When steemit goes down, when is a good time to PANIC? 2 minutes, 2 days, 2 weeks, or ? WORD OF ADVICE

in #steemit7 years ago

Tonight steemit had some trouble for a little while. People started to panic. Don't do that, and I will explain why..

panic-now-or-later.jpg

Steemit.com is akin to the same problems as Microsoft, Google, big banks, any large corporation.

When you exist on the public internet, technical problems will happen. That's the nature of having your application out there.

When steemit went down for a few hours, I didn't panic, but some people did. Why?

Most people are use to steemit.com being up all the time. It is a COMPLEX website, that has viral participation, everyday, 24x7, and growing by the thousands all the time.

So when Steemit BETA has an issue, instead of wait it out, people begin to panic.

  • Should you panic about the outage after 2 mins, 2 days, or 2 weeks?

Well any human trying to fix something as big and complex than this needs a little more than 2 minutes.

What about 2 hours?

  • Sure... 2 hours of downtime should help you to reverse engineer the problem and begin creating and tweaking a new fix for the situation in the best case scenario.

What about 2 days

  • This situation, where steemit was unavailable for 2 days makes a lot more sense to me. They would have had enough time to observe, monitor, and discuss the situation and try some alternative methods (workarounds) to fix it.

HEY! @intelliguy, are you telling me that steemit.com has to be down for 2 full days before I panic?

__

Panic, in general, is never a good idea. But yes, if steemit.com goes down for 2 minutes, or 2 hours, I wouldn't even care unless 2 days had passed. This is the nature of the public internet.

Consider the fact that steemit is actually viral 24x7 by participation. Thousands of users are commenting, upvoting, and posting new content all the time.

I'd expect downtimes to show up 10-15 times a year. Yet, somehow, these intelligent developers manage to escape that and keep the system running quite well.

When steemit goes down, when is a good time to PANIC? 2 minutes, 2 days, 2 weeks, or ?

I'd start to panic after two full days of downtime, and not fully panic until 2 weeks lapsed.

...as I am writing this to you now. Steemit is back online (just as I thought they would).. When there is an issue, they work hard at dealing with it.

Want to know what I was doing during the outage?


  • I was in steemit.chat socializing with other steemians.

  • I never worried whether or not steemit.com would fix their issue... I just waited

  • Next, I got bored with chat and started spending some time watching youtube videos

Was I concerned? (yes, a little)
Did I panic (not once, no)

So if you are the panicky type, there is good investors who are very interested in buying cheap SBD or STEEM as the price falls. Weak minded people will worry and sell what they have to them.


Unless steemit.com is offline for 2 solid weeks, I don't worry. It will come back up again and even stronger each time.

Sort:  

I must say, I was annoyed today with the outtage, checked the site a least 10 times today to see if I could finaly read all these fantastic articles again!

eSteem application was still usable because you can connect to any node that is live during outages like this.

Which nodes were live? Busy.org was also down apparently too.

All Steem nodes are alive and is not effected, except steemit.com frontend and rpc node was under ddos. Busy was also using steemit websocket by default, I believe they have updated it with other network nodes. On eSteem you can choose to suggested nodes to stay connected or if you happen to run your own Steem node, you can connect to that as well...

LOL I always think it is on my end...And yes I did a post just a few minutes ago asking if others were having issues connecting...

Making a post asking if others were having issues connecting isn't a good idea. Because then we get thousands of the same posts.

Next time, go to twitter to see if there are any updates.

https://twitter.com/@steemit

Site went down again when I tried going back to delete my post and yes I need to follow steemit on twitter..... Both have now been rectified...

I just did some of my actual real-life job that I am paid to do - and which I should have been doing anyway!!

Cheers

We hope the Steemit server will get soon well, my friend. 😀 have a nice day.

Regard from Indonesia.

Some great words from the wise. Being a totally non-tech guy I had no idea what to make of it. Really appreciate the insight and will certainly continue to follow you, as I continue my education into the world of computer science! Have a great day! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

I DON'T PANIC.
I HAVE FULL CONFIDENCE ON STEEMIT.COM