The Emotional Rollercoaster Ride We Call Steemit.

in #steemit7 years ago

If you've just joined steemit then buckle up, it's one heck of a ride.

Steemit has it all, ups & downs, twist's & turns, it can give the rush of your life and then bring you crashing down to the ground, and this can all happen from the comfort of your own home.
When I joined steemit 4 months ago I had no expectations, to be honest, I thought I would do one post and then carry on with my life after it failed miserably. I hugely underestimated the power of steemit and I obviously did not realize I actually had something to bring to the table. My first 2 posts got over 100 upvotes and loads of great feedback, I remember thinking can it really be this easy? I was on a real high and I felt like a superstar.

What goes up must come down.

My 4th post got 9 views and 1 comment, I kept checking to see if it would pick up but it never did, what did I do wrong? does nobody love me anymore? in the space of a week, I went from being the king of the hill to a bum with no votes. I'm sure I am not the only one who has been in this situation, in fact, I am pretty certain that everyone has been through this on many occasions unless your Jeff Berwick or Jerry Banfield. Many have no doubt given up at this point and I must admit I was very close, but after evaluating the situation I realized that I had something to say but that this would take both time and effort along with some luck along the way before I would start seeing a result.

How to be successful on steemit?

I have no idea how to make it big here on steemit and anyone who claims to have the magic recipe is full of shit, all I know is that if you keep putting the effort and never stop interacting with your people then eventually you will build a decent following. I still create posts that bring in only $3 but I have grown to realize that it doesn't matter, if I had fun writing it and I get some good feedback then it was a winner. Success is all in the mind and if you are basing your success on dollars then go home now because that's not what it's about, never forget that this place is a rollercoaster and the minute you think you have it all sussed will be the same minute you'll get a nasty shock.

Summary.

To try and sum steemit up in one paragraph is like trying to get an elephant into a Honda Civic, but I will say this, if you can make it through the ups and downs, twist and turns the rejection and confusion then you might just start enjoying yourself enough to stop thinking about the money and start seeing steemit for what it really is, a place where people care, a place where you can help and be helped. Since being on steemit I have shared my secrets and my dreams, I have cried and laughed, been ecstatic and depressed all in the space of one week but I keep coming back because that's what life is really like........A rollercoaster ride.

This month all the money I make on steemit is going to my dear friend Colette who is in the process of overcoming cancer. COLETTES STORY.

Peace and love to the World.

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

20170616134033_Picture_20170615_212026931.jpg

Img source 1, Edited on PhotoLayers. 2, 3, Edited on PhotoLayers.

Sort:  

Steemit as a Rollercoaster! That's a good analogy. There certainly are ups and downs along the way and i feel like there is almost no way to predicted the next turn. For me it is a very exciting ride and I enjoy followung your ride too.

Thank you @fanstaf who knows what's coming next, but like you say that's probably what makes it so exciting. :)
Thanks for stopping by buddy

Hehe welcome to my world... i think till now the best blog that i done pass a bit over $3 but i don't complain. Like you mention the most important thing here on Steemit is to have fun and all the rest will follow! You have amazing blogs so keep Steem on!

Hey @georgemales that's the right attitude to have my friend. I think in general things are tough here right now, I see the trending posts used to get 2000 now are only getting 500.
Keep on steeming on brother.

I notice the same think as well and in general things are tough for the moment but like you mention as well all we have to do is enjoy and steem on. Need to ask you one question... how did you manage in this blog to have the picture one the left or right and then the text parallel. I like the way it looks and if you have time and pleasure please let me know! Thanks a lot!

so true

Yes, consistency here is what is going to rule the day. The slow steady grind. We just have to make it fun along the way. Great post.

That's right @dreamwalkerd having fun should be the number 1 motivation :)
Thanks for the feedback

Yeah, there is definitely a lot to steemit. I am still very new, but I think I'm picking it up quickly. It would be very useful if there a better breakdown or summary of how exactly steem power works .

I'm not big on social media in the first place but I bet platforms like Instragram and Twitter have similar ups and downs .

Yes, I'm sure it's similar on FB and Twitter but I like u I am not a big fan of them, all I have is steemit and I love it.
Keep steeming, keep smiling :)

Nice post. Blessings to Colette.

Thank you @anarcotech, I think I might have convinced Colette to join steemit :)

Great news. I hope Colette finds many new friends and supporters here. It's the place to be. I've met many new and interesting people on Steemit and some even in the flesh too, which I'm very pleased about.

I have no idea how to make it big here on steemit and anyone who claims to have the magic recipe is full of shit, [...]

Never a more true statement has been said! I also agree with your next part, basically saying to stick with it and post valuable content. That's the whole point of Steemit, and if you follow that one simple guideline, you're going to be just fine! :)

Also, commenting across the community as opposed to only being an author helps immensely!

Cheers and Happy Steeming! I will continue to be following you.

Thank you @evolved08gsr glad you agreed,
Yes your right, I know for a fact I spend more time commenting than posting.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts
I am following you now. :)

Yes it's a lot like a roller coaster---in my case it's more like the kiddie coaster, as it never seems to hit those big peaks, at least not yet.--lol! I think it's definitely about the community and the people, that's what keeps me here. Plus I love writing and sharing info that I hope will be helpful or uplifting.

This is the attitude to have :) If u love writing and sharing info and continue interacting with the community then success will come your. way :)