My Open Letter to Cheetah Bot

in #steemit7 years ago

Dear Cheetah Bot,

I remember the day we first met, when I thought I would share an article Facebook style on Steemit using the ol' copy-and-paste. It was a good article and I wanted to share it with the Steemit community.

Then you appeared, out of nowhere - out the mysterious vacuum of the internet - and you upvoted my post. I remember your exact words. You said:

Hi!

What a wonderful greeting! How lovely a word. So simple. So profound.

I am a robot.

My first time meeting a robot. But you seem so personable and life-like. You greeted me with an exclamation point!

I just upvoted you!

Me? You upvoted me? Really? I think we might be beginning a long-term relationship here.

I found similar content that readers might be interested in:

Here's where the relationship started going down-hill. Cheetah was accusing me of something. I think he was implying that I was CHEATING. Then it clicked. Cheetah bot. Cheetah.... Cheater! Oh the betrayal.

Then he linked to the article and my heart sunk. The connection was broken, our relationship destroyed in an instant. It was fun for a time but sometimes... sometimes [sob] bots can really hurt a person.

I still look at that upvote you gave me, 28 days ago. I remember it fondly. The memories. But the hurt lingers on... but I will be the bigger man. Here it goes:

Cheetah, I forgive you, will you forgive me?

I will not copy and paste again, I've learned my lesson. I'm not a cheater, I'm an honest guy.

I won't do it again.

I've come to the conclusion that I can maintain this relationship but only at a distance... I just can't be hurt again. I've decided that I can't see these painful words again, even on other's posts. I've decided to get the duct-tape out.

I'm sorry but I have to do this, Cheetah Bot.

Please keep up the good work, even if I can't see you anymore. I have great respect for you and what you do. Go get the real Cheaters out there. Go get them tiger, er cheetah!

Affectionately yours,
@ironshield

Sort:  

lololol

You Received an UpVote from @worldclassplayer. To Learn More, See DetailsHere

Thanks @worldclassplayer! Never trust a Cheetah. @ironshield

awesome

If you find Cheetah annoying, MUTE is a great feature. @ironshield

Great :)
Really like this letter to Cheetah. I have the same thoughts about him, and I met him more than once :D
@ironshield

When it dawned on me that I could MUTE Cheetah Bot, I thought it would be only appropriate to write a fair-well letter. @ironshield

So when cheetah bot commented on my steam pocalypse post yesterday he was calling me a cheater?

Yup. That was my inspiration for this post. Go easy on Cheetah bot, he does not know what he does. Mute and forget. @ironshield

This post received a 4.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @ironshield! For more information, click here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ironshield from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I think as long as you click on "decline payout" you are allowed to copy and paste stuff, but you also have to put the source, where you got it from, who wrote it, and all that stuff.

I feel the same way. it's crappy bot created by asshole dev.