Using Tags effectively and reaching more people.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Howdy Steemians,

homer visible.gif

I decided to write this post today in an effort to help you get your posts seen by more people.

It took me a while to work this out so I hope it is of value to you.

When you apply the five tags at the end of a post it is a good idea to use existing categories.

Use relevant categories and make sure you use all five tags.

This is purely because existing categories already have lots of followers who will see your post.

You can see the most popular tags on the steemit home page.

The first tag used will be your main category.

As an example, if I write a post about custard and just use the tag '#custard' it is highly unlikely anyone will search for that tag and my fantastic custard story would go unseen.

On the other hand If I use the tags 'cooking, food , foodphotography ,health, blog' then my story will automatically be seen in those feeds.

I read many great articles with fairly obscure tags and it is a shame they are being missed by some readers.

You can create your own tags but realise they will take time to become established.

One thing you can do is get together with like minded steemians and create and use a new tag.

Hopefully this is of use and if you have any other tips I would love to hear them.

This subject has no doubt been explained better in other posts but it can't hurt to reiterate.

Thanks for reading,
@jist

Sort:  

Great contribution man! But just a small remark: It's "Visible" and not visable...
Correct language helps too, you know!

Thanks man and I will sort that now, not sure how I missed it. Thanks again

You're welcome!

Interesting post man

Thanks man

Great advice. Always good to know. Thanks.

Thanks. It can make all the difference and easily overlooked.

deffo. I'm always overlooking things like that. Glad to have the reminder. Cheers mate

This post has received gratitude of 0.52 % from @appreciator thanks to: @jist.

You got a 0.44% upvote from @upme requested by: @jist.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

You got a 18.66% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @jist!

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 0.72% vote... I was summoned by @jist! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received a 5.00 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @jist.

This post has received a 1.75 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @jist

This post has received a 50.63 % upvote, thanks to: @jist.

You got a 3.83% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @jist!

This wonderful post has received a @jist 19.53% upvote from @mrswhale. Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/XG4y3mg You can vote in the name of the odl. https://steemit.com/~witnesses