Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it... Yes you can waste it, what I learnt today!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Since joining the world of Steemians 17 days ago I have been stumbling my way through the Steemit community, upvoting and commenting as I pleased with no regard to my voting power. I didn't know I had #votingpower, so how was I supposed to know I shouldn't abuse my very limited power by spreading the love far and wide.

Voting Power 231217.PNG

My only comparison to Steemit was the other social media accounts I have and as I am a health advocate, blogger and all round positive vibe sender. I "LIKE" a lot of posts and comments. So that's what I did here, I upvoted things I liked or took an interest in and then I would comment and upvote their responses. It took me a while to figure out that I was auto upvoting all my own items as the default was set to "Upvote Post".

Upvote Auto.PNG

What else I didn't understand is why sometimes when I upvoted things I could see the contribution I made to the post and other times it didn't move at all. I started seeing competition posts talking about recharging voting power and that got me interested enough to ask my hubby @shai-hulud if he understood it.

I honestly think he must of stumbled across the same post I did today but yesterday as he tried explaining something to me. He showed me that my voting power on steemnow was in the red but I was busy posting to Steemit, so I didn't give him nor the information my full attention. Now after seeing this post by @taskmaster4450 Pissing Away Hard Earned Steem Power...WHY??????? I understand what he was trying to explain to me.

Note that in the mobile version of Steemnow.com the area you need to add your username to is not in the top right corner as stated in the original post, its half way down the page, the third box. Other important point is upper/lowercase letters matter.

Upvote Calculator.PNG

The post was easy enough for me to follow. I found out if I can hold off for 74 hours and then limit my upvotes to 10 a day until I get my very own vote slider, my upvote will be worth double what it is currently with my available steem power. Which I only hope to increase in the near future, as any SBD's I get, I have been converting to Steem and powering up, which until today I had not realised I had been pissing away. Unfortunately I couldn't upvote it but I have #resteemed it and followed him.

What did you learn today?

Anything worth a share? Feel free to comment below as it is the holidays and I have four days of freedom before work begins again and I clearly have a lot to learn.

Its going to be tough 74 hours but I will endure to ensure that I can give more to the community and there is nothing to stop me from commenting my little heart out!

Happy Holidays! x

If you want to know more about me check out my #introduceyourself post HERE. I also highly recommend you check out my hubby @shai-hulud, I may be bias but he is pretty awesome and worth a follow!

If you found value in my post, please #resteem it and if you wish to hear more from me dont forget to follow me @insideoutlet

Sort:  

Same mistake here! :D
I read somewhere to hold off for 24 hours, but it didn't work at all.
I won't upvote for 72 hours more (it will be hard), thank you for sharing this :)

(not that my upvote is really worth something, but a cent is still better than nothing)

Screenshot_20180410-064832_Samsung Internet.jpg

You only have 7 hours until you are at 100% VP. Its just that the price of steem is down so that affects your Vote.

Ah, ok, I just thought it was weird because a friend of mine has a lower sp and rep, but it's vp is highter (I know, I'm talking about cent of cents and it's ridicoulos, but I was just wondering if I smashed something. And I'd like to understand how it works because steemit is still a huge mistery for me)

Thank you :)

What is there name? Look them up on steemnow.com maybe there SP is higher?

No, definitely lower becaused he didn't post almost anything yet, but still he has that 0.01 that I don't have anymore (luckily for him)

And that's ok, maybe I just have to wait. Or I smashed bit of blockchain somehow, who knows.
Anyways I didn't lose much. Really, I was just wondering how it works

I dont think his vote can be worth more than yours. Whats his name?

You're right, I just checked steemnow (I didn't notice it was so low today).
Sorry t have bothered you,
thanks a lot!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @insideoutlet to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

It is nice to see people joining the platform and learning, there are a lot of new things to learn about as the site is based on a blockchain and it has a lot of particularities as reward pool, witnesses, decentralization which allows us to have the same content up and running even one site is being in maintenance or under a DDoS attack, as it happened ti steemit two months ago, while busy continued working. Soon you will find out about all of these things and much more, as we all do and continue to learn new things :)

There is heaps to learn but bit by bit, day by day I will get there. It's exciting to learn while posting. Sometimes you fail your way forward.

Im currently enjoying it so much I don't mind investing loads of time. It's a little addictive.

Nice information, a lot of Thanks!!!

Your welcome I'm glad I stumbled across it and it could help you too.

Wow! So much to learn! I didn't realize I was wasting my votes. LOL

Me neither. It's a complicated Steemian world we live in but I think it's worth learning. Glad I could help you. 😊

Worth sharing! I directly had to try it live ^^ .. and lost around 1% when upvoting your post. I think it's worth it :D #resteemed

Thanks for the #resteem. I think we all learn by our mistakes but helping each other out is what steemit is all about.

Fore sure. Many thanks for posting! You've got a new follower :)

The information is very useful. Thank you.

Thanks for all the info. I have only been on Steemit 15 days. Also with you on #dolphinschool.

your welcome :-)