Why You Should Upvote Comments!!!!

in #steemit7 years ago

pexels-photo-104510.jpeg

I've noticed a lot of people don't reward their followers, and their commenters on here.
It's a shame.
When someone takes the time to not only read your post but to leave a comment. Even throwing your small vote their way does a lot of great things...
I hope no one takes this post the wrong way. I do not only upvote comments for my gain. I do it because I like to, and it's a great way to make steemit a better platform. But I'd be lying if I said that upvoting comments provides me with no benefits. Because it does.

When You Upvote Them They are More Likely To Follow You

I'm not saying you should upvote every single comment you get. I try and look for those that I feel provide value to the post. When they see that you upvoted their comment and they will be rewarded as a result. This encourages them to follow you; Then you'll have a regular on your post!

You can grow your followers so that they can grow you.

If they choose to keep their Steem in their account, They may power it up. If you continuously are upvoting their great comments, then they will steadily grow overtime. Their vote will be worth even more, and they'll be able to upvote you, The upvotes you gave them helps them grow, so they have more power on the platform.

Some People Don't write posts

I'm noticing more and more, That people don't always write posts. It can be a little daunting coming up with a topic and then going in detail. The nice thing about a comment, is you don't have to come up with a new topic, you can simply use the topic of the post and add your insight.
People deserve to be rewarded whether they are a poster or a commenter because both add to the platform.

pexels-photo-128458.jpeg

Followers will be everything down the road

If you own a business and you want to do social media marketing, what do they tell you?
Get more followers!
Get more "engagement"!
Steemit is still pretty small. And as it grows it may "mimic" other social media sites to a certain degree.
Followers will become everything Because it might be harder to be seen in the "new" section. It will probably be updated quickly.
People you follow will determine what you see on the platform. Back in the beginning days of Steemit, The follow button didn't do anything. And you couldn't see the posts from your followers. But now you can. Having those followers gives you more exposure.

So who cares if you start to kill of your voting power! Just upvote your followers! When someone provides value to the conversation, Give them that vote. If you are a minnow or remember the struggle of being a minnow, it can be tough! As a minnow people often don't see your posts. And It can be hard to move up in the platform. Giving Everyone who provides value an upvote, Can help! Especially the minnows trying to get their footing.

Thank you @elyaque for the awesome Badges!

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

I swear to GOD:

I don't get the whole voting power thing.

I know it's a percentage and it dilutes your voting weight.

Meant for curation rewards.... or something.

But is it so important?

And above humans?

I ALWAYS upvote because I feel good and the other person knows I am on their side.

And sometimes I do vote because I have nothing to say...

So they know I have voted and agreed to them... silently. :P

People deserve to be rewarded whether they are a poster or a commenter because both add to the platform.

A lot of folks underestimate this. They only post. I have come to realization that engaging is equally important.

And a LOT more fun! :)

It is to keep people from gaming the system too easily or bot liking everything.

It is.

But I am like I vote humans.

Plus, my vote is worth $0 man! :P

SO true! I think it's because if you vote too much you start to lose curation rewards, Your vote becomes diluted that way.
I honestly don't care about that haha.

True. We lose that rewards.

Then again, I am a little man here.

Trying to have fun and enjoy.

PLUS, my vote is worth 0 cents :(

Not sure if I should be be proud about that or not...

For now, though, I will take fun over seriousness. I will take upvoting all my good steemers than rewards...

Exactly! aww 0 cents really? Just keep contributing, And building up your power you'll get ehre. hehe.

I am a 15 days old alien invited to Steem city and have been loving humans ever since.

I am powerless yet with the love received here, I think I will build it up slowly.

Plus reading Princess Kaylin's articles every day has made me a better alien.

Steemers love her for some reason, and I wish to explore that. Perhaps take her into my spaceship one day! :P

I don't get a damn thing, Still I will upvote you buddy.

You are a true bro!

So glad to connect.

And your 4 cents are precious to me! <3

One day, we will enjoy the moon together!

Nothing wrong with that. No one should feel compelled to hold off a vote because of their steem power. The community is more important than the reward.

EXACTLY! I try to not completely kill my vote though, But I will let it get REALLY diluted.

True! I simply ENJOY here...

Yeah....what he said! X2

Thank you!

I guess I like you!

So here's an upvote! :)

Aww ! Yes spread the love lOL

You know my upvote is worth 0 cents, right?

What a shame.

Yours is 32 cents?

Damn! Let's see if that's true, again? :P

Mines around 0.52 at full power :) BUt I sometimes vote at partial power so I can spread the wealth a bit more hehe :)

I have heard of those things.

And that full power.

I think it's fascinating how wealth can be distributed through a single mouse click...

And to know I am getting 60% of that wealth?

I think I am in love! :D

maybe you should write a post about full power. what's it?

With my upvote, your comment has come to top, enjoy.

Thank you brother!

I think I like you!

Well, i think I have to take my vote back if my upvote has changed your feelings that much.

LOL!

I called you brother and I like you.

It's just bromance...

Yeah woo!! Can i get a free upvote too? Woo!

here's one

well said

I swear to GOD: this is interesting.

Hey Kaylin!

I love this post! Even though it is a few years old there is still a lot of value here!

Thank you for sharing and inspiring those of us who are still growing :)

<3

Way more likely to get a $1 on a whales post than by authoring in the beginning.

lol... I never got that in my entire "steemit-life". Anyway I like when others get them!

Here are tips I gave a little while back. maybe these help you. I hope you don't mind me linking @kaylinart.

https://steemit.com/steem/@aggroed/making-money-in-the-comments-section

Oh shit girl! You're up to $0.52 per click on a new post! You really are a whale!

LMAO XD! I think it was 60 earlier. But I've been voting a lot so it's gone down! hehehe.

so let me add some to you

of course she is - lol

Of course not :) You are providing value hehe :)

she love sharing so she won't mind. am i right @kaylinart?

There! You got half a dollar XD LOL

Holy Malony :D you are the best :)
Lets have a party!

YES!!

Can some of you please help push @hastla here over $1.

haha - you are great! :D

I am trying.

6 cents left.

Hello. Same here.

You are so close though...

So have my upvote! :)

Aren't you a smart man, aggroed? :P

I couldn't agree with you more. Followers is and will always be the most important thing if you want success. - I am like you that way. I upvote comments I get on my posts too. Not only because I'm "nice", but to secure my own investment in the future. - Thanks for the good read! :)

So true!!! It's a give and take relationship.

Yeah, it sure is. Like any other relationship you'll have actually.. But some people doesn't seem to understand that.

And here's for all of your followers (and mine). :)

Indeed if someone has a comment worth recognizing, upvote for sure. I'd give my 5cents to a great comment any day lol. I also believe that simply responding or even commenting on "unfollowed" new content are both great ways to retain or accumulate new followers. When someone engages with me in a post, we both benefit. Not only do you get to know another user (be it only a little), you are ten times more likely to go check out their blog.

I'd like to weigh in with my 3 cents on the subject... oh wait, I just did! 😁😎😎:D👍

LMao!! Nice one.

haha I wondered how long that would take. You win!

Haha...great pun. I'm weighing in with 7 cents, assuming I adjust my vote power correctly. I hate when I have to vote less than 100% as I wait for my turbo button to power back up! lol.

I know the feeling, went a bit nuts earlier this week and had to "relax" on the voting a bit, like walking down the street and dropping nickels out the hole in my back pocket lol - of course, that's part of what makes all the "math" work out, so it's all good (plus it felt good rewarding lots of great posts and comments)

Hopefully the Steemit network will be worth as much as this little girl is someday!

Your 3 cents has fetched you 56 cents...

The math here is so unreal!

that's why STEEM crypto RuLeZ - big 'ole comment party lovefest! 😎

Upvoted!

My math is on point.

0 cent given. 0 cent received. :D

1 cent received! gotta let my vote power recharge a bit again before going back to full votes lol

Thank you! In my head, I have a new name for you lol

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 2.40.20 AM.png

You are absolutely right. Sometimes, it can take me up to 15-30 minutes to read a post and write a well-formulated comment. I would at least expect a reply from the author :-)

So true!! I sadly can't always reply to all the comments I get! But I certainly try hehe.

Hehe thanks for replying :-)

Testing if I get a reply to my comment. I must have annoyed you! :P

Thanks for posting this! Today I've not had the inspiration to blog but I've been commenting and engaging and I really enjoy this side of the platform, so it's nice to see you (and aggroed) appreciating comments. I hope the new hard folk thingy doesn't deter upvotes from comments - I for one would notice the impact (15 blogs, 300+ comments), thanks again!

Exactly!! I'm hoping that that the new hardfork will help you guys! You sure do comment a lot and need to be appreciated hehe.

Thank you kindly! I do feel appreciated and encouraged to comment away even though I'm not blogging too much currently!

great post, a brave one, I think its important to upvote those who are supporting us with there comments

Thank you! i was a little scared to post it, But I figured I might as well.

That's a good advice :) I usually gave an upvote to comments that were meaningful, because sometimes someone would just post a "Nice post" or "Upvoted and follow". This kind of posts don't bring really anything to the conversation.

I agree completely. I usually avoid those ones too hehe.

did you just post this yesterday? thanks for writing this great post. how can i increase my voting power/cents , you know i love giving back to the community

Yes I did hehe :) Thank you.

keep it up, Thanks

Thanks for the nice piece of advice for STEEM minnows like myself.

Agreed hehe ;)

After reading this, I thought about the future of Steemit. It's bright but also under giants. I hope for Steemit to at least be able to swim among them. Steemit is worth it after all.

I agree! I definitely feel that everyone here today, Will have a chance to be part of those giants.

Eek I love the minions!

Of course, when we upvote comment follower will be happy and glad

Thanks for sharing this, good stuff to know for us new to the platform :) I try to upvote the comments I get on my posts, but sometimes it slips my mind. I'll definitely keep it more in mind going forward!

Exactly :) It slips everyones mind I think, As long as you try and remember when you can hehe.

True true..not only those who comment my posts but also comments in other members' posts that I like or resonate with. They deserve something for their thoughts and experiences that they are sharing.

I agree so much with that! Sure, They probably would do it either way! But that extra vote makes a difference.

It does.It just shows our appreciation. Besides we are one big family now :)

Sooo your going to up vote me then?
Great post.

Lmao XD Yes! Hopefully I dont miss anyone. There are a lot of comments here this time.

I have written no more than 15, quality blogs.

I have over 600 posts - all of these are comments!

The power of commenting is real, I have built audiences who know me by name and look forward to my content this way.

Sometimes I vote comments with only 20% voting power - if I did not do this, I would not have any power left voting for blogs I like. People really need to spend more time in the comments. I hope the community feature changes this by having posts with comment activity remain visible in the community for longer periods of time.

Thanks for the write up, followed for more business content

Because the system works as you describe it, I agree with what you've said here and I'll probably take your advice to a large degree.

I would like to point out that this post does reveal what I think is a weakness in the Steemit platform. Weaknesses are fine (and inevitable) when taken as opportunities to improve.

My point is that it isn't good for content curation that there are motives to interact that aren't based purely on the quality of the content, but that are based (to a certain degree) on making money .

Take YouTube for example. Because no one gets anything for liking a post or comment, you know the likes are 100% "real" and that they were only given because a person truly wanted to give the like. That helps the best content and best comments rise to the top. Here, on Steemit, that is not the case (the motives are not 100% pure at all times) which I think is an area that needs improvement.

Do I know how to improve it? No. Maybe in time I might have some ideas, but I'm not sure they'll be good. But if anyone can figure out how we can make the motives for action remain while also making them more pure, I think it will help us improve the platform, which will also help us all make more money! :)

Yeah this really has to be addressed in the future or Steemit will never rise to the top. Its acutally a quite big problem I feel

That's one reason I always make sure I read @cryptofiend's and @stephenkendal's original posts, and comment if I have anything meaningful to say. I always get a response and an upvote from them.

Allow me to explain why you should upvote comments...clears throat, while adjusting collar and loosening legs into a comfortable, wide stance

Cuz... pauses for effect while confidently gesturing to the crowd, now overcome with anticipation

...it feels good! Baby!

...and I like to feel good!!! crowd goes wild

I upvote all comments to my posts and also I visit everyone who vote me (I follow and vote a recent post I like). I believe if someone likes a post of mine I can find something I like in their wall.

Aww thats good I'm glad you do :) I try to do the same . But sometimes the comments that come in later I dont always see them lol

Agreed. I love the conversations that I have with other people in the Steemit community by using the comments. It's a good way to get to know eachother :) Thanks for creating awesome content every day! Keep up the great work!

Thank you for sharing your expert thoughts! Very useful indeed.

Great post. I know its old but, i still enjoyed reading it. Its good to know that there are some people who actually apreciate their readers

Fully agree and you're one of the few who upvotes comments, which is why you have high quality followers who actually read your content. Your point in your post about small businesses engaging with their customers is also an excellent point. Interact everyone!

Totally agree with the sentiment. Sharing is caring, and support yourself by supporting others. :) Awesome post! :)

Nice post, I like you write :-)

Spotted: Error in English.

Still you have my upvote.

Sorry, I corrected the error

Thanks for this post @kaylinart . While I don't expect all of my comments to deserve an upvote, I do agree with you 100% when you say "reward your followers" ... I wish I could upvote you twice hehe :)

Keep up your great work !

Congratulations @kaylinart!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 1 with 169 comments

So true! I always Upvote every comment I get :) It is just nice to get any kind of feedback. We should valorate that... it is also mean if somebody doesn´t take the time to write you back on your comment... but mainly people answer and upvote really good :)

Yeah! I always upvote too.

It's like you invested your time here... so take my mouse click! :P

Makes me happy, too! :)

Wow! I have occasionally up-voted comments when they are edifying, but the idea of them generating enough steem points to count for something never occurred to me. I suppose if enough people up-voted comments they see on posts they comment on, it could become quite significant.

Great attitude! I am already doing that and always will :)

I am totally agree!!! :D

Great article & beautiful picture.... is that in Budapest? :)

I'm not sure! It's a stock photo sadly. I wish I knew where it came from.

I am 90% sure Budapest :)

In case you are wrong, I would still give you my upvote!

Take it! :P

Budapest or not, you guessed it. So take my upvote, kind panda! :P

I agree with you.

Even if you didn't, I give you my upvote!

Totally agree even as a reader if I see a comment on a post i am reading that I like I will upvote it. Thanks

Upvoted and commented on ; )
Imgur

Sees username has bacon

Upvotes

Imgur

Gratitude! And followed...

I would love to see more comments in general. I generally write a post hoping to get some discussion going and sadly it rarely works out that way. Comments promote interaction and get people coming back more often.

Alright, dude! I am following you now so I can engage with your posts.

Soon enough!

Thanks for this small but important post! This is one of the indirect observations in my recent blog post about how to get best out of steemit. Keep posting & we will keep you engaged 😁

Great post. I agree!!!
I upvoted, follow and resteemed

resteem and upvote for you

I have the same issue with other people. Actually I upvoted more than 5000 posts in the last 15 days but whenever I post something I have never crossed 35 upvotes.
I guess people dont waste their time and SP in upvoting.

I agree! now upvote mine too :P

Stock photo or not it is awesome. So is the post. Thank you.

Good stuff, I'm sure there will be PLENTY of people on here that are just consuming this content. Which actually is super important because I feel the majority of people on here now, and majority of people that are initially drawn to the site, are primarily creators. You gotta have an audience that has time to actually read/enjoy your content and isn't itching to create their own all the time. Not that there's anything wrong or impossible about creators enjoying other content (obviously..that's the basis of steemit haha) but to reach mass adoption we have to get the consumer incentivized as well.

Got a loyal follower here, no worries :)

Great Blog and Great advice!

I think you are really on to something here @kaylinart, upvoting is in everyone's interest :)

There are 3 pages
Pages