You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scratching the 7 day itch or: How I learned to stop worrying and love the short payout window.

in #steemit6 years ago

Clearly I'm not just blinded by privilege, I'm blind to my blindness. Looks like you got here just in time.
Tell you what. Write out the passive income advice I should've given to Indians and Indonesians; (that vast landscape hidden from view by my ivory tower) and I'll edit it into the post and give you half the liquid payout.

Sort:  

You are very diplomatic! Here's what I think - even if they have to sell low, they are making more money here than on other social medias. If they manage to use this tool on their free times (around their jobs or subsistance farming activites), its just a bonus, one they can hodl or not as they see fit.

And if some day a government wakes up to the potential, can you imagine a welfare upvote bot that gives every citizen of some nation a daily boost to their steem account! WOAH!

Anyways, just came back here to tell you I am still sharing this post, its my go-to when a newish user talks about the 7 day window. You done good on this one!

Thanks mate. Glad to see you got some benefit out of it. I'm probably picking up followers too (even though we're past payout)

I am one of those newer users that @ecoinstant refers to. You are definitely still picking up follows from this one :)
You do make very good points regarding the payout period. Competing with some whale from last year would not be a great scenario for anyone.
I also appreciate the heads up about @robertkiyosaki as I have been a fan for years.
Great job @ecoinstant referencing an older post on the evergreen topic is a great way to highlight the potential for long term value.
However, within the context of our conversation I still believe attempting evergreen content is not the best use of time for someone in my position.
That really is mostly due to available time for Steemit, as well as needing to continue to build a following.
The comment was in regards to working toward the slider bar. For me that means optimising limited time.

I am not well versed in Steemit etiquette. Apologies in advance to Mattclarke if this is a misplaced comment.
Since you said you would love to continue the conversation I will elaborate a bit here. I always appreciate the time and input from those with more experience.
Having about one week per month to devote heavy time here I struggle with content strategy. I try to put up one to two smaller posts a week on off weeks.
Those tend to bury my good posts before I get the next free week.
My last free week was very rewarding as my post pulled over 100 comments and I placed #12 in engagment league.
I actually gained more from the engagement on many levels. My intention is to use my next free week to push even harder and attempt top 10. At the same time pushing out halfway decent posts as time allows.
I do agree the longer more in depth posts have many overall advantages. Doing a Deepdive is a goal for the future.
At any rate thanks for the link. Always fun to have new blogs to read. Also was great to meet you this week. Maybe in future we will both be shooting for engagement on the same week. That cold be fun.

All good, headchange. Thanks for dropping by. If you want to play around with the slider bar, everyone gets it over at steempeak.com; might be nice to save it up as a 500 SP goal though :)
I've seen a lot of people burn out by trying to build a following posting.
It's like trying to become a standup comic by performing in your lounge room.
It doesn't matter how good you are, there's no audience.
Comment insightfully, supportively on other people's posts until you have a real solid following; the low price means people aren't posting, and feeds are empty, perfect time to get noticed.
Don't put your heart and soul into a blog until you have an audience for it.

Thank you so much! I have no desire to lower my little vote right now. The goal is to gain some SP to raise it a bit.
Interesting choice for an example. One of my first good posts here was a comedy piece. I later was introduced to the open mic community. I sure do wish I could reuse that one now.
Good point about the lows. Extra Steemit time is always a goal but now especially. Less competition on the contest too :)
Thanks again for the input. I do enjoy my time here, just wish there were more of it.

That's right! This article is a great proof of concept of the very thing you were writing about, it's all very meta!