FIRST AUSTRALIAN STEEMIT MEETUP - Making friends through Steemit and Meetup

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

As promised earlier, I organised a meetup in Brisbane, Australia for Steemit :) As far as I'm aware, this was the first Australian Steemit meetup event.
https://www.meetup.com/Steemit-Brisbane/

I created the group and scheduled the event about 3 weeks ago. I got about 16 members joining the group. The event was set at Jade Buddha, a very popular venue/bar/restaurant in Brisbane.

There were 7 people scheduled to attend, however, only 1 person turned up. Initially I was a bit upset about the lack of participants, but after talking to Vitali (the person who came), I was very glad that I ran the meetup. He is a very knowledgeable computer programmer and I learned a few things from him. He wasn't part of Steemit yet, so I shared with him my knowledge about Steemit, and he was interested in learning more about it. We are both quite interested in the outdoors and talked about some good hiking spots.

image

image

I welcome anyone to check out the meetup group and let me know how I could re-word it to increase more attendees. And if you are in Brisbane, definitely join the meetup :) Until next time :)

Sort:  

Gday fellow Brisbanite! I'm not sure if I'd be able to make it to a meatstpace meetup, but I can at least follow and upvote for now :)

Sorry the turnout was dissapointing, but this place is only going to grow in size and early networking opportunities like this are great to see - keep up the good work!

thanks for the support buddy. feel free to join the meetup and see you soon :)

I'm four hours north, so a bit far to come, but thanks for the effort and hope it takes off more for the next one.

thanks buddy

Nicely done. You might have only got the two of you, but hey, you gotta start somewhere.

I'm from NSW, but I live in Guadalajara Mexico. The other night I went to a Bitcoin meetup, and they asked me to give a talk next time about Steemit, which should be a lot of fun.

Good luck and keep it up

that's awesome :)

THis is good. It will not only help steemit to get recognised but also help in building its community. Keep promting and sharing @magicmonk

@magicmonk shame that only one showed up, but great yoou have brought someone into the steemit community. I'd love a steemit meetup somewhere closer to me down south...how about canberra/sydney anyone??

It was one.already in Melbourne!

Did one already happen in Melbourne?

I love how people claim things but don't provide a link..