Sort:  

Once again, this should be required reading for everyone that's new (and old) to Steemit. It took me forever to 'get it' where the money was coming from and how it was generated...

If only I had posts like this lol

But thankfully guys like you others are making this information much more visible. I'm going to tag my friend in this post because he's been asking me all day where does the money come from LOL I think this does a better job explaining it than I did....lol @nosyx

Thanks for the great comment as always Jon, really appreciate your support and feedback! Happy that this post helps.

Great to see you tagging friends, share it as much as you want, every bit of support helps!

That was a good, concise summary and helpful. Thank you.

At 70 years of age I am not very social media savvy. My middle son, knowing that I have a lot of good content from my teaching and book writing experience, got me started on Steemit a little over a week ago.

I sincerely appreciate that you have explained SBD and Steem Power in an understandable, clear, and concise way.

Have you considered doing an "Ask the Expert" type of post? This would be a great service to the community; especially for newbies like me who can ask you questions about Steemit.

Great to see people from a variety of generations on Steemit, is your son on it too? No problem! And great idea; I will definitely look in to it. In the meantime, if you have any questions, feel free to respond to this comment and ask me, or simply message me on Steemit Chat!

Yes, my middle son is on Steemit. Thank you for considering my suggestion and for your invitation to message you on Steemit Chat.

Thanks for the article it finally cleared up some questions I've had for awhile. Upvoted and resteemed...

Thanks for sharing i will done upvote I always see your post. And follow you

thank you for this article it is really informative for anybody that like myself is tryign to figure out everything there is to know about Steemit.

this is genius and answers so many of my questions. I'm sharing the crap out of this one since many of my friends in Uganda are so new to Bitcoin, I always study about bitcoin , and almost get involved, then sometimes it slips out of my radar for some reason.
but i have one question for you, Isn't it possible that steem dollars can "go bankrupt" if the value of the assets drop by 95% or more? In a normal market it would be a total fluke event. But in cryptos extreme moves are much more common.

I guess if you look at the meteoric rise Of the SBD, a crash below its pegged value could be possible. I don't know the exact answer, as I haven't looked in to the economics of it much, but I think it is possible yes!

Well written and insightful article. I wonder, if there are only 20 witnesses (aka 20 people who may/can mine STEEM), doesn't this mean they can get extremely wealthy in an extremely short amount of time? This privilege must earn them some gigantic revenues, or am I missing something?

Thanks! There are a lot more thant 20, the top 20 do earn the most though. Yes they earn a lot of money in the top 20!

You got a 5.75% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @lukebrn!

I'm now enlighten about how steemit currencies are form. Good post and thanks for the info.

Thanks for writing the latest installment.

No problem @nxtblg, the next one is up too. Going to a delegations post soon to try and get some more!

Great explanation