You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We have 37 Whales and 129,615 Redfish

in #steemit6 years ago

Another question is who do we want to retain. If a minnow comes in without investment and starts screaming immediately that they are not earning after their first 5 posts, is that someone we want to retain? Speaking only for myself, I am fine if that person moves along to the next get rich project they find.

This was the mistake a lot of us who were shilling Steemit back in December when SBD rewards was so high and people were getting curie votes left and right that we thought that Steemit was going to be a golden goose that kept laying eggs,

Then the bearish market started and 6 months we had some spurts that it went up $2 but it has mostly stayed below.

Then most of their posts now are less than a dollar because they never powered up, they never swam out of their little circle jerk voters that did not power up as well. They were happy to be stuck in their little groups and their MO is to use certain tags so that a whale will give them a 1 dollar upvote and they can continue jjust sending it out of their wallets for short term needs.

I get it some people need it but I see some who don't and they buy flashy gadgets, or go to vacations and then complain why they are not relevant or get more votes from other people.

It is because you never bothered to be known by other people!!

I would not say that I am successful but at least I am near my goal of 1k SP and some of them have been here longer and have not even reached 500 SP. To me they are vastly short-sighted and just wants to do what is easy because networking and engagement is not easy, commenting and giving your views to other people not of your circle is not easy.

So these people unfortunately I do not support. I support those people that I see who are trying their best to power up and be relevant in the platform and here long term. It is a hard fact but we should be looking for those that want this platform to succeed and not just making it a cash cow and looking for the next big thing.

I appreciate you saying this truth and agree that we need more midsize minnows and dolphins, the so called middle class because even if the Voting power recharges each day there is only so much a whale or midsized dolphin can do.

Our communities need to have a dolphin initiative in place and some people have a selfish altruism mindset.

Sort:  

You make a lot of interesting points, but remember Dolphins are also active Content Creators, many of us ground out our accounts without whale support either.

When I earned my SP, there was no commitment to running a minnow school. :) I actually enjoy giving some realism to Minnows, and I had a tough grind so I enjoy providing some encouragement.

Regarding results, I am okay with a sink or swim financial system, and I believe in taking care of yourself first.