You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is there so much negativity from people on Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I feel like steemit is going through a rough patch. Or, as I said in a recent post, steemit is in its awkward stage.

The awkwardness is not attractive and it can be turning people negative. Greed and resentment are growing in some corners. The new scoring system is adding another level of potential for elitism.

Like I said before, the platform that was great for 10,000 people is now being groomed to be great for ten million people. It just might not be great for the adolescence it's going through now.

I don't like seeing the negativity, but let's continue to look at it. Negativity about where we're going we should take seriously. Negativity about what we're going through temporarily should be taken with a grain of salt.

Sort:  

I'm new here but I'd guess people are being negative because they thought they'd post six times and become millionaires and are sad this did not happen for them

Exactly. It's the whole "faucet" mindset. They want something for nothing, and the posts here were showing it for a minute. Seems to be fixing itself up nicely now though.

That's the negativity from some. From others it's just that things are changing. From yet others it's that their first post made them rich and famous but their second post didn't make them richer or famouser.

Na. Ebbs and flows. We're in a valley right now. The hack really threw a monkey wrench into one of our many turbine engines. Still building this plane in flight.

I am in agreement that we're in a valley. I just have a different opinion as to why we're there. My different opinion is due to point of view alone, not due to any disagreement.

You seem to be part of the 'crypto' community and perhaps that is why you see our current valley as tied to the hack.

I'm simply a brand new constituent and I got here through the lure of potentially good content being rewarded, and I see the valley as being tied to a needle-in-haystack state of affairs vis-a-vis good content.

I am happy with where we are going and am also happy to be trying to play a part in the beta.

I am looking forward to hundreds of posts earning dozens of dollars (not mine -- I am not much of a writer).

I am going to study the differences between my comment and those of blake and wingz to better understand where I went wrong.