Surviving The Fork And Moving Forward

in #steemit6 years ago

It seems like a good time for a road marker post. More for my own benefit than anything else.I want to be able to look back and see where I was at. For me October always marks a shift as the days become cooler and the leaves begin to turn.
Today being the 1st day of October starts my 8th month here.I am pretty happy with where I am at right now. I still do not post as much as I should but do try for 2 or 3 a week ( lots of times lucky to get in one)
I did manage to get @shellad to start an account just before the fork. At least she has it if she ever decides to do something with it.
The fork last week marks a turning point for the platform as a whole. I see a few communities building a presence outside of the platform. I feel very fortunate to be taking part in the beginning stages of a couple of projects with great potential.
While conserving my RC during the fork I decided to check out Weku. Turns out someone is over there signing up with a lot of peoples Steemit names. To make it worse they are also using the person's avatar pic.
My account is far too small for anyone to want to impersonate. But I did find that bit of info to be worth knowing. I went ahead and signed up because they give you 100 free units to start. Naturally I have a referral link.
: https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=headchange
Not sure if I will ever use that account but at least my name is reserved there in case I do.

I also have managed to score a Monster Cards referral link
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=headchange

That one is looking like it could be a lot of fun to play with over the winter. I am thinking to gift a few starter sets over the holiday season.

So now I have a few of my newest links in a spot easy to reference later or send a friend to.

I have been reading a lot of doom and gloom posts the past few days. I myself see the road ahead to be filled with new opportunity. Things have changed a little. Things may change a lot more with the coming of SMTs. I am sure lots of people will leave and new people will join. I myself am just going to keep inching along to see whats around the next bend.

fork.jpg

Sort:  

In the long run, it turned into a good thing. It showed us how wrapped up we had become and how putting all of our eggs in one basket can potentially hurt us. So I learned a little more about diversifying. Took some time to relax. The issues I had was that I was trying to develop a habit. To put a break in that means you have to start over. Oh well. The other I was very worried about being able to comment enough to cover PIFC for judging. As much as I watch the engagement leagues to me, it means nothing if I cannot do what I promised to do.

I can relate to the need of reserving some RC and SP to meet commitments. I myself am involved with several communities. Lucky everything seems to have worked out ok so far around my abilities to do what I am responsible for.
My issue at the moment is I need to make sure and wind up my commitments so I can be offline for a couple of days. Will be interesting to see how much that runs down my credits and how well they regenerate in my absence.
Sounds to me like the previous forks have also had an adjustment period. I imagine a look back at history will give a indication of how that will play out this go around.
I forget which one but I believe that a past fork had a week of no votes or rewards. One day I will go back and read up. Bet the posts from that week were as bad or worse than this week has been.
Then we can all fasten our seatbelts in advance of SMT release in March.
The good news is some communities have already or are in the process of building followings on Twitter, Facebook, Youtube ect.
I tend to follow Steemit people in these places when I run across them. I feel like even if Steemit is down these are the groups that will remain active as they have presence on other platforms.

Well.. I'm in full control of my steemit journey 😂 the latest thing that I experienced in posting something a few hours ago was when I editing the title of the post, the content dissapeared 😯 lucky that I didn't remove the last draft.. so I just need to copy paste and refurbish. My RC almost 100% full in an hour too.

The chaos day is over for a while, it just make me wonder.. what's next? I made weku account but haven't login after I got the generated password😆 some people are struggling to post something and made transanctions.. that's bevome my concern when those people are real human and newbies😔 hope that the big storm will be over soon and hundreds opportunities to grow will emerge. Keep Steeming

I think things will level out for the smaller accounts. I already see some people delegating to them if they are powering up. I do think we should maybe be prepared for the SMT release in March.
Reading backward through the platform it is very clear that each change brings an adjustment period. I do not know but would assume that March will have a brand new set of challenges to overcome.

And we still have 5 months to go at least to reach the minnow status and be more prepared for the SMT 😉 Let's work together hand in hand with the community and the ladies of engagement league

I myself am just going to keep inching along to see whats around the next bend.

I like that line, I think we all needed a pause, and a breath. A short break before turning the corner. Things change, that's good. Change is not always a happy go lucky thing, we all love fall color, but with the change to fall, winter comes close on its heels. We hunker down enjoy the winter as much as possible after fall, and then look forward to embracing the coming spring.

It is always nice to have a back-up.

Well said! I am new here and this is my first fork. They have been telling us it was coming since I got here. Everyone who was here for one in the past has a story about all the chaos surrounding that time. So why would anyone think there would not be an adjustment period?
I must say it did kind of mess with the flow of my story telling. I have been far too distracted reading all the goings on. It really is an eyeopener to see how different people react.
I have to be offline Wed and Thur. Maybe things will settle in by the time I get back. Maybe I will even remember to have a flashback by then :)
I did want to leave a post behind to mark the spot. I consider it a milestone. Someone needs to make "Survived The Fork" tshirts.

Hi @headchange!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.904 which ranks you at #10868 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 387 contributions, your post is ranked at #222.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I have also decided to sign up for some other website during these fork days.I used your referral link to sign up for Weku. Best wishes for you and thank you for writing this nice article.

well well well..look who decided to grace us with her presence once again. how honored we are. and thrilled. lol.

Hey what's that shot of? Is that your redneck driveway? If it is I love that thing! Even got a water supply if things go to you know where like almost everyone on steemit is preparing for, probably you too I would imagine right?

A prepper doomer gloomer type of personality? Always preparing for disaster of any kind? Even for the hardfork as you already had a bailout plan in place if you needed it.

I don't really understand how it's supposed to work for the small and newer accounts, especially after reading that update yesterday where they said everything was fixed and running smooth and yet we have half the accounts on here who can't do squat so they can't work on building themselves up.

Me no savvy but if their goal was to help the new and smaller accounts like they stated, then it doesn't compute logically.
But if you understand it better then I'm all ears.