4 REASONS WHY I Can Actually Say I Like DOING LAUNDRY BY HAND

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0753.jpg


div.jpg

When the subject of off grid living comes up, an entire series of question marks tend to fill people's minds. "What do you use for light?" "How can you live without air conditioning?" "How do you make coffee?" There are so many questions. But if I had to pick just one question that sticks out above the rest as particularly troublesome and even worrisome to women, it would be: "How do you do laundry?"

The realization that clothes might have to be washed by hand can result in instilling horror into the heart of any woman. She pictures endless mountains of clothes piling up day after day without end. Even with her trusty washing machine and dryer, she has difficulty keeping the piles at bay. How in the world could she possibly turn the tide by washing them by hand?! She imagines spending grueling hours of scrubbing and wringing, only to see her hard labor rewarded with...more dirty clothes! It's like a bad dream. The laundry basket is as full as it was that morning. She envisions herself climbing a mountain that keeps getting steeper and higher with every step. "Impossible," she says. "No way!" "I will never wash clothes by hand!"

Ha! I have to admit that I had fun writing that. It was a little therapeutic. After almost five years of washing my family's clothes by hand, I have felt some of those things. I wouldn't be honest if I didn't admit to dreaming about a washing machine a time or two. But what is astonishing to me is the genuine disbelief and bewilderment that the subject of off grid laundry inspires. For some reason, laundry is a loathsome task. It is repeatedly among the most common topics of questions that I get about my off grid lifestyle.

socks.jpg

I can definitely say that my own view of laundry has changed over the past five years. In some ways it has actually become less of a chore than it was when I used a washer and dryer. Gasp! I'll give you a moment to pick your mouth up off the floor. Did I really say that? How could it possibly be less of a chore? Please bear with me and suspend your disbelief while I explain. Sometimes it's even hard for me to believe that I have come so far as to actually be able to say that doing laundry by hand has become a completely manageable chore. Let me share with you a few reasons why it's really not so bad.

1. Wear It Again, Sam

Without a washer and dryer, I have seen the freedom that comes from being forced to manage the clothing we wear in a more productive way. Put simply, we wear our clothes multiple times! I have learned that it is not a very wise or self-sufficient use of resources (whether it happens to be your time or electricity) to be constantly washing clothes that aren't even dirty. If you find one take away from this article, I hope this is it: Make sure your clothes are dirty before you wash them. That's it. It's really simple. This one little rule can reduce your laundry immensely. I imagine that at this moment, your laundry basket contains a number of only very mildly dirty clothes because you are used to wearing them once and discarding them. I've done it too. But I have now changed my ways and I have less laundry as a result. (For those of you who are turning up your nose right now, please keep in mind that clean shirts are allowed and even encouraged every day throughout the summer. In addition to this, socks are only allowed to be worn one full day. Saving on laundry is just not worth smelling stinky clothes all day. I love my family, but I don't want to smell them. That's just gross!)

2. My Personal Laundromat

One of the most magical things about washing clothes by hand is that I don't have to do one load at a time. If I have more dirty clothes, I just fill another bucket or tote. It's just like having multiple machines. Well...almost. Just work with me here! A washing machine actually seems kind of limiting to me because it can only perform one load at a time. But what if you have a small load of delicates or whites that need to be separated? How often have you ruined something by succumbing to the temptation to throw them in with everything else? I don't have that problem. I can separate to my heart's content and it doesn't take any longer. With my current system, I do three loads at one time. I just fill all my tubs and plastic totes. The clothes soak as I rotate my effort through the tubs using my "Breathing Mobile Washer". Then it's time to wring them, rinse, wring again, and hang to dry. I am literally my own laundromat.

laundrystation.jpg

3. Free at Last

I do my laundry for free. I love the sound of that. I am my own laundromat, but it doesn't cost me a cent. Let's go through the checklist, shall we?

  • Free manpower...err...womanpower. Yep, got it!
  • Free rain water collected from my roof. Absolutely, gotta love the free water from the sky.
  • Free sunshine. Drying clothes, lifting a dreary mood, growing food in the garden, powering solar panels. Our sun is a marvelous thing.

Doing laundry by hand fulfills my inner desire to accomplish a job using my own resources. I don't have to rely on the services of an electric company that I would pay for. I don't have a washing machine and dryer that could break. I don't need a water facility to send clean water through my pipes. I have everything I need at my fingertips to get my family's clothes clean. That's pretty amazing when you think about it!

4. Feel the Burn

Up to this point, I haven't dwelt on the work part of laundry. Yes, it is work. But I think we need a little perspective here. We are told over and over again that we need more exercise. We can't get away from the message. It's preached to us by our doctors, the media, our in-shape friends, and even by spam in our in-boxes. So, we get on the treadmill or force ourselves to walk around the block. I'm all for that, if that's your thing. But for the rest of us, exercise can be a dirty word. If you are like me, you hate to do meaningless work. And that's what exercise is. It's work. So, instead of spinning my wheels on a treadmill, I do the laundry. Instead of lifting weights, I carry my heavy basket of wet clothes to the clothesline. That has a purpose and it's a lot more fulfilling. There is no "quitting the gym". I have to do it or I can say goodbye to clean underwear. It's a fool-proof exercise program.

plunge.jpg

So, what do you think? Does off grid laundry sound like a bad dream? Or does it sound inspiring? Would you ever consider it? I hope that now you understand why I do it and why I have stuck with it these five years. I'm really not putting myself through drudgery every day.

I'm living my off grid dream.

Off Grid Laundry Station Video



div.jpg

ENJOY THE VIDEO!



jaimie.jpg
Jaimie is a writer and vlogger for AnAmericanHomestead

homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

glyphsolar.jpg EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR glyphsolar.jpg

Sort:  

Using irrelevant tags, especially popular tags, makes it hard to find good and relevant content.
Please try to use only relevant tags when posting!

#steemit

Please only use the “steemit” tag for articles distinctly related to Steemit, the website, itself.

Shared to show that your clothes wear out from washing too much too often!

So true, especially jeans, in my case.

As I read this, my very pregnant wife is looking at me saying "I don't think so." Lol. At least for right now. Great article. What are some good ways to dry clothes in the winter? We are in north central Idaho, and I have considered trying to build some type of rack we could put in front of the wood stove, but with 8 people in the family it would take a while to do the laundry. Great article. Our family enjoys your videos and articles immensely. Shalom.

We have an article here that you can read about winter time drying. It's changed a bit since then but we still pretty much do it this way. https://anamericanhomestead.com/how-to-make-laundry-drying-racks-out-of-an-old-crib/

Thank you Zach and Jamie.

Hang clothes on racks in a small closed fairly air room. Get a medium size dehumidifier cost around $50.00. Turn it on 1 to 2 hours later dry clothes.

I hear your pregnant wife...(congratulations!!) though after having actually done the laundry by hand last Sukkot, it was not nearly as difficult as I thought it would be. One of the big differences between my usual laundry method and having to do it by hand is that you really may have to do a small amount of laundry every day. I noticed that the larger families who tried to do theirs once a week had a really hard time getting it all washed and dried in a decent time. As with the composting toilet, I was actually quite pleased that the laundry was not as big of a job as I was concerned it would be.

@mericanhomestead You crack me up. Definitely enjoyed this post. BTW, less washing especially fewer detergents allow the clothes to last longer.

Yeah, we've totally noticed that!!

Nice setup. Those socks in the photo looked very white. And I think I saw a bottle of store-bought bleach. Do you have a special way of getting those socks clean? I use a machine and still can't get my socks that white.

Awesome article. I have a solar clothes dryer, and I love it. Woman powering my washing machine is something that I probably will never do willingly simply because I am not physically able to do it. I admire you for incorporating your daily exercises into your daily life. Good Job.

Thanks for reading the article! We appreciate it!

This was a great read, thank you Jaimie. I've been watching my electric bills for two years, and the days I did two loads of laundry, my electric usage was 3 times more than regular days. I've already stopped using the dryer, now I just need to take the next step. Thanks for the encouraging article.

You can do it!

Great read. My fiance and I are going to be moving off grid.. the thought of washing and drying clothes hasn't even been thought of yet.. I'm definitely gonna show her your post.

Yeah, be sure to watch our homesteading 101 series videos at the youtube channel before you make the leap!

Will do... we'll watch them together.. Thanks

Very good point about not washing clothes that aren't dirty. I already have that rule here, but still sometimes have to make some reminders. In winter I struggle to get more than one load a day done due to the lack of room for drying. Off to look at your post on drying in winter now!

Do you use a detergent at all?

Yes, we have made our own soap in the past but its just so cheap at the store that we buy the brand we want. You have to weigh the time cost with a lot of things.

Tell it like it is - we have had a washer dryer combo here for eleven years and cannot generate enough electricity for it with all the other stuff that comes up. So, we do it by hand too or take it to the laundromat, a massive trip over a very long distance - great

We have used the laundromat at times for things like large items such as a coat or bed comforter. There are benefits in doing things by hand and I think we have forgotten that in the world we live in today.

You are such an inspiration! Everytime i feel burdened by being more self sufficient or preparing for sabbath, i stop and think of what your daily chore list must be and how you are always smiling. There is something truly rewarding about hard work and accomplishing a task by hand! Thanks for sharing!! #mot

Thanks @tiredmama, truth be told, Jaimie is tired a lot too. We all work hard and she is no exception. Give her coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at night and she's a happy homesteader.

You are an inspiration ... I'd love to have a better outlook on laundry... but I'm gonna be honest here... I just don't WANT to! 😉❤️

Hey! That I can respect. Honesty!

Jaimie, another excellent article! We look forward to seeing what you write about next! It is really amazing what utilities cost and being able to limit how much you use them does help. Although sometimes even not using it much still has an impact because of the cost of it just to have it delivered to the property. What really sucks is when that cost is more than the minimal cost when using it!

I'm pretty sure that first scenario of thinking about doing laundry by hand is straight out of my head. I have thought over and over about this and just don't know about it. You're article has convinced me to give it a try. I adore hanging my clothes to dry but washing? I don't even know how to wash clothes by hand ... was that a toilet plunger? I would love a post about the actual washing process you use. I imagine it taking me hours and hours washing each piece individually

Just watched the video and got a better idea ( :

Nice Laundry set up.

I LOVE The little laundry house! It's so well built with great attention to detail. It's always a joy listening to Jaimie. :) I've Re-steemed. Thank you for making this video!

I really love the Breathing mobile washer. I met the inventor in Idaho when I went to pick up a case of them in person. I had hopes of giving some to my in-laws in the Philippines where they really do wash by hand, and then selling the rest of them. I thought the idea would catch on rather quickly. At first everyone was highly critical and embarrassed to use them because it looked like a plunger. Even though I showed them it wasn't and how quickly it would wash the clothes the cleaning ladies still refused to use it. They figured washing with their bare hands was the best way to go and they were also afraid of it working so well that it would put them out of business. I actually love how well it works and works much better than a washing machine.

I love that outdoor laundry room you have. Resteeming an upvoting this post.


Fellow Steemians, please support @mericanhomestead with your REAL comments and an upvote. I will randomly select one of your comments for a 100% Upvote

supportauthor.gif

That's funny about the worrying the washer might put them out of business - and about being embarrassed to look like they're washing clothes with a toilet plunger. I have to say that I haven't yet bought a real one and have actually been using a real toilet plunger (brand new and clean of course) for hand washing...but I have written in large bold letters on the handle "This is for washing clothes ONLY!!!! Do not use on any toilet!!!"

Which of course will mean nothing if one of my kids tries using it since none of them are old enough to read yet. Hopefully it will just never happen.

Love the laundry room! We also air dry our clothes and make my own laundry soap. There are days though when I dream of a modern laundry room...

I also prefer hand wash..upvoted resteemed and followed

Hi! This is grate.. I came up on self ladury in India and i loved doing my own cloths by hand, an amazing feeling i am keen on continuing with. This is grate inspiration for further, not possible to built somthing like this now but in futhure i hope i have as nice of a house as you! Thank you for shearing. What dose the grinder do to the cloths? I saw you put true the cloths true it and then what do you do? Bets of regards. upsteeam and follow you!

I don't mind washing clothes by hand, did it for quite a while. We don't have a dryer so our laundry is still hung outside. I have arthritis so my hands hurt so bad it's hard to to do sometimes. The homestead gym is certainly a great workout!