I just bought the new 12.9" iPad Pro, paid for entirely w/ STEEM rewards!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemians! This is a big one! I’ve been here for just shy of a year. I’m coming up on 800 followers, so most of you already have an idea how important my 12.9” iPad Pro has become. This post will satisfy those who’ve seen the dozens of drawings and comic book pages I’ve posted to Steemit […and the tech geek purists that just love a good technology review]. It will ALSO be for those new to Steemit just coming across my blog now. Even if you’ve never seen my illustration, you undoubtedly had the frequently asked “Can this money be used in the real world?” questions. This will put a big fat exclamation point on the answer.

I’ve been drawing and sketching since I was old enough to hold a pencil. I grew up just knowing I was going to be a comic book illustrator. During the early 2000’s I began working for an animation studio in Northeastern, Pennsylvania. I became familiar with Flash and Photoshop and experimenting with digital art. Eventually, I decided that’s where the future was going in the field, and I doubled down on digital as my preferred medium. After a nice tax return, I bought a Wacom Cintiq and promptly returned it. I hated it. I have many friends in the field that love their Cintiq’s; wouldn’t trade them for the world. For me, though, the latency was laughable. The air gap between the glass and my pen was a deal breaker. It was just a terrible experience. I daydreamed about a day when Apple […I’m an unapologetic Apple fanboy] would come out with the perfect digital illustration tool. 

That day came November 11th, 2015. The iPad Pro had been rumored for years and I fervently followed ever tech blog awaited it’s announcement […announcement, I’m not even talking release, and @vermillionfox can testify to my neurotic web scrolling, hanging on every Mark Gurman blog post I could find]. It was announced and I lost my mind. Only a short few weeks until it’s release! 

November 11th, I had flown in to LA for a ten day photo tour. I went straight from the airport to get my rental car and straight from there to the Manhattan Beach Apple Store to pick up my beautiful new iPad Pro before meeting with my very first client! Ultimately, it was a tragic affair. My iPad was waiting for me, but every single store in California was out of stock on the Apple Pencil. Literally the only thing I wanted to for was to draw. I checked stores on the west coast daily, but the yields were so low for the Apple Pencil in those first few months, I didn’t get mine until three weeks later back in Minnesota. They had Pencils on display, though, and within the first few strokes, I knew this was it. It was the digital art tool I’d always dreamt of.

It’s been 18 months now and the iPad Pro has become an integral part of my career. Independent software companies such as Savage Interactive, makers of Procreate, have stepped up to fill the gaps from traditional desktop class applications. Procreate has matured SO much in the last year a half, it is the ONLY drawing app I use on the iPad Pro. Apple has also moved the mobile platform forward opening API’s and allowing 300dpi file exports and RAW photo editing to apps willing to support either.

As mentioned in my previous Steemit blog, “WWDC through the lens of a professional photographer fed up with Adobe!”, you’ll read about my excitement for the announcement of the next iteration of the iPad Pro […and for the sake of this post, I’ll only be talking about the 12.9” model, although I did get to hold the 10.5” display and it’ll be perfect for most people not looking to work on professional art]. It was released yesterday, and I was waiting at the Apple Store at 10:29a.m. for those giant glass doors to open.

Here is the tie in for new Steemit users […and I’m seeing you all by the hundreds each day]. It was not long ago that this all seemed unbelievable to me. I would call my friend and crpyto-metor @mada daily asking him to, once again, explain how this could ever become “actual money”. Writing, drawing, and sharing my photography is an outlet for artistic expression and that is the core draw for me to post on Steemit. The community is like none I’ve ever seen on the internet, and even when STEEM was low, I was posting often. Well, STEEM recently surged over $2 and those silly little tokens worth $0.13 last fall had now valued my account at over $27,000.

Seeing what was a “potential” during the winter months, something we’ve all said; “…when STEEM goes back up, I’m going to do this.”, was now a reality. In anticipation of WWDC, I began moving my SBD rewards to my Shift Card, and finally, Tuesday morning, I sent a final 250.000 STEEM through @blocktrades, to Coinbase before heading to the Apple Store. By the time I was there, the funds had arrived, available on my card, and with that, a new 12.9” iPad Pro paid for entirely with Steemit rewards!

I can’t understate the significance of this purchase because as a freelance artist, this is NOT something I’d typically be able to buy without considerable planning, saving and luck. I am forever grateful to every single vote that’s come across my blogs this last 10 months, minnows, dolphins and whales a like. I don’t make much money, but I’ve got a really fucking cool job. Just a few days ago, I sketched out a spinning STEEM coin animation on on my iPad Pro and, again, it’s Steemit that’s given me some breathing room […financially] to find a day here and there to just work on “fun” things. That post made $237! I can justify the time if there’s a chance of earning even half that!

I’m going to save my actual iPad Pro review for next week. I need to stay with it a while and measure it against the previous model. I’d like to give a really comprehensive comparisons, especially for artists that may be considering one. I have a few days before the older model goes on CraigsList so I’ll have time to do some side my side demos of the latency, True Tone and ProMotion technology, and overall performance with Procreate and the new Affinity Photo apps. One last time, though, thank you all for making Steemit a thriving, prosperous community and giving regular folks like me a platform to further pursue our lives and careers.


I post daily. For more art, illustration, photography and thoughts on life […and tech], follow me @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

That is awesome, I know what you mean about being an artist and having to carefully plan your finances before you can make a purchase for your business.

I am in the boat as I am an artist entrepreneur trying to make a living from my passion which is landscape art. Steemit is a brilliant platform for showing art and photography and a very supportive community.

Good on you mate :)

^^^ You need to check this guy out, @kommienezuspadt. You think I'm a good painter? Check out some of his posts.

Thanks @customnature, much appreciated :)

Yeah, it can be tough @samuel-earp-art. Living off your art is a constantly changing skill. You can never get comfortable. Steemit has been essential in giving me a wider audience for my work and a chance to make a little more money. I checked your work out and it's incredible. You should also consider following my brother, @customnature. Also a great landscape painting. I followed you. Thanks for saying hi.

Thanks so much @kommienezuspadt, I'll definitely follow you brother for sure :)

This post received a 5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @kommienezuspadt! For more information, click here!

Steem - From virtual to Reality

:-P

Seriously, @gikitiki! It's incredible.

Dooope dude! my girlfriend literally just ordered the new IPad yesterday. She's a photographer and image editor, and totally siked about the thing she can do with it!! Thanks for sharing :P

That's awesome @vizualsamuri! Make sure she downloads Affinity Photo. It's $20 but they're definitely stepping up where Adobe is dropping the ball.

Congratulations! I'm so happy for you. I want an Ipad Pro too! Lol

Thanks @miggyfr! Yeah, it's awesome. Set yourself a goal to buy it with STEEM! :P

Working on it, my friend! Working on it HAHA

Congrats! Like that steem got even better!!! Follow me!!! I will follow u!

Thanks @samuelsliva! I'll check your blog out now.

Nice work, man! Congratulations ;)

Thanks very much @loyaltytofreedom! It was a big milestone!

Yes! And this motivates us all

Congratulations! That's an amazing feat! Once Steem gains some more value, we can purchase more Bitcoin or Ether(eum) and we'll all hopefully reap similar rewards!

Yeah, I'm coming from the days when STEEM was at under $0.10 so even $2 feels pretty damn good @evolved08gsr. I've been using some of my SBD to buy BTS. I think that's going to explode one day, then I'll have ALLLLLLL the Apple products! :P

That is awesome, im new to steemit..is there any popular tags i can use to share my art to the steemit world. Any help is alpreciated. Thanks

Keep your tags broad @nue252. Stay away from "digitalart" or "ipadpro". Try to be as general as possible to fit in the most common tags. Something like "art" or "technology". "Story" is a great one, but you have to actually write a story for whatever your post is about. Good luck!

Great job! I also have the 12.9" iPad pro and absolutely love it. It can do everything I ask of it, including all of the great creative software. I am still trying many of the drawing apps, but right now I love Procreate and sketchbook.
Good on ya!

Holy shit @locoestaban, have you seen the demo for the upcoming iOS 11 features? Drag and drop and a true file system. It's like an iOS/MacOS hybrid!

Yeah! It looks great! Like a real computer!

The iOS 11 is going to get this thing to a level that it's a legitimate laptop replacement @locoestaban! I can't wait till it's released in the fall.

Upvoting this, and am happy for you, but also totally jealous

HA! Thanks @azurejasper! Yeah, but it's within all our grasp on Steemit. Tell me when you get yours!

Congrats Buddy!

Thanks, @kiddarko! It's shiny! I'm going to be organizing a Minneapolis Steemit film project soon and I'll be tagging you and @denvermax in it. Keep an eye out.

Nice. I try to pay attention to all your posts :D

congrats brother

Thanks very much @nilim.

This is a great inspiration for all of the new people who are coming to SteemIt right now. Can't wait for your review!

Good, @dzboston33! I hoped it would be. Like I said in the post, four months ago these were all hypotheticals, and now I'm actually going to buy this shit. It's pretty amazing! Yeah! Review and new art coming soon!

Congratulations to you, you've bought a new ipad, really cool.

I'll be interested if you notice a huge leap forward in performance. At this point I'm even just excited for the massively increased storage option and the new file system to come which should work much better with the cloud.
I'm still getting to grips with Procreate, I prefer my Cintiq just for the size & software. My Pro has been more a reading tool as it's the first time I've enjoyed the experience of digital comics & art magazines.

Yeah, @bryan-imhoff! One thing I've found is that friends of mine that learned on a Cintiq are die hard Cintiq fans for life and that's totally okay. Being comfortable with the way I learned photography is why I have such a unique style now. I just couldn't get used to the Cintiq in the two weeks I had it before I was still able to get a refund. The performance is noticeably better on the new model. The ProMotion feature is legit. I'll be writing up the big review in a week.

congrats on your success!! I believe you worked so hard to make it happened! Really happy for you! Just followed you and wish you can do the same as i am only a month old here on steem need so love from my steemians :)

Thanks so much @nuagnorab! I'll check you out now.

That's so awesome congratulations! I feel your joy, I just got a 3D pen from steem rewards too - it's great when u get something from your time and effort on the platform. Cheers :)

Ohhhhh! I just bought my grandfather the Lix 3D pen @krystle! That's awesome. I know, it's such a great feeling to contribute to a platform or community and have something to show for it other than making Zuckerberg rich.

this is so awesome, thank you for sharing!

That's great, I just love these stories of people converting their real energy into crypto and back into real world stuff again - can't get enough of that! I am waiting for my new iPad Pro with pen to be delivered today.... I am so ridiculously excited! Can't wait to try out Procreate and Affinity photo with the pen, so your post was just what I needed to help pass the time until it arrives.

That's great @spacehoppa! You're going to love it! Today will be the first day I'll actually get to draw with it for hours and form opinions on performance over the previous generation. I'll follow you. I want to see what you come up with!

That does look nice.

It's so beautiful, @danielowstall! Like I said in the unboxing video, opening new Apple products is like a fetish, lol

Congrats on your purchase, fully sponsored by Steemit!!
It's really amazing to see how much happiness a social site like Steemit can spread around. By the way those boobs seem to be coming out of the pad! ;)

HA! @siddartha, yeah. The impact Steemit has had on my life is unbelievable. It's moments like that when you walk out of an Apple Store with a $1000 tool you fully realize how incredible Steemit is. Boobs is a significant part of my blog. That's why I make the medium bucks, lol

wow this is so cool! I can't wait to see your review! how much percent of value you lose trough blocktrades and coinbase?

You know, I'm not sure how much @blocktrades takes for transactions but I've head through friends they're one of the most reasonable, and for me they're the fastest and easiest. I only move money around when I want to buy something like the iPad Pro, or buy other alt coins. A couple times a week, maybe. @blocktrades has been great for me thus far.

got it, tnx for the info!

How interesting. A wonderful post.

Thank you @nezaigor! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Yeah buddy! Glad to see you got it! I'm hoping to do the same thing for a new video editing laptop! Enjoy.

Congrats on the new ipad! Those look amazing for digital sketching.

Oh, man! Did you @fotosdenada?! The one that was just released, right? Procreate is amazing for drawing. Check out Affinity Photo as well. Did you get the 12.9" or the 10.5"?

I've only gotten to play with them a little. I'm still working off an old Lenovo ideapad :P

Congratulations! I hope more shopping for you with steemit money.

Follow me back :)

Awesome!

That's a lot of motivation to work! Thank you! <3