Could Steemit Help Disaster & Attack Victims? I Need Help With This Idea Please

in #steemit7 years ago

Hi Dear Steemians

I've been shocked and felt hopeless recently watching the terrorist attacks and disasters that have been happening around the world. It seems from day to day you don't know what is going to happen next. The recent attacks in London are specially disturbing to me personally as I'm a born Londoner and I feel like these are my people, my family are still there, but what can I do as I live in Australia.

The recently Glenfell Tower fire last week was the most shocking. I wanted to be there to help. I cannot imagine what the people who were there went through, its too horrific. Its been on my mind all week but I didn't want to post about it because I certainly don't want to make upvote money from other people's misery.

My idea is that a new Steemit account could be created whenever something like this happens (God forbid... but we know this is not the end of these events) and by upvoting all the steem earned in that account could be donated to them.

I found a website that is accepting donations for the Glenfell Tower disaster now.... They are nearly at their target.
https://www.launchgood.com/project/support_victims_of_grenfell_tower_block_fire#/

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 12.23.21 pm.png

I think the Steemit community has the power to help in so many ways. Also, perhaps if the people affected hear about Steemit they might join and create their own wealth.

Does anyone see this as an idea that could work?
How would you go about creating an account for a disaster fund?
How would we ensure that the money goes to them?

Any suggestions, help, or comments will be appreciated. Just wanted to put my idea out there. I'm a newbie so not sure how this would work.

Sort:  

Such a great idea, I wish there could be more community projects via the steem platform.