Sort:  

Yeah...I'm not sure why that's so hard to grasp.

ooooh...I suppose you've not been to those site where they detect your adblockiing software and have a hissy fit? Do you want Steemit to be that way?
nag, nag, nag....do this do that.

oh....are you guys in marketing?

Just read the post you're commenting on and you'll understand what I mean. The whole ad system would be designed as optional from the drawing board. I don't like ads any more than you do, trust me.

just think about the camel and the tent.
(cough)
you're in sales or marketing
and you ask me to
Trust you?

I'm not in sales or marketing. I'm saying I don't like ads anymore than you do, yet I see the value of the proposition here. I've seen how Reddit has done their advertising and could welcome the same here as it isn't in your face, like you're so afraid of. It can be done the right way but you think it'll just lead to worse.

We have witnesses that can reject bad hardforks, no? Have trust in them.

I've never been on Redditt
I do, however have over a half century
of experience
enduring Ads.
the start off 'tasteful'
then they're in your face
they always get worse.

I trust the witnesses I vote for.

The ads here would be in the form of posts. You can view them or not. You can opt out of seeing them entirely. You can mute the advertising accounts if you want. This was in the post. If you don't like ads, you'd have the option to not view them.

Your fears are irrational.

If different advertising is adopted by Steemit, Inc. or other interface owners, then there's nothing you can do about it anyway. If you want to address a specific issue that I mentioned in the post, then feel free to do so. But so far, you're commenting on some perceived problems that wouldn't exist with my suggestions.

Also to add, I understand your concern. I, for some reason, trust that our witnesses and community can keep the camel outside the tent. Maybe Steem token will retain its value without this proposition implemented, I'd be quite happy with that.

Yep, things don't change. They never do. We as community make decisions here, why not just stick with "tasteful" and optional.

We've both made our points clear, good talk.

I just can't help but worry more of the situation that we are in right now (no revenue) rather than of a situation we somehow could end up with (witnesses and community approving in your face marketing).

facebook is just sitting there
waiting for you.

Well that's an argument if I have ever seen one.

People are blinded by money. I thought Steemit was all about the value of steemers creative content.
We were all told steemians value fills up the reward pool. What the hey?
Now it's not our value that fills up the reward pool but the value of cheezy Big Money Marketers?
HELP me understand the fuzzy math here.
We are getting more and more people joining Steemit which should be bringing in more and more value > filling up the reward pool > but ATM it doesn't? Instead more value is depleting the reward pool?
Have we been lied to from the start @ned and @dan ?? > I don't think so.
This is insanity to accept marketers when FBers > Twitsters and Youtubers are fleeing to get away from and joining Steemit in the 10s of thousands.
Tell me again > Why we would we not learn the lessons that Advertiser are Control Freeks that don't care about anything or anyone especially mainstream social media?
Something is fishy when the only thing to save OUR beautiful Steemit Community is the stink of killer whales that eat beautiful content creators.
Corporate Whales Kill Beautiful Communities > will we be the next?
whale fail.gif

Ooooh...I suppose you didn't actually read the post and what was actually proposed for advertising on the blockchain?

TL;DR
(it all)
I read it enough to say this

You didn't read enough to say anything relevant. Maybe try reading the post first, then you won't be arguing against things that weren't proposed.

I'd like to hear @ned 's opinion on this. You should try to make sure this idea of yours is heard by the right people. How do you feel about community tokens by the way?

I told @ned about it. He said he has been busy.

I'm not a fan of UIAs for Steem. I think there are better things to focus on for this blockchain. It cannot be all things for all people. Better to excel at the job it was designed to do, in my opinion.

I share the same feeling for now. Hopefully we are both proven wrong as more information comes. I'd rather see this implemented first.

It's the same issue that Reddit has. Most just read the header, not the actual content linked/written, yet comment with lacking information. It will just get more common here with time.