WEB LOG // You know what bothers me? // RESTEEMS!

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

streamblog.png

Sometimes there are just things that bother me and they bother me enough to want to shout them out. I think we all feel like that sometimes. It seems to be a natural human emotion. Want to know what's bothering me lately?

Asking for re-anything/sharing on giveaways!


I don't mind people sharing Facebook giveaway posts, because Facebook is screwed up anyway. I use it daily, but I have learned to scroll over nonsense and selectively notice only posts that seem interesting. Facebook is full of bad content for a long time so it's what to expect when I open up the page. Luckily Facebook pages that I find interesting are still looking professional. It's just my friends that are sharing all the stuff (sometimes myself incl).

Twitter is a middle-between. I don't really mind the re-tweets when the tweet is worthy of it, but all those contests and giveaways around the web that require a re-tweet to participate.. I get if from the contest runner's view, but as a user who wants to get as much quality content as possible to see on my feed, this just messes it all up.

And this all goes for Steemit as well. I find Steemit to be an amazing place full of good blog posts, articles, a lot of interesting content to read and enjoy. There are many people who I'd like to follow on Steemit, because they write great content and sometimes resteem interesting posts that caught their attention.

BUT!

Whenever I get some giveway resteemed to I feed I flip out a little. I didn't ask for this, even if it's a giveaway that has a good prize. I don't mind people asking for a follow, comment, upvote or some other requirement from people to participate on giveaways, but asking for a resteem is an utter BS imho!

Be professional. Honor yourself and others.


Maybe it's just me? Maybe... I honestly honor my feed and I want to keep it professional. I don't resteem much, only the content that I really feel worthy to resteem. I would hate to bury my blog page/feed under giveaway resteems. This wouldn't be a good for anyone.

Why would someone want to follow me from free will if my blog page is just full of shitty resteems? I'd like to believe that whenever I get a new follower, it's because my page here seems interesting enough, free of all the random jibber-jabber and nonsense (although I ramble a lot of nonsense, tee-hee).

Maybe it's just my personal preference to also follow people that keep a clean feed. People that write original content or doesn't resteem much. Pick out the posts to resteem with good care to make content that you resteem valuable. To help make all of our content more valuable. Let's value GOOD STUFF!

If you're reading this...


  • Please consider keeping your feed as clean as possible.
  • Only resteem content that YOU want to.
  • If you like to host giveaways, please consider making Steemit great (again) and don't ask people to resteem your posts. There are plenty of other things to ask them to do.
    Be flattered if they resteem the post from their free will.

Don't resteem, because someone MAKES you do it to win 1 STEEM. This amount of a prize (not really any amount) is not worth to make your (and others') feed look bad.

kassixoss2.png

Sort:  

Resteems didn't bother me that much in the beginning since I stopped following competition accounts but its really starting to become annoying when you follow someone and they say in the dTUbe community and they resteem all their dTube friends which you're really not interested in. Like I get you want to support them but I dont care lol

The only social media site I found that did sharing correctly was google+ since you could create communities, interest groups or literally pick out individual users you want to share to their feeds which was really cool. If any of the steem dApps could do that it would be really an improvement on the user experience and remove a lot of frustration

I think Steemit is starting to slowly get that resteems are a little out of hand, because they recently added the "Hide resteems" button to the profile pages which has been helpful to me at least. I've found so many people who have only written like a few posts and their feed is just full of resteems. In my eyes this is not a person to follow (although those users usually have a lot of followers... lol).

I don't think people will start resteeming less, but another good option would be to add the same "Hide resteems" button to the /feed page, so I can enjoy original content in my feed and from the people I follow.

Then again.. the resteeming would get kind of pointless, because everyone would be using that button I assume. Therego to stop resteeming all the nonsense would be better option so the resteems of good content wouldn't go to waste with the button. :D

I clearly get what you are trying to say. Although sometimes rarely asking for a resteem justifies itself. A long time ago I threw a contest when I didn't have many followers yet and I asked to resteem the post to get some more responses to my contest because otherwise, I would only have 1 or 2, that would have been pointless.

Otherwise yeah, I only resteem what I really want. I'm a photographer and I resteem only very high-quality photography posts and that only happens maybe once a week :D

I get the urge to get more exposure. Who wouldn't want that. I would like as well if everyone resteemed this post and it got more comments, responses, exposure, discussions and whatsoever. But again.. I think everyone has the right to choose whether they want to do that or not.

I mean.. having a "Call to Action" at the bottom of a post like "I would appreciate if you resteemed the post" is fine, but saying "You have to do it" is wrong. ;)

Yup, you are right on that. I never asked for resteem or upvote after this one time haha, its a fag move haha :D