Gift

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

What comes to your mind first when you hear the word, "Birthday"?

Gift, right?


Image courtesy: Pixabay

I never really understood what gift really means? Is it a thing the person always wanted but never did? something one needs but will never afford? Or something one would love but doesn't really know about it? With time, the definitions change. I think none of them fit today. People usually buy stuff they want as they can buy everything on credit. So if they wanted it, they'd already be having it. Thankfully, most of the people in my circle have got a lot more than they need to survive. And finding what they would love without them knowing about it is really hard because our generation has gone through all those articles like "127 things to do before you die", "25 hobbies to pursue before you're 25".

So the recent definition of gift for me has changed to a thing which reminds you of a memory, fills you up with nostalgia, and can become a permanent portal to that memory. And hence, in recent times, most awwwwed gifts are personalised collages, videos of friends and families wishing them and sharing some memorable memories.

I was on this quest to find a perfect gift for my sister a few days back for her birthday. On a side note, one of the reasons I'm not very well aware of the definition of the gift is, the gift was never for her or me, it needed to serve the purpose collectively. We used to decide gifts as mature parliament house members to decide on the gift(s). I remember when days ahead of Rakhi, we'd figure out a budget we can propose to dad. We decided on our life-threatening needs like the tennis ball, doll, video game cassette. A rakhi gift is usually the gift the brother gives to sister, but the way we saw it is a gift our parents gave us. I bet sometimes people would have wondered how we behaved as if we were twins. Well again, this is based on my well-researched assumption that twins act as a single unit, the research book being "Harry Potter" of course.

With no real idea in mind, I explored the internet, and the app AlGS my sis uses to buy stuff. Even with their "improved personalised intelligence", the app did not do much help. When nothing worked, I started to go through some old photos for the collage, just in case if no idea comes to my mind. Then I saw something which I should have remembered long back. I opened the AlGS and went to customized gifts section. The gifts people had requested and their reviews seemed so tempting, I had to add my details and schedule a meeting.

Three days down the line, We just had our meeting, I gave all the information and photos I had about that doll. I signed the formality papers that I don't have copyright on the item they are creating for me and stuff and paid the advance. All I had to do now was just to wait for the gift to arrive. The revolving doll! Her treasure and second friend on earth!


Image courtesy: Pixabay

The day is here, I can't wait to see her reaction when she sees the doll after 15 years. I ring the bell. I still remember the day when I was trying to make it revolve around in reverse direction and broke it in the attempt. I can still see her face filled with tears. We had not talked to each other for that long before. It took a week before she started talking to me. Everything just flashed through. I ring the bell again... No answer. Is she again on one of her solo trips? Not again!

And there she was! The birthday girl!

" OMG!!! "

" Happy Birthday!!!"

" Thank you, so much!

I didn't think you'd be able to make it this time, too.

.....

Let me show you something! You won't believe what I gifted myself!

"

And what do I see? I see a twin sister of the doll hidden inside my backpack revolving on a well-lighted stage ready for insta shoot. "Remeber this app AlGS which I talk about! it showed me this doll as the personalised suggestion. Doesn't it look exactly like what we had?", she rushed and brought the doll to show it to me.

Didn't "intelligence" include "not stupid"? Or even that definition has changed?

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hasitpbhatt to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hello @hasitpbhatt
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been spotted by @hasitpbhatt to possess rare gem!

So what can we do than to seal the deal, give you our tiny upvote and celebrate you, for everyone has something to offer.

We welcome you to the #untalented family. Feel free to come around for its a home with us. Flaws allowed, so relegate reservations and play with that beautiful mind of yours, let's tap into more hidden aspects of you. No average, no bum, just awesome you and the best version of YOU is a gift to humanity everytime. Stay awesome!

Join the steemgigs community on discord

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.

However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs in the first search box.

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, which is the key to success in Steemit. If you are using any image or video, cite proper source. Even if its your own image or video, it's worth mention the same. Also be careful to avoid duplicate posting.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat most of the time.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hasitpbhatt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.