The Unseen Worker: An Analogy

in #steemit8 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I sit here, reflecting on what to write about, and I come to the realization that Steemit feels like entering an entry level job position. Think about when you started a job somewhere. You may have the know how to do said job, but you don’t have any experience within the company, nor have you had the time to build up any repertoire or trust with your employer or coworkers, so your efforts go largely ignored. You may connect with another co worker or two, who are also flying under the radar, but you see how hard one another work, and support and appreciate one another for it.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

You probably put in extra hours. You want to show your employer that you are competent; that you can contribute to the company, and that you want to be a longstanding employee. You have the value to be both these things, yet your significant contributions, extra hours, and quality execution continues to go unnoticed, except for in the small network of other underappreciated employers. While it feels good to have folks who are aware of the effort you put in, they have no impact on your salary, and therefore are insignificant in the progression of your career.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Now you are at a place where its all starting to exhaust you, physically as well as mentally. You’ve stayed late when everyone else goes home, and are back on the grind the next morning, well before others are dragging their feet through the door. Your diet has started to consistent strictly of coffee. You justify it by saying coffee is made with water, so at least you are drinking plenty of water too. Despite these long hours, you are hardly making enough to pay your bills. At first it was ok; you had a bit of savings that you could roll off of until the big guy noticed you and started to pay you what you are worth. And you negotiated with the utility companies to buy yourself a little more time. If you can just get the raise, everything will be ok! But that grace period you gave yourself is coming to an end instead of your income rising, only your debt and the accompanying stress has.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

And then, in the blink of an eye, the boss decides to hire a family friend. They’ve known each other all their lives, so naturally he has an infinity to the guy. He comes in, dolled up in a fancy suit. He’s showy, and unrelatable. You and your coworkers watch as he is the first one out each day, and the last one to show up in the morning. He submits subpar work; unimpressive and uninspired. He drives off in his bmw, and talks about his meals at various restaurants, in which one meal could cover a week of groceries, and your electric bill that’s coming alarmingly close to being shut off.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

One Friday, you happen to be in the mail room picking up your pay stubs at the same time. He opens his and examines it with a grin, while you cringe at the significant portion taken out to cover taxes. The boss yells his name, and he looks up, still grinning. He absentmindedly sets down his stub and the torn envelope, as he rushes over to the boss, giving him high fives.
You glance around. There’s no one else there. You know you shouldn’t, but curiosity gets the best of you. Glancing around one last time, you lift the envelope a bit to peer at the stub below it. You are blown away! This guy, with his half-assed, rushed work, is making four times what you are making!! One of his paychecks would change your life, let alone what he makes in a month.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

You go home, and wrestle with the emotions all weekend. Monday comes, and you call in sick for the first time. What’s the point, you question? You have always stuck to the mantra that good things come to those that deserve it, but this has really dulled your spark. What more could you possibly give? You have poured your heart and soul and time into this, seemingly to no avail.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

So now, both the hard worker, and the Steemit writer are at a crossroads. In one direction lay the path many take to forward their career. They realize this place where they laid so much hope and sweat in, will only take them so far. They choose to take the successes they have had in this position thus far, and present them to a new employer, where they can start above the plateau they were stuck at with their previous company. They have learned so much, and it will forever influence them, but they have come to realize, this is not the place for them. In the other direction lay the determined and faithful route. The faith that one day, the big break will come. After all, you love many aspects of this place. You love the friendship and mutual support that has grown in your group. You all may be small fish in a big sea, but there is comfort in knowing you are not alone. Rather then focusing on where you’re NOT going, you choose to be proud you are doing your best. One day you may be recognized for it, but if not, you can at least continue on, producing quality work YOU are proud of. But lets face it, you can’t really pay your bills with self appreciation.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sometimes, upon choosing the first path, your employer is suddenly enlightenment to all of your efforts. As the threat of losing you is presented to him, he is forced to analyze your contributions. He realizes that you improve the company, and that the company NEEDS your kind of dedication and quality if it wants to be the honorable and innovative company it set out to be. In this case, you often get what you were after. You have a bit of an after taste in your mouth, but at least you have garnered some attention, praise, and even got yourself a small raise.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The more I explored this analogy in writing this, the more similarities I saw. Now, it is my hope, that as so many Steemians reach this crossroads, that Steemit takes the path of the employer, realizing what it has in its undervalued writers. I hope they choose to encourage and promote them, rather then let them go, where they will probably be given the appreciation they deserve. Because that’s the thing. We may have to change paths if the one we walk isn’t serving us, but somewhere, someone WILL see that undervalued employee or writer for what they are. And they will flourish in that environment that motivates them. They will be happy, they will be loyal, they will gain the monetary recognition they deserve, and the company who believed in them will profit and grow.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

When I was a manager, I analyzed my own experiences with previous bosses, and decided that prevention was the best course of action. If I encouraged my employees, like one waters a seedling, they would WANT to do the best they could. They wouldn’t feel undervalued, and we would thus never have to play the threaten to leave game. And it worked. My employees were always there if I needed something, I didn’t have to worry about their work ethic, I gave them raises when they deserved it, not when they grew frustrated and insisted on it, and I respected them. I made sure to SEE them, and their efforts. This is my final hope for Steemit. There are some great projects under way that seem to share this view point, but aside from those, I suggest we really think about where we want to see Steemit, and act accordingly. Do we want to see someone who is a fantastic contributor grow frustrated, discouraged, and decide this isn’t the place for them? We will see their name in lights somewhere else and think, if only they were still part of this community. Or do we want to water the seedlings, so they blossom here, they feel appreciated and fairly compensated, and they stay loyal, growing themselves as well as Steemit in the process?
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

I agree with you. What ideas do you have in improving Steemit, so people don't feel like new undervalued employees?

Thanks so much for reading and opening the lines for discussion. One of the major things I see a flaw in is that there isn't a way to find potentially quality content that doesn't immeadity take off. There are many ways for us to see articles that are getting attention- the trending, hot, and active tabs. If we had a tab such as inactive- posted within 24 hours. I know in part that is against the suggested course of action- all the articles on "how to steemit" say what we want to do is vote on only the articles we think will make money. By using that approach, we further alienate good content because we are voting weather it will make money, not whether it is a quality piece. But regardless of that, posts COULD still provide quality content as well as make money... except most are lost and not able to be brought back. I had a piece I was promoting- it was raw, I put alot of time and energy into it. It was the least superficial thing, and the most "real" thing I had written in a long time, let alone shared. It wasn't rocket science, but I am comfortable enough to say it wasn't crap either. Someone actually told me that it was a great post, but at that point no one was going to vote on it regardless because of the time that had passed and the likelihood of it taking off. He was right. But- what does that say to me- or someone else? It doesn't matter how good the quality is. It didn't immeaditly take off, so its not going to.
The reason a post didn't take off immeaditly can really have little to do with content. There could be a ton of posts going and it will get buried quicker then you can bl8nk. Or it could be the opposite, not many users online to keep it going. So what if we had a way to see these posts? I wake up and say, hmm I wonder if I missed anything good. I could click on the inactive tab, find some mind blowing post that got maybe 20 upvotes and as many cents, and give the post new life.
I had to write this reply in between real life multitasking so its a bit longer then I intended, and only one idea, rather then ideas. I'm going to think a bit on an additional answer, but I want to say I really appreciate you asking in the first place. :)

well, there are a lot of things that need improving! I don't have the answers but I have some ideas........not well thought out yet though

Ideas become answers! Its often hard to figure them out and I think thats where people lose them. They have ideas but eleborating, planning, and implementing then can get overwhelming and people get bogged down. I'm sure Steemit would be a better place through some of your ideas, so I hope you get the chance to grow them.

I'm so glad you joined the mentoring group! :D

Now you see me, now you don't. Great job writing and adding photo credits.

Thanks so much for popping by to read and leave your feedback. I appreciate it!

You write some good material @mahma but I can only agree to a point.

There is more that Steemit could likely do to bring quality writing to more notice. I think one thing is allowing the ability for older posts (beyond 30 days) to be voted on and earn. Then there is incentive for posts that didn't initially get notice to be found and upvoted.

You could also help yourself in that you may want to spend some time learning how to layout content for easier reading. You are not alone in this, some of the posts I read are almost painful to read because of layout.

For example, white space is our friend. Lines between paragraphs give the eyes a break and shorter paragraphs are easier to read on screen than longer ones.

Thanks so much for reading and sharing your thoughts. While it does feel good to receive a compliment, comments like yours "help" alot.

I have also thought about the after 30 day payout, and agree that there should be some kind of payout system for that. Because people may find your content after the 30 days does not make it any less valuable. Also, this is a community platform; if you meet someone who just becomes exposed to your post, it seems unfair that they can't impact previous pieces.

I also agrer with you on regards to the posts that don't get initially noticed. If you read my comment to stellabelle, you will see I shared my qualm about that. Its extremely frustrating to know that basically if a post doesnt take off immeaditly, its pretty much dead in the water. Lots of good quality gets lost, simply because it doesn't get seen.

Also, I appreciate your feedback about the layout. A few users reached out with suggestions and one is currently guiding me to better layout. Being new, this was something I didn't see mentioned at all, and to be honest, I didn't really think about. I mean, I used parargraphs, and some intermitten photos; I thought that was ok. I also use mobile, and the editor often disappears. I was copy and pasting from word, then inserting basic html tags to occasionally bold text and add pictures. I tried adjusting font size but couldn't get it to change. I've since been told that is the most difficult way to do it, and have been introduced to a markdown app. Hopefully I will be able to implement a more visual and reader friendly layout soon. I'll keep in mind what you said about smaller paragrapghs being easier to read on screen. Again, thanks so much for your feedback!

I see you are separating your paragraphs :) ... I learned by trail and error that some of the HTML doesn't work. Still working on catching on to markdown. Nothing like a work in progress. Don't give up, I think the journey will be worth it or I'd not spend the time on here I do.

Yea lol. I tend to seperate them when I have a break in thoughts. Where I struggle is when I have one longgggg thought. Lol. Thanks for the encouragement, and I agree with you. Nothing worthwhile is easy. ; )

write that longggg thought. then break it into smaller paragraphs... maybe even shorter sentences. I am a bugger for long sentences. I write first, edit later so I can get the ideas down. Then make them readable lol

good writing.
I promoted your article on Robinhood Project.

Thank you for taking the time to read it. Its a real compliment that you felt inclined to share it to @robinhoodwhale , and I appreciate you taking the time to do so!

I just realized I forgot to credit images; they are all royalty images from pixabay aside from 9n the one with the watermark, which also comes from a royalty free image site.s

I can identify with this entire scenario. It's nice to know I'm not the only one who feels this way!

Congratulations @mahma! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mahma! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mahma! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!