Testing 3 to 8 Shorter Steemit Posts Daily with eSteem!

in #steemit7 years ago

testing 3 to 8 steemit posts daily.png

Would posting every 3 to 8 hours on Steemit be better than once or twice daily? eSteem now gives me the option to schedule posts ahead of time which combined with writing shorter posts will now allow me to test making more frequent posts instead of the all in huge once daily posts I have been making. What do you think is the ideal posting strategy here on Steemit?

With the generosity our upvotes have continued to provide on my recent posts, I have been tempted to not change anything because of fear of not contributing as much with shorter posts that are more frequent. I often find it difficult when I am following others that post frequently because it becomes hard for me to decide which of their posts to read and upvote. At the same time, I have weeks of post ideas ready to go already many which do not need to be 10,000 word posts but rather just updates on what I have already said I was working on! For example, updates on Florida Steemfest, Steemj, advertising campaigns, etc.

What inspired me was reviewing the top 10 authors on Steemit and seeing that about half of them post 2 to 8 times daily. I think of this as the @craig-grant strategy because he was the first person I followed who posted what seemed like an unbelievable amount of times every day. While I figured few were up for making that many posts, I now see the following authors out of the top 10 currently at https://steemwhales.com/trending/?d=30 use this strategy.

  1. @papa-pepper posts 3 to 5 times a day with this post from yesterday have a lot of depth https://steemit.com/steemit/@papa-pepper/steemit-it-is-what-we-make-it-so-what-in-the-world-are-we-making-it while the one after it is fairly short with a soundbite.
  2. @knozaki2015 posts 2 to 5 times a day with several types of numbered posts featuring travel and food.
  3. @steemsports posts 3 to 5 times a day about well sports!
  4. @craig-grant posts almost every three hours which means he must schedule his posts or never sleep for more than 2 hours at a time! Craig is an absolute machine at posting sharing mostly videos or short thoughts in his posts.

For further research into the top author strategies on Steemit, would you please read this post by @hannahlicious at https://steemit.com/steemit/@hannahlicious/the-top-50-steemit-authors-posting-strategies-how-to-be-a-whale because it has an awesome in depth analysis of top author posting strategies and helped me test this new to me approach today!

Out of the top 10 authors in the last 30 days with hard fork 19, 4 out of ten post significantly more than once daily and I am grateful for their example in giving me the courage to try this because I find constant testing is essential for learning and a happy life. Meanwhile, these reasons have thus far blocked me from trying more frequent posts.

  1. Fear of overwhelming upvoters with too many choices.
  2. Fear of being seen as greedy for making so many posts.
  3. Fear of not being able to make more posts daily.
  4. Fear of feeling like one post per day is not enough.
  5. Using 2% of my voting power on every post means less to upvote others and earn via curation.
  6. Laziness in finally just installing eSteem after hearing about it for a month.
  7. Fear of making posts with small earnings.
  8. Fear of doing anything different when things are going so well!

I am amazed how much fear impacts decision making in life and am grateful today for the courage to take a leap of faith and test a different posting format on Steemit!

What do you think of posting once daily on Steemit versus more often? How often do you post? When you are following an author, what do you prefer? Do you like the choices of having more short posts on different topics or just one post daily to allow for browsing more by others?

Thank you very much for reading this! Would you upvote this post because when I get paid, you will also get a percentage of the curation rewards?

Love,
Jerry Banfield

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

My current immunity level allows 1 dose of Jerry a day. Most of your posts are worth the time to read them mainly because you have an engaging personality on your vids and this comes through on your posts (wide eyed optimism, on the right side of unpredictably scary and a hint of self deprecation).

Any more and I might break out in something unpleasant ... like apathy from over exposure.

Nice idea sir.

"enough for our daily needs" helps me to remember that there is no pressure to do more which I appreciate @thecrytotrader! I feel a huge pressure often to perform which can produce a lot of anxiety if not tempered with the idea of whatever I do each day is enough.

@g-no thank you for mentioning this because it is the same as I have been thinking! I am planning a week or two test with more frequent posts to see what happens because I find it is important to also test stepping out of my comfort zone! I am guessing the 1 or 2 posts a day will work better than 3 to 8 but how will I know for sure without trying?

Same here, I like the idea of 2. More than that, how can we keep up with hundreds of comments per posts haha :)

@jerrybanfield, Like they say online, test, test, test. :)

That "Apathy from over exposure" rings a bell.
Sound like a quote that i heard before.

dang i can't remember!!(ง •̀_•́)ง

Yep, he seems to be an honest person by sharing this with us.

For a whale such as you, Jerry, I think posting multiple times a day works well. For a minnow, it's a different story. I actually posted about this yesterday as one of the things to avoid if you are a minnow. Minnows may be better off spending more time reading posts by other authors and commenting...and maybe limit their posts to 1 or 2 max per day.

Just think it's different based on size of the author's following and quality of posts. Btw, there are also some whales that post many times a day and their content is crap.

Jerry, ​you're​ a genius​!

financilcritic... I am in agreement with your response.

upvote and upvote and upvote

Good point my buddy @financialcritic however posting more than 3 times a day as I indicated on my comment below can lead to followers being overwhelmed by the persons post...even if he or she is a whale or sea anaconda I better see a top quality post a day than being bombarded with 5 posts a day (which might be inducced by greed of taking over the trending and hot pages or trying to share too much / all his/her daily activities here). If a beautiful lady bombards me with sweet sex 3 to 6 times a day, I will run for my life

"If a beautiful lady bombards me with sweet sex 3 to 6 times a day, I will run for my life" or marry her :)

Haha, feel free to see my latest blog post :Why Steemit will disrup social media and gain market share

Good point...I agree

Good point ,Though minows try out the minnowbooster! You pay like 1 Steem and get 65SP.
I don't know whether is super efficent and worth it but the post made by this minnowbooster guy was very interesting.
If I had a lot of Steem I'd try it out. So far 1 Steem gives 65SP.

I don't think it works like that. You GIVE 1 and get 65 for a week. You never get your 1 back...just hope you can get your 1 back by using that 65 during the week.

Wow people getting rich from words and sentences. ( Pulling my hair :)

I just need to comment this.... :D

lol very appropriate GIF

VERY RICH

Posting more than once a day is ok as long as you're confident your list of post ideas is good enough. If you try it just make sure you keep your content quality up to standard and it should be fine

Jerry, I have to say that every post or video of yours always has something worthwhile that I can either put to use or reflect upon. I didn't expect this one to so accurately reflect the little fears that add up when it comes to deciding on this or any new business strategy. Feeds are moving so fast that it's already easy to miss posts but I have no doubt that whatever you post will have a jewel of information in it. I don't think it's greedy if you have good info to share! I took your crypto investment course (the first one) and it's helped me greatly. Thank you!

I agree with you Jerry has some of the best information and I always look forward to watching his vids or reading his articles. I personally think that you should post more often for then you can get more content out even faster and then you will be able to get more attention and attract more followers to your account! I do not see this as greedy for you are giving us information and stuff to read about and I will LOVE to read more frequently about your posts @jerrybanfield

Agreed. Jerry provides thorough info. Many other whales don't do that...they just post 5 times a day with a picture of their hotel room or something random.

"with a picture of their hotel room or something random" lol so true

Thanks for sharing

Definitely following this to see what the data shows. Would love to see what you find out.

Great update Jerry. I think Esteem will start to take off when more people start signing up for steemit... My goal is to work on growing a following before blasting 10 posts a day. I would be worried people wouldn't want to hear that many posts a day.

I couldn't agree with you more that @craig-grant is a beast!! I am trying to develop a following like him.

I think is even a lot of work to do a good posting once a day! For me this is a high setted goal. :D
One or more posts a day: it depends on your followers: Multiple posts a day can be like spam to some of them and they don't like it maybe and unfollow. On the other hand you sure get more attraction with multiple posts a day. So - it is your choice :D

Why not. You'll probably make more money off upvotes daily if you do 3-8 instead of 1. I would! Just make one of your 3-8 about @crowdifywepayyou please. 🙌🏼

Your post are interesting, and well gorged of usefull informations. Many of them are helpfull from a newbie to an expert. Probably because you invest a certain amount of time in making a post.... Reading a post of yours anyway, even if really enjoable, takes some time. So if you'll do shorter posts I think they'll not have the same value. If you'll do the same length posts, but more often,it would be personally hard to read them. So, assuming that this could be a common thought, you'll get less upvotes per post.... You have built a really good reputation with your high quality posts.... and as you write more about technical things that needs a good explanation you can't compare to other user that does different things.
postimage

@jerrybanfield - funnily enough I was thinking the same this morning and also about your posts. I'm in two minds, as the longer ones can take a lot of time to digest meaning sometimes I put them on the back burner to read, and often as time moves on, I simply forget as other tasks take over. Your posts are very detailed and hold much worthy info. I guess sports posts are more quick news sound bites? Too many shorter ones could feel like an avalanche meaning some are missed. My guess is keep up a regular pace of posts with snappy posts that get to the point as easily as possible. Maybe some deep analysis 1-2 times a week max could fit into the pattern? And only break the pattern if there is a breaking story or a must-speak right now situation? Anyway... I've followed you as you crossed over from you tube to here and you've made a huge difference on steem with your enthusiasm and simplifying many items for the newbies. Great work.

Those are definitely valid concerns and i feel that shorter post will help readers get the most information. Honestly, i feel that your last few posts were just too long and they could be more succinct and precise, even though they were helpful posts.

I guess we are all limited in attention since we only have 24 hrs a day. Thanks for the great work and putting effort to experiment various strategies.

I personally believe in quality, the higher the better, over quantity of posts per day. Although some of the most successful Steemians post multiple times a day, the key thing is to post high quality content that adds value and is useful for everyone.

Since I aim for producing quality content in each blog post, I can't post more than once in a day. I also have a day job so I can only spend at most 3-4 hours preparing a single post. This makes me have even greater respect for people like craig-grant and trevonjb who can post multiple times a day and remain successful on Steemit!

Hi @jerrybanfield, Your Long POST With Detailed Analysis were really Good for us to Learn Something New in Details. But Still I ( @cWorldV99 ) am Happy with Your Shorter POSTS as well. Because, for Sure You will Write One more POST Regarding Your Experience with Sorter POSTS Daily. I Hope You will Share Your Experience and RESULTS !!! GOOD LUCK !!!

Thanks - @cWorldV99

Using 2% of my voting power on every post means less to upvote others and earn via curation.

I don't get that one, voting and posting isn't the same

You're right what I missed in this was the fact I can simply not upvote myself!

I would say post less often more thoughtful posts. Not that your posts aren't thoughtful but it usually take me just one not so good post to unfollow.

Good point I think I am going to go back to 1 or 2 a day after this test given it is a lot more work to do more posts and more posts done quickly with less thought is not contributing much!

@transisto I am very grateful for your upvotes on so many of my posts and appreciate your patience with me just seeing your comments now! Would you please vote for me as a witness at https://steemit.com/~witnesses because your vote would help me get my first block?

I try to post around 5-8 times a day, If i find that i have relevant content for my followers then I post it, thats just me though

loool

I think , maybe without knowing (or knowingly) it that greed makes some people post 3 to 4 times a day in order to get as many upvotes as possible . On the other hand , some has so many info,s to share and makes videos in order to express themselves via updates as you mentioned before.
More than 2 posts a day can lead to your followers being overwhelmed by seeing your post and thus start ignoring you one day. Good things are rare.. @sweetsssj posts 1 amazing post daily and this is perfect. Why cant you send us your best once a day and allow other authors the chance to express themselves..better to get your best once daily than being bombarded by your post ..this is like showing me with sex 3 to 10 times a day!!! no matter how sweet it is, I will run away

@charles1 I agree with you which is why so far I have not done more than two posts a day! In the next two weeks I will test more frequently and see what happens because while I believe 1 or 2 posts a day is best, it would be good to verify that or allow more flexibility!

Thanks for your response @jerrybanfield test it out however be fast about it . Better send in 1 or max 2 solid posts a day than 5 to 6 small posts beause as I indicated , too much will piss some folowers off (however it depends on quality which on the other hand can fit in 1 or 2 posts). Give it a try buddy, success to you.

upvoted... very nice sharing and much valued for me... thanks..

@jerrybanfield
Is there a Florida steemest in the making ?
Please let me know
Thanks for the post.

Sounds like a good idea :)

As long as its good

It is better to have one good post than many crap posts. I can only upvote a little amount of times.

Im gonna start posting 3 times a day.

Hello @jerrybanfield, personally i think posting max 2 times a day must be a limit set!
Why i am saying that is some users just keep on posting the whole day 'one liner' just to spam and it is very disturbing as others great content post goes without getting noticed. This is not good at all.
I have unfollowed quite a lot who were just posting whole day long. With someone who post reasonably, we can comment on the post and the user will surely reply back. I reply to all my comments on a daily basis.
I believe with less posting, the author will get time to connect with his follower more often.
Your views?

Thanks
@progressivechef

Yes, you must post at-least 5 times a day, it will definitely boost your earnings and followers.

I would say the majority of people are not wanting to read a mile long post. It simply takes too long. It is better if you can get your point across in fewer words with the same efficiency. I myself don't mind but I know if I send a mile long article to my sister, she wouldn't even read it.

I like your advice, thanks!

I like the idea of posting 1-3 times a day, more than that is pretty tuff to keep up with your followers and answering questions on each post. Like you said, testing testing testing :)

I try to stay at once a day, but some day I can't.
Fortunatly sometimes I wrote also 3 a day.
But it seems better one a day for steemit

  1. Fear always holds you back
  2. You will probably make more, not less. You will catch more peoples attention. People like myself who listen to your videos while driving may not upvote if they dont finish the video, even though i come back to finish and vote.
    Your helping people. With more posts you will end up having more information for us even though you think you just turn a long video into many short ones...
  3. People like my self and most of your supporters will still check all your posts and vote on a bunch of them instead of 1 to 3.
    Take advantage of your situation and maximize your profits. You deserve it for what youve put into steemit.
    Thanks again for all your help.

I have heard about time delaying posts but i thought it was just the best strategy to cover all the times zones to be top of the list of new content.

Thank you Jerry! Having just started here on Steemit with my first introduction post on Sunday, I am really benefiting from the guides and suggestions you are posting here!

Happy to have found steemit thanks to you promoting it, and happy to connect with anyone here who believes in steemit and want to share an amazing journey!

As minnow, I need more followers so I need more visibility of other steemians then I will be on a schedule once a day post.

I'm still on a building block .. and I hope others will support my dream of being financially independent and to enjoy travel around the world. I guess that's a wish!

What do you think, that's doable?

Follow me @Yehey
Thank you.

Hey Jerry....I kinda lean towards the way you currently do it. I know you put an enormous amount of content and value in your posts, but maybe you can still do that, while still cutting down on the length, as I know it has to take much time. But whatever you decide...I'm following...and upvoting, as I learn from you everytime.....

Yeah !
Sweet short fantastic quality is what we need today.
Thank you for sharing
@jerrybanefield

Best thing to do is just DO IT :)

That has to be one of the biggest life lessons I have learned. Do it and try it if you fail or it fails then it fails but at least now you know instead of wondering. Best part is you learn from those failures but you also win from those successes that will come.

I have a feeling that posting more often and at different part of the days is the most beneficial. You are reaching a larger audience overall and unlike twitter it is easy for these people to follow you and keep up to date or look on your profile for other posts you have done.

Jerry, you're a monster! Thanks for the motivation and heads up on eSteem. No need to fear! We're making men out of mice over here kaBOOMIN all the way up!

Hi Jerry, I think there is no risk in testing your idea of several shorter posts. If it doesn't work as well then you will have valuable knowledge about another variable on how to post, and then you can go back to the longer post once a day with no problem. As for myself, I will read your posts whether they are short or long because they are packed with helpful information. Have fun experimenting!

2 hours of sleep a day?? I can't manage that, even for money :D

I think as a newbie like me it's better to post a lot daily to attract views, but after one month I will start posting three times a day!

well my posts voting and views every day goes downer and downer and the content is not even important , it doesn't matter and there is no different between posting a picture of balls or posting my musics which I mix and master and edit and sing and do many stuffs in movie editing or in Music producing software ... I even saw my brother posted great articles about technology and these things and nobody even view and not much votes on his posts , It's just make me sad. :(

@jerrybanfield , i will draw a portrait of you in charcoal, it will be the best you've seen. Realism :) I will post it when ready. But if you are genuinely impressed by it, you will resteem it :P Be well my friend :)

Just so glad the Poloniex has finally let me transfer my steem to my wallet. What a relief, had to share that news with someone. :-)

I noticed your Steemit posts were very long. I think it's very impressive but sometimes they were a bit hard to read because of it. That's a shame because I absolutely love your content!

I think shorter posts are a win-win. Easier to read for your followers and more profit for you :)

Good post @jerrybanfield!
For now, i still haven't made any plans on how often to post or what time to post. But I do believe that I am different from anybody or anyone or everyone or even any kind. And I really hate planning lol! I post whenever I want. I don't really care of rewards lol! I can even post once a week, I'm really nuts! lol ..I can even leave steemit If I like, no maybe not this time lol! Sorry for the laugh Jerry!
Yes I can do what I want and I respect myself and respect others as well.
But really I hate thinking or thinking long. I just do what I feel needs to be done. Yes I'm weird and that's it! And also I don't care about money now, because I don't have them. So posting really don't bother me really, seriously.
Anyways, sorry for my comment and its really nuts!

There are 4 pages
Pages