Observations of the Steemians with the Biggest Payouts

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

With some Steemians receiving payouts as big as $3000 this week, and one steemian receiving more than $800 for a single post, I thought I'd take a look at those accounts that made the most and see if there were any common denominators so I could model there success. I'm already a big fan and want ride the wave of helping Steemit become huge. The information here is based on the chart created by @chinadaily. I have resteemed it on my page

First I noticed that the ones who consistently make triple digits don't post as much as you'd think. For example @kingscrown, the top earner this week, who made over $3000 only made 6 posts. From what I can tell most of the top posters are not posting more than a few times a day and some are only posting every few days. There are some that are posting more often but it doesn't seem to be a requirement to receive a lot of steem. Even when the posts are barely a paragraph you don't see them posting all day long. I'm guessing this has to have something to do with their success. If not, you'd think if a person was making $100+ for a post that looks like it only took 10 mins to write that they would be posting 10s or hundreds of times a day. However maybe they're just that wealthy or occupied with other pursuits where that's not a motivation.
steemitsecret.jpg
Next I noticed following. Most seem to be in the 2-10,000 follower range which is not a huge amount when you consider sites like twitter where people may have hundreds of thousands or millions of posts who still are not paid by the site. And theay are almost all following less people than follow them. I would say most average following between 10-50% of the people following them.

Finally there's Steem Power. All of the Steemians with the biggest weekly payouts have considerable Steem Power. Though this is definitely not the only factor. With the lowest steem power in the top 10 being around 8000 and the highest being over 500,000.

I hope this is helpful to someone. Please let me know if I've gotten anything wrong or you have something to add and please follow.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jrobi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks this confirms what I thought all along, that you need a lot of followers.

Either more followers means you get a lot of traffic from people's feeds or maybe it just means you've been around a while and have posted a lot and perhaps you get a lot of search engine traffic? I'm not sure but thanks for the analysis! I am also looking to examine the system and work out how to optimize my time here.

More followers definitely means more traffic. I could be wrong but I don't think the money being earned is from search engine traffic. From my understanding the money comes from upvotes and comments. The amount you receive is based on your Steem powerand the Steem Power of the person upvoting you.