You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The new Terms of Service is a concern to me, a resident of China

in #steemit6 years ago

Please teach yourself about European Union's latest internet and data protection laws.
Unfortunately I cannot take your fears from you but this legislation might be the mere reason for the change.

Sort:  

I'm vaguely aware of it, possibly as a result of the Facebook fiasco right? As I said in the post though I don't think they have such intent, their ToS allows for them to do the things I fear above. It's like installing software that has a virus built in, but only in the next, automatic update. Thanks for reminding me to read up more on the EU law though!

I'm vaguely aware of it, possibly as a result of the Facebook fiasco right?

These laws have been in work since over two years, so I doubt Facebook was a huge factor in it, but the scandal is just "lucky coincidence".

their ToS allows for them to do the things I fear above.

I highly assume that, when promoting such a platform, they didn't have countries like Iran, Saudi Arabia or PR China in mind, when they wrote these ToS.
A simple change to "illegal under US or European law" would definitely help.

Agreed!