Can I live on my hobby only?

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello. Asked here once again the question - can I live doing only my hobby? For example, my hobby is programming (yes, if you constantly work as a programmer, then you can live more than well, but now it's not about a permanent job) and, recently, I'm very interested in photography. So, in fact, the question: doing only a hobby is it realistic to live? Those. Create several resources, such as http://steemittools.xyz/, share their experience and results, and receive money from this. Does anyone already have this situation? Share experiences)
wrong_question_header.jpg
Image source

Sort:  

You can try to build a passive income stream around your hobby.
You can sell your pictures on shutterstock for example and collect money on them long after taking them. So basically you do the work once and thats it. Of course you need a lot of good ones to actually live off it but its worth a shot. Also passive income from youtube where you can share your technique or just creating styles for shirts that you can sell on other websites is a great way to make a living off photography.
I would advise you to build a passive income first and then see where your hobby leads you. So that you are truly free to decide upon your interests instead of your wallet.

Thank you for your comment! I now also consider selling photos as passive income. It remains only to buy a good camera first

You can do it! Just get one maybe used and cheaper. Doesnt need to be 4k to begin with. Just start with something you can afford without risking too much and just take pictures ! :D You can do it!

I sent your post to the curie website and hope that it will get you more attention. I really like what you did so far

Hi @hunternnm, I know how you feel. I'm a programmer passionate with arts. And here's my opinion about our situation:

Keep on doing your work as a programmer and on times you have no work to do (on weekend, after work) do your hobby. It is important for us to earn especially with our artsy hobby. For my case, I still pay for my laptop and pen tablet on credit card. For you, consider the expenses like camera, lens, and other equipments.

But if you really want to make your hobby as the main source of your income, here's my opinion (that I am also trying to do):

  1. We need to still keep our current profession (the work that gives us stable money) to pay for our expected expenses (rent, bills, groceries, etc.).
  2. Save! Try to save some money as an emergency fund that will allow you to live for months in case your hobby/business did not clicked at the start.
  3. While still working on our current profession, try to make time on improving skills and collect your art works. These art works will serve as your portfolio for potential clients.
  4. Make a site or a blog that will showcase your portfolio and from there try to promote it on social media and get customers.
  5. In time that your hobby can support your lifestyle, then that's the indicator time you should quit your Programming work and focus on your new work.

Again, these are my opinion and my future plan. But hopefully you get something from my comment :) Good luck on you bud!

Hello! Thanks for the comment! Yes, I almost like to do it. You can leave work at any time, but you must leave with a good supply of money for the first time. Therefore, a couple of months will be here until I buy everything I need for a hobby and I will not start on it to earn. I hope you will succeed too!

My hobby is photography, i'm only worried that doing it as a full time job will take some of the fun/passion/creativity out of it if i'm motivated by money, and will have to compromise some of my creative flair for clients. I'm undecided at this point, but working on a portfolio just in case.

nice post

Yes I will say, because whatever you give enough attention will almost in every case will respond

yes, it's definitely possible.
I started as a juggler around 15 yold.
and always loved to film videos
in 2012 I quit college to start my own project Malabarize-se after winning an youtube prize.

I always participate in contests and so and I can tell you that I lost way more contests than I won.
Losing can be fun too!

nowadays I live only doing what i love, I can study what I want (from #dreams to #cryptocurrencies and different subjects)

it's not always easy, it's not always fun, and turning your hobbie into a job can really change the way you relate to it
nowadays I'm more interested in dance than juggling, for example.

but everything is possible.
definitely.

thanks to life everyday
and remember we're gonna die.
it's not worth living doing something we don't love.

cheers!

You can if your really good :)

i think when you really interested in something you will achieve the best in it .so on work on your hobby to achieve the best.

Your Blog is very nice bro! Done following @hunternm