You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Flag ozchartart

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'm a neewbie and prefer to reply to posts before reading other replies. This and another post I read tonight triggers disappointment and curiosity about what is really going on. Is there a dark side paper perhaps on the dark web that I keep reading about but don't dare venture into? What is the motivation for anything but positive development in such an intriguing opportunity? Find common ground again please to all involved. Or is this just a social experiment without informed decision making?

Sort:  

Generally Steem is a very positive place, unfortunately it only takes one bad apple to spoil the bunch. This is why I believe it is important for any community to be pro-active in encouraging positive discourse and curbing abuse.

It is particularly important that people feel safe. Having a whale that will attack with vengeance and without regard to objective discussion very toxic.

This is why I believe it is important for any community to be pro-active in encouraging positive discourse and curbing abuse.

Okay, I have to ask then, because this is curious to me.
How come you do not support @steemcleaners, but @berniesanders does?

It is really simple, why do politicians donate to charity and make other grand public gestures?

I prefer to take responsibility for my own voting and don't need a 3rd party voting in a way that I might not agree with.

I didn't want to take a side in this argument, but this comment made it very easy for me to do so.

I think you misunderstand me. I said support, not donate. @berniesanders does also donate, correct, however this isn't a grand public gesture, as he donates quite quietly. He never had to, and we never asked him to; he is not a politician, nor even a top witness.

But by support, I mean something else entirely. I mean spending real TIME and EFFORT for MONTHS helping to fight actual plagiarism, fraud, identity theft, and spam on this website. Your website. It's interesting that you say you take responsibility for your own voting, but historically when you upvote things like identity theft, we call @berniesanders to downvote it. Because he actively tries to find and remove real abuse.

In fact, I have never seen you genuinely take action about fraud on the platform. Looking through @steemcleaners logs (where we log others' actions, not just our own), you have made zero effort to curb actual abuse or fraud. You argue that it's bound to happen, but you have never spent an ounce of time finding and downvoting it.

We each have jobs to do, it would be impractical for everyone to. do everything.

In a self-governed world the power / authority is distributed between all participants. This includes rights and duties. We are all police men, lawyers, judges, accusants and defendants (and cleaners) at the same time. We can bundle power and try to push ideas together. But everybody should be responsible for their own doings. We are all 'Robin Hoods' here, distributing value according to our beliefs, subordinated to the community´s common beliefs. A seperated and independent institution (and even if it´s just a 'cleaner') actually deny self-governance, thus our main ideology. In my opinion everybody should take care of the community´s needs and wealth, not even being asked for. That´s at least my steemit self-concept.

I can't answer for @dan but I prefer decentralised and disorganized policing, as in users policing as individuals. Although I recognise that there are advantages to both approaches.

Likely for the same reason that someone like fyrstikken gives money to a select good steemers or kly reformed his online presence. To gain more reputation and influence.

See discussion over here https://steemit.com/trolls/@stellabelle/steemit-s-secret-weapon-turning-trolls-into-functioning-members-of-society#@the-ego-is-you/re-stellabelle-steemit-s-secret-weapon-turning-trolls-into-functioning-members-of-society-20170102t203221109z

Having a whale that will attack with vengeance and without regard to objective discussion very toxic.

Yes that is exactly right. Now please stop doing so.

That's funny, Dan. I'm still waiting for a response from you after you encouraged me to write you to help me solve my issues when I was posting under @jlwkolb. That would be positive discourse. You need to practice what you preach. Talk is cheap. What ever happened to following through?

Upvoting because we need newbies in particular to chime in on this discussion.

What a surprise. Thank you for the encouragement. Look over your shoulder, I'm following you

Yours is the first where I have seen your values posted up front - refreshing.

You're very welcome. I wish others would be way more clear when it comes to their values.

(I will only upvote the two best of your comments, because there are some bots that hang around posting a few comments the same way you just did.)

Thank you. I am looking forward to reading what has transpired today.