a shift in perspective as I recognized that this experience served as my teacher. I’d been life’s student enrolled in its crash course, learning more than I thought I ever could.

Reminiscent of a rollercoaster the reaches highest of heights and lowest of dips, this ride has been everything but fruitless. Establishing an even closer unity beyond any foreseeable destruction, one that is certainly a continual success story that is undoubtedly paying great dividends. Just a year ago I was riddled with doubt, a year later I couldn’t be more hopeful, and for this I’m grateful.

Follow me @goodguyty

#newbieresteemday

Sort:  

A very good indeed life learn lesson friend. Keep it up.

@mobyappsnation most definitely learned a lot in a short time.