You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Unseen Worker: An Analogy

in #steemit8 years ago

Thanks so much for reading and opening the lines for discussion. One of the major things I see a flaw in is that there isn't a way to find potentially quality content that doesn't immeadity take off. There are many ways for us to see articles that are getting attention- the trending, hot, and active tabs. If we had a tab such as inactive- posted within 24 hours. I know in part that is against the suggested course of action- all the articles on "how to steemit" say what we want to do is vote on only the articles we think will make money. By using that approach, we further alienate good content because we are voting weather it will make money, not whether it is a quality piece. But regardless of that, posts COULD still provide quality content as well as make money... except most are lost and not able to be brought back. I had a piece I was promoting- it was raw, I put alot of time and energy into it. It was the least superficial thing, and the most "real" thing I had written in a long time, let alone shared. It wasn't rocket science, but I am comfortable enough to say it wasn't crap either. Someone actually told me that it was a great post, but at that point no one was going to vote on it regardless because of the time that had passed and the likelihood of it taking off. He was right. But- what does that say to me- or someone else? It doesn't matter how good the quality is. It didn't immeaditly take off, so its not going to.
The reason a post didn't take off immeaditly can really have little to do with content. There could be a ton of posts going and it will get buried quicker then you can bl8nk. Or it could be the opposite, not many users online to keep it going. So what if we had a way to see these posts? I wake up and say, hmm I wonder if I missed anything good. I could click on the inactive tab, find some mind blowing post that got maybe 20 upvotes and as many cents, and give the post new life.
I had to write this reply in between real life multitasking so its a bit longer then I intended, and only one idea, rather then ideas. I'm going to think a bit on an additional answer, but I want to say I really appreciate you asking in the first place. :)

Sort:  

well, there are a lot of things that need improving! I don't have the answers but I have some ideas........not well thought out yet though

Ideas become answers! Its often hard to figure them out and I think thats where people lose them. They have ideas but eleborating, planning, and implementing then can get overwhelming and people get bogged down. I'm sure Steemit would be a better place through some of your ideas, so I hope you get the chance to grow them.

I'm so glad you joined the mentoring group! :D