Trust the Steemit Process

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Honestly, I feel like I am putting out good articles on steemit but am not getting the feedback I would like or that others are getting. I have never been much of a networker but have always liked writing and have always wished I could achieve success on my writing ability in and of itself. Dont get me wrong, I enjoy reading articles from others on steemit that I find interesting (and there are plenty that fall into that category), and there are definitely cool people on here that are fun to get to know and interact with. But overall I guess all I can do is trust the process and keep plugging away in hopes that my day will come before long.

My real problem with steemit is the inequality among members and how everything is so driven by profile rating and voting power. As a result, some people are putting out crap and getting all kinds of upvotes and feedback just because of power alliances and their ability to reciprocate others looking to advance themselves. The capitalist aspect of this site is perhaps its #1 attribute and its greatest flaw all at the same time. But, all you can do is trust the process, right?

whales.jpg
-My ass they do (image from steemit).

Still I do think it would be in the best interest of the site if more of the best written and most interesting articles could receive the most emphasis (not saying mine would make that cut but it would be something worthwhile for which to strive). That way more people would be compelled to come to the site for the pure purposes of entertainment and enlightenment as opposed to just personal advancement. I understand the merit in having to pay ones dues, as I still have not been active on steemit for that long, but I am just trusting the process in hopes that if I keep plugging away my time will eventually come.

So, if you feel the way I do, hang in there I guess cause sometimes you just gotta see what happens. I dont care if I ever become a whale or even a dolphin. I just want my articles to get decent exposure, which will hopefully lead to upvotes, feedback, and steem dollars.

Sort:  

when someone posted about this being a popularity contest, they couldnt have been more correct. have you joined any groups yet? ive seen some that look like it helps the members grow faster than individuals alone. if youre interested, weve started a newbie group on facebook. once we get enough interested members, we will start promoting here. https://www.facebook.com/groups/Steemitwestcoast/

I havent joined any yet but Ill definitely join you alls facebook group.

To expand on the reply I gave elsewhere...

Lack of comments is frustrating. The only thing I can suggest is find some more folks to follow and comment on their posts. Lots of times, they'll check out a new person in their feed - especially if their following is small.

My suggestion is to beef up the number of folks you follow. Think of it as adding chum to the water. Folks can't follow your feed to comment on your posts if they don't know you're there.

I've found the best way to seek out new people is browse the posts under certain tags. Just plug in a topic in the search window in the header to narrow down the search. Adding a few of your interests to your profile would help, too, so folks will know what you like to talk about. (marxrab can help with that if needed, I'm sure.)

I suck at networking. Period. Always have. I'm usually shy and like to hang out in the background 'til I get comfortable. If I can do this, you can, too!
Besides, who can resist a sasquatch smile?

Thanks for the advice, @aunt-deb. Ill definitely try those things. Ill get @marxrab to help me improve my profile. She has already told me I need to step up the networking, but I really have always been terrible at it. Really though I guess I just need to look around more in the tags that interest me and comment on some of those posts.

It should help get the ball rolling. Try this - for the next two weeks, find one person a day to add to your followed list. Make one comment on one of their posts. That's it. You can do more if you want, but this way it's a low pressure goal. At the very least you'll have some interesting new content in your feed to peruse!

That sounds like a good plan of action.