Steemit is NOT YouTube [Thank Goodness!]

in #steemit7 years ago

I write this as a YouTube Creator who came to Steemit about two months ago and who has been completely smitten with Steemit and inadvertently, but unashamedly all but abandoned YouTube!

Steemit is NOT YouTube!

Well Yeah... But What Do You Mean?


Let me start with what I quickly learned from my own transition from YouTube to Steemit. I came here with the idea of treating Steemit as a secondary posting platform. Meaning, create a quick post with an embedded link of my YouTube video and leave. I learned quickly this was not going to be profitable, and this is not how Steemit works.

Not Profitable


Numbers speak for themselves, so let's take a look at the payout amounts of those first handful of posts where I did little more than post, drop, and run.



Pretty crappy, huh? Well, yes! And that's all I deserved!

I didn't put any effort into the posts and didn't think of writing but whatever I though would get you to click on my link. I was only here to share the link for views back on my YouTube channel.

Looking back now, that was completely backwards! I didn't slow down enough to see what Steemit was about, and what kind of content should be on here. Which brings me to...

That's Not How Steemit Works


As I looked at my earnings I asked myself "Self, that's crappy! What are you not doing that others are?" So I went and looked. I traveled through the Trending post section, then into individual blogs of successful (according to their payouts) people on Steemit. I quickly picked up on a common thread...

The successful posts are mostly written!

This is when I realized that Steemit was not YouTube. People were not on Steemit to watch each other's videos. The successful posts were all well written and could hold their own just by the words contained within. Photos and video links were just garnishes. They helped make a better presentation and were great to look at, but they were not the post.

Wow, You're Kinda Slow Aren't You?

In my defense, I came here from YouTube and with a few other YouTube content creators. My only exposure to Steemit was "Hey, you can post videos here too and make money!". I can only be thankful I learned my lesson sooner than later.

I'm Converted!


I've never been one to write much, but wow! Has that changed! I not prefer to write up an article than make a video. Things are looking bleak for YouTube.... Sayonara! To date, my rewards on Steemit have been 400% what I earned on YouTube in over 15 months of dedicated participation and video creation.



But that's not the best part... The best part about Steemit has been the people I've gotten to know and genuine interactions I've had with them. This is priceless nowadays; to find a social website where people truly interact with each other in a positive way!

So That's It for Videos?


I don't think so... especially not with projects such as @furion has called Viewly on the near horizon. But I can for certain that I am now a Blogger! And you probably won't find me on YouTube much anymore.

Unless it's to tell you to come to Steemit!

See you in the comments below, and on the next post!

Until then, @greenacrehome

Sort:  

Great job! Hit it out of the park! I'm so ready to completely leave YT behind.

Same here! Maybe it's just me, but it seems like the people here are more intelligent and actually want good information instead of the mindless clickbait approach that YouTube requires to get noticed.

I agree, but also put much of that on the incentive to "play nice" too. :-) Whatever works!

While I love the blogging system to steemit, I definitely don't want to lose out on videos from my favorite creators! I'm a very visual learner so videos really help me. Hoping that steemit video actually launches and works well! Then hopefully we will have the best of both worlds!

I'm sure it will someday, but as to when is a great unknown. SteemQ seems to have died quietly--not noticed any updates on their end in a while. There is a new launch called View.ly that seems promising, but it's also at the early test stages. @furion is developing that one.

I hope not :/ I would really prefer it to be the same platform

SteemQ was a separate development, too.

yes but I assume it worked on the same principle?

Hard to direct message people inside Steemit, so hopefully you don't mind the below plug. :-)

Interested in joining our new SteemitHomesteaders slack community? Here's the announcement post with details and signup invitation link:

https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

Have you heard of view.ly from @furion? Mentioned you in my reply on their thread but "mentions" are mostly broken on here. Check it out if you haven't yet. I'm wondering if this will supplant the steemq project (or get off the ground first).

Interested in joining our new SteemitHomesteaders slack community? Here's the announcement post with details and signup invitation link:

https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

Glad to see you took the time to learn! You are rocking it compared to many others who came over and think folks just want to see your video! The interaction is what I am here for, and I will work to build this community in whatever way I can help. Shared so maybe they can learn also...

Aww thank you! I too enjoy the interaction I never found on youtube!

Hey, check this post out when you get a moment. You may have already saw it, but just in case... https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

Hi @greenacrehome. Really happy with your direction of travel here on steemit.

I have been quite dismayed to see a number of YouTubers coming over to steemit and just plonking their YT videos in a post and hoping (expecting?) an extra payout.

If I just want to watch videos I can watch them on Youtube!

Thank you for making the transition 😊

Hey @pennsif, great to hear you like where we're headed. :-) I agree.. I've come across other YouTubers who put out good content, but just aren't giving Steemit it's due, or us members our due. I just look and walk away from those posts.

My joke is "I can't watch your YouTube video in the bathroom at work! C'mon... write something!". :-D

Hey, check this post out when you get a moment. You may have already saw it, but just in case... https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

Yes, I agree. I did the same thing when I first came here but quickly learned that it is best to have photos and writing to go along with the video. I do still the rare occasional post where I feel there is little I can add in my writing, like the one I posted this morning about the 30 Random Facts, because that one has to be experienced in video and audio. However, I do try to make up for it when I post such things by making my next posts, even if they include video links, have more body to them for those who prefer to read rather than watch and listen.

And you do makeup for it! Pun on your latest colloidal copper post :-)

As a fellow YouTuber I hear where you are coming from. I've been here a couple of weeks and really enjoy this site. It's refreshing to meet so many people with a common goal.

I will still make videos because I actually really enjoy the whole process. Whether they get posted here or anywhere is kind of unimportant to me, as long as they are out there. I was talking about making an app to host them here just yesterday?

I never saw YouTube as a money making venture at all but as a repository of my thoughts and ideas on video.
The way things are going. The block chain is the way forward simply because it is more likely to survive the coming disruption that steemit is bringing.
Very thoughtful and honest post. Resteemed and all that.
Can't say the same for YouTube. Sadly the writing is on the wall. Excuse the pun!

Hey @molometer, thanks for the resteeming! I totally agree with you on video posting on youtube as a personal log, etc. The technology is great for that. I still use them to host my videos. :-) This is a very busy time of year for us with gardening harvests and our preparing for our sheep (coming Saturday), so I find that I don't have as much time to devote to my video editing right now. Getting some good photos and keeping going is what is working best for me. That aside, the direction of YouTube is nearly 180 degrees from what I want, and only seeming worse with their latest update. Thanks again!

Totally agree with you @greenacrehome on the direction YouTube is taking at the moment.
Trying to make YouTube more like TV is not what the audience or creators want.
The public at large have no idea of the amount of work that goes into making videos and they really couldn't care less, which is fine but as we both know. Time is a precious commodity that we have very little of. We must spend it wisely.
Trying to take good photos and plugging away works for me too.

Did you see their new "Report" section on each video now? It's an easy way to report videos for whatever reason. I see it as a further attack on anything non-mainstream on YouTube. Here's a snipet of the options you have to report on.. seems to just beckon anything.

Looks like the thought police are firmly in charge over there. Sad state if affairs. Sooner we get that steemit video app done the better.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by greenacrehome from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @greenacrehome! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I know to whom your article might be of great help!

Good, point them this way!

I already did! 🙂

I think that steemit will be the first social network in the world because it has the potential to be, it is a new concept different in the world in the social networks, it is time to invest a deep money And time
Thank you for this post
Upvoted & Followed

I sure let my YouTube channel languish since I've been on Steemit. It's a lot easier to take photos and write a post. But I'm going to get back to YouTube. The audience is a lot bigger. And I like being able to build up an inventory of videos that keep earning over the years. Steemit is so short-term in earning potential and it takes a lot more engagement with folks. I just need to figure out how to do both more efficiently. I'm glad you have figured out that Steemit does take a different approach! It is frustrating to see folks drop videos and have nothing else, or just a couple sentences.

Those are very good and valid points. It will be interesting to see Steemit's evolution, for sure!

nice post will resteem I heard about getting paid too but I came mostly for good content in a save troll free atmosphere myself and who know's I just might break out of my shell a little bit :)

Awesome viewpoint! Thank you for sharing this with me! I appreciate it!