You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steepshot - Some stats & explanations

in #steemit7 years ago

This is the first I've heard of Steepshot. This is excellent, however, I have some issues with actually using this app for a few reasons.

  1. I'm following people for blog content on Steem right now and the photos are not good photos. If I want to use this, I'd follow people for photos.
  2. If I'm created another account just to follow and use photos, I'm not taking advantage of my Steem Power on my main account
  3. Posts polluting the Steem blockchain that are nothing but photos are a little strange in my opinion. This would be far better as a sidechain.
  4. While not really possible yet, although really soon, the photos should be stored on a blockchain as well, so they're distributed. Take a look at Storj for this.

Keep up the great work. I won't be using it until some of those issues are addressed, but I love what you're doing.

Sort:  

We try not to dive into technical details when answering questions. In short, you just have to be patient and wait for the release, which solves all the main issues :)
Well, let me try to provide more explanations.

  1. It`s about filtering again (show only photos). Soon, as it was mentioned.
    I know only the one 3rd party app for Steemit that is already able to handle with content filtering - mapala.net. There are ways to do that on a technical part. And we are still in a progress of that. When we are dealing with blokchain, many simple and ordinary things is not so easy to implement.
  2. It`s not necessary indeed. You will soon see only Steepshot photos in your Steepshot app. But well, this is your point. Perhaps this makes sense.
  3. More than 50% of the content on Steemit is photography, and it is polluting the blockhain since the start. Several future Steemit & Steepshot features will help to cope with the content. (Explained a bit in "2. Content visibility")
  4. We stand for the solution explained in "3. Photo storage / IPFS", Storj is incompatible for some reasons.

If you have read this far.. TY for the report, all in all we understand the inconvenience and we do not expect any explosive growth of the user base for the alpha. Lets wait for the beta.

I'm very new, and may well be missing the point, but why is photography considered to be "polluting the blockchain". Personally, sharing (and perhaps finding people to help create) my photography is basically the reason I'm here, although I expect to have many other forms of interaction.