Bringing Alaska into Crypto Mining

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

                                               Photo Credit @exploretraveler and @pilgrimtraveler

Most of the time people who seem to run servers, nodes, and miners are in first world countries cities or in areas of cheap power. Today I ponder why my area of Alaska with plenty of space, and a cool area can be easily found that requires low power resources has very few miners. I know of only one, and he keeps to himself for the most part. So why don't we have people joining in? Just a lack of overall interest, and not allot of people who even know about the new economy? I'm unsure really but hope to change that, and will begin networking within University of Fairbanks today, and may try to setup a small club there. 

I have decided that this is the time to look into possible mining opportunities since cooling the servers, and miners is free here, and cold we have plenty of. We really like the people here, and the support has been great all the way from the top of Steemit. So today I'm going to try to see if I can get an office at the University for running a miner, and much more. I also just saw a post for running a virtual miner and it's also an option. I still need to think of a cool name for the project, and if anyone has any ideas please post them below.

In the coming days or weeks I will update everyone on how it is going, and what questions we have.

Make sure to upvote this post, and to let me know of any ideas you have. 

Steem On!

@johngentry

If you have come here from our social media channels such as FaceBook or twitter consider getting your free account, and make sure to follow all of us @exploretraveler @johngentry@pilgrimtraveler @vetvso @johngentryjr @floridagypsy @karengentry and we will follow you back.

"Helping bring the world together one friend at a time. So travel and discover that the world is full of wonderful people." - John Gentry @johngentry 

We have a great travel tip audio book that you can purchase it at Audible --> Here 



Sort:  

I lived in Alaska for thirteen years, and often wondered why crypto-mining isn't popular there, considering that places like Iceland are so popular for it. If you do succeed in getting something set up there, maybe I could invest in the operation (kind of like BitClub Network). Good luck!
~ Ethan from TheLibertyAdvocate.com

Thank you and I really like Bitclub Network :-)

I'm not in Alaska but have also wondered the same thing why not mine there like you said plenty of cold to cool the servers.

We should be the US capital of mining.

I would agree, I live in the desert so not ideal for mining, yet great for solar.