Modafinil - Is This A Cognitive Enhancer For Steemians To Improve Our Work? ๐Ÿ˜

in #steemit โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I was given 4 doses of Modafinil a supposed "cognitive enhancing" medicine from a European programmer living in my building. He swears that using the drug helps him to focus and achieve more when he works!

I live in an interesting community in Phnom Penh with a pleasant mix of foreigners from around the world and Cambodians. It's a bit like the united nations here and I enjoy the interaction with different cultures that I get. Two of these foreigners have been telling me recently about Modafinil which are available to purchase at the pharmacies here.

I was curious so one of them gave me a few. I have not taken them yet but I am interested after hearing their accounts of enhanced productivity.

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 2.27.52.png

Is Modafinil A Cognitive Enhancer?

Some commenters have drawn a connection between Modafinil and the drug given to the character in the film Limitless which allows him to fully utilise his brain. The experience reported to me by my two friends is that Modafinil allows them to focus for longer periods of time.

When the European gave me the pills he had been water fasting for days already but had not noticed any drop in his productivity. Having water fasted myself I find this impressive. He takes one pill a day in the morning and warned me not to take them at night as he feared I might not sleep. This won't matter as I work nights anyway! ๐Ÿ˜‰

The American takes only a half a pill each day in the morning. He has also noted improved mental focus and wakefulness. Neither reported any change in perception only an enhanced ability to concentrate.

I have to say I am intrigued...

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 2.23.45.png

Potential Side Effects and Benefits?

I don't just consume chemicals without doing any research into them and potential side effects are an important part of that investigation. It seems that the potential side effects pose an acceptable risk as I am healthy and don't take any other drugs. From my research it seems that studies seem to confirm that Modafinil improves mental performance on long and complex tasks and enhances decision-making and planning skills.

Sounds good for working on Steemit! LOL!

Have any other Steemians tried Modafinil? I am not sure I am going to try it yet but if I do I will report back if you are interested.

Whatever happens I like the name Modafinil it reminds me of Daffodil! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 2.33.17.png


Image source 1, 2, 3.


Jockey loves you All! ๐Ÿ˜


@jockey banner 4 v1.jpg

Sort: ย 

Modafinil is on my nootropic wish list, already have phenibut.

ย 7 years agoย (edited)ย 

Great response! UPvoted and followed with pleasure mate! Thanks for all your upvotes in the past! I would be surprised if they did not sell it over the counter here in Cambodia... I will look into it and if it sounds interesting I will try one and give you a report! LOL! =) BTW not sure the modafinil is working on me... maybe i need to up the dose! LOL! =)

I am not by any means promoting it, but it's the most adnvanced and most popular in US cognitive enhancer at the moment. Living in Europe is quite complicated to get it. I experimented with different things, but the half of modafinil seems as a best solution for me to be more alive and do what I truly want instead of constantly defeating to my lazines and weknesses.

ย 7 years agoย (edited)ย 

What an excellent comment and response! UPvoted and followed! I know what the west is like about things but here in Cambodia you can get anything over the counter ... I still haven't been into a chemist here yet but I am assured that if they make it you can buy it for cheap here! I should do a post on this! I have tried a half per day for 2 days ... I don't feel much! I think I need to up it to 1 per day... tomorrow! Great name and profile btw! ;-)

ย 7 years agoย (edited)ย 

I feel exercise, yoga, meditation and sobriety bring me to the highest mental functioning I have ever been but I know it's hard for people who work 9-5 to find the time. Quit your job and get on Steemit should be the rallying cry! LOL! =)

yeah, its great. Good information. Must appreciated. If you interested in cryptocurrencies then here is a post:

https://steemit.com/money/@aonraza/usd5-only-for-registration-and-5usd-for-each-referral-do-you-heard-about-sphere

must see.

Beautiful Post well done

Thank you!