5 reasons why is it hard to convince people to join Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

hard-work-hires.jpg

Welcome

I did not keep accurate notes about how many people I managed to convince. But, roughly I would say it's about 5-10 percents. Some of them made profiles, but they are not so active. So it’s hard to be sure of exact number. But with certainty, I can say it’s about 5-10 percents.

If you are a salesman you know that 5-10% of success rate is not bad. But, I am not satisfied at all. It’s like, I can’t sell to people free money. And, this community has much to offer… (knowledge, social improvement, writing, English etc…)

So, these are my five reasons why is it so hard to have more success rate in promoting Steemit


1. It’s too complicated

“Block-chain? Cryptocurrencies? You said Crypto? … WTF is that?”

305908d1359615600-madejski-miracle-wtf-shit_640_417_s_c1_center_top_0_0.jpg

From the begging of introducing all this stuff to ME, I was excited and interested. And, right now all those basics about Crypto-world are easy peasy for me. But I kinda understand people’s opinion on this. Stuff that is easy for use is also easy to sell. For example, there is Instagram or Snapchat. You have small amount of commands, you can use it on smartphone with one hand… It’s pretty straight-forward… If we don’t want to use “social networks” example, we can use real life example. I love motorcycles, especially with a manual transmission. But, I would never buy motorcycles to drive them in city traffic, scooter with automatic transmission will always beat them. It’s easier for use, and it’s practical.

image.jpg

I’ve been thinking about tactics on how to beat this “complicated” reason. And, I came to the conclusion that it’s best to make them get in love in crypto. I know, it is a hell of a job.


2. Where does that money come from


"Who the hell would pay me just to write some of my thoughts?..."
There are wonderfull posts about where that money comes from, and you can read it HERE and HERE

image(1).jpg

People are not even aware of how big amount of money is circulating through the Internet, social network and cryptocurrencies. And, for common people like me that amount is f***ing unimaginable.

Since I am a fan of Game of Thrones. I will compare this theme with it. Which family has the highest power? The family that has the strongest army. So guys, join the Steemit army! 🙂

Tywin-Lannister-on-Throne-750x480.jpg


3. Fear of change

It’s always hard to change anything, and it’s easy to understand that Steemit requires a large part of the time. I am always trying to be more motivational about this. But that’s just hard, it’s more of a problem with personality not with community. Again, I will use comparison with Facebook or Instagram. Why did you join those networks? I, personally, joined them because my circle of people joined it also. But, do you really have to do things just because other people do it?. Just try something that no one tried.

17-044831-how_to_be_fearless.jpg


4. They think it’s better to invest time and money on other things

When this is the case, I usually just give up. When I see that someone has the goal and that joining Steemit community won’t help them in achieving it. It’s just instant give up… I love when people are hardly working on their goals, and I rather try to help them and cheer them. 😊

But, if you don’t have some particular goals that you are working on if you don’t know where are you headed in next 2-3 months, or years. You should definitely try Steemit, just give it a shot. You don’t have anything to loose.

image(2).jpg


5. Risk

"What if all goes down?"
No matter how much I like steemit and this community, there is always a chance for something to goes in a bad direction. And, it’s true… maybe Steem team make some mistakes in developing, and many users get off, and many sell their steems, and some other similar project come up… Guys, as you can see there is many “ands” here, and I doubt that it is possible at all.

image(3).jpg

Also, I can see that this is more a problem of a personality, not with the community. Risks are everywhere. The moment when you get out of a bed, you enter in the world of risks.

I, personally, like risks. I enjoy being in risky situations, and I enjoy in the adrenalin rush. And belive me, I don’t have that type of satisfaction while using Steemit.


If you are not Steemit user, you should read this. I would be so grateful.

Just imagine yourself in something totally new. New environment, new people, partly new language (belive me writing this is a hell of a job for me). Think about yourself, about your introduction, about your passions and just jump into big sea called Steemit. I did the same, and I feel much benefits of swimming in this sea. Belive me, this is the first time I tried to use the social network in this way (I played WoW, maybe we can find some similarities. so, this is not 100% true 😋 ). I am having a great time, earning some money, getting nice knowledge about crypto-world… much and more. And, it’s all just because I tried.

image(4).jpg


Inspiration for this post i got when i read.


https://steemit.com/steemit/@decimus/how-to-convince-writers-to-join-steemit

THANK YOU @decimus


I hope you enjoyed my article, and if you liked it, you should read my prevous 5 reasons:

https://steemit.com/life/@ikadika/5-reasons-i-never-miss-my-workouts

https://steemit.com/life/@ikadika/5-reasons-i-love-cryptocurrencies

https://steemit.com/travel/@ikadika/5-reasons-to-visit-serbia

https://steemit.com/gaming/@ikadika/5-reasons-why-i-love-ed-world-of-warcraft

See you, have a great day! :)


slavchat4.gif

Join Steemit SlavChat @ discord.gg/kStC5AH
Sort:  

I really love your post and totally agree with you on it. Everything takes time and that is something most people dont get. Most times when im talking to people about steemit, they ask questions like "what is in it for me " or say stuff like 'what if it colapses". So i tell them what have you got to lose if you cut back on facebook,instagram and those other social media platforms and spend time here on steemit ,a platform that rewards you for sharing your thoughts? Some hear the sense in it when i give them this reply and others simply just ignore it all but hey such is life, you cannot change anyone unless they are willing to change themselves. I love your post by the way and please keep them coming.

Thank you. We will be working hard to make a difference. :)

Exactly, that is the only thing that matters. Making a difference.

I faced all those reasons before your post is great thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

Thank you! I really appreciate positive vibes. :)

One of the reasons is it's hard to find good content.

There are very few topics on Steemit that has big community. These topics are mostly about Steemit and cryptocurrencies. Steemit's scale is small and it's reasonable to assume people will stick with reddit etc. where they can engage with other people, where their questions can be answered well and fast.

Another reason is Steemit UI needs to improve a lot.

I think a problem with topics will be solved when more people come. But UI... I agree with you but I don't know how could I help with that since I am no developer...

I'm pretty sure you can be helpful if you have good ideas. You can recommend new features or designs to the development team at https://github.com/steemit/condenser/issues

Thank you! I will surely check this and see how I can help. :)

I guess we should be more focused on our growth rather than wasting out time convincing people.
I tried the same and failed :)

I know, but I am sure that we all as community need to work on promoting Steemit :) We need to work on all those reasons and more.

This post received a 4.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @ikadika! For more information, click here!

I can relate for sure. It took 6 months for me to finally join. Now I can't believe I waited so freakin long. Good thoughts.

Don't worry you came just in time! :)

I commend your good work recruiting people. But what seems more important, for me personally, is the quality of content you present in your article. Steem should be working on posts like yours and promote quality. Everything else will surely follow. Best of luck!

Thanks! Be sure, I won't give up! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ikadika from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I would add up two more points.

  1. Chaotic ( it is hard to filter through valuable information/posts)
  2. Lack of content ( it is still very early stage of adoption)

Yes, that's true. That is the problem about convincing them to stay. :)
You should post something about what should Steemit do, and how to convince people to stay here.

Fear of change is one of the worst things in the world. But we hold on!

When we beat that large enemy of ours, we are winners. :)