And THERE IT IS! The big 1,000! + Updates

in #steemit7 years ago

And it took Fookin' ages!

For those who engage in my posts, I really appreciate it. The sense of community here is bigger for me than any other social media I've engaged in.

That being said, that 1,000 is a lie, and the same can be said for most people.

By visiting Dead Followers, you can see how many users are still actually active.

For me, it turns out I only have 640 true followers, the rest not even showing any signs of life in at least a month but often since forever.

This is a grim reality for steemit - that the vast majority of users are either permanently gone or bots, but at the same time this makes a very tight community where everyone feels involved to some extent. And that's what keeps me here.

However

It turns out I got myself a full time job starting asap, so my activity is going to downsize substantially, something I've been aware of for a while.

Mobdrops

With this in mind, I've created the account @mobdrops. This is a zappl, or 'twitter' type account, where I'll post short, one-or-two sentence posts that I can do on my phone on the way to work or something like that and keep my main posts going, but at a rate of maybe 2-3 per week. Or less, who knows.

You should follow this account because it may also summarize some of my longer posts so you don't need to pretend you enjoyed reading them.

Curation & Stempede

As a curator, I have begrudgingly had to accept that I can no longer be a part of @OCD. I had to make choices and @OCD was substantially time consuming while at the same time has a rather big team, so my influence there was minimal and so I felt it was no big loss, but I am still saddened to not be a part of something I feel is so important. @acidyo has it covered though, I have confidence in him and his creative ideas.

As for @steemSTEM, we are a much smaller community and I play a much larger role in it. With just one curation team and fewer, smaller posts, I believe this will be more manageable. But even so, I may not be able to be as rigorous there as I'd hope, so I have created the @stempede account in affiliation with @steemstem with three other curators as an attempt to contribute some VP as well as help promote users daily with short posts similar in style to @mobdrops. This is a good account to follow if you love reading about science and learning and stuff like that, but can't be bothered trawling through all the tags, as it will essentially be a short summary of the best bits.

Post series

I've no idea if people keep track, but I tend to have 3 or 4 series of posts going at any given time. Currently, it's

  • Mobbs' memoirs
  • What I learnt this week
  • New Discoveries
  • Surviving the Extremes
  • Chinese Pseudoscience

Given that I won't be able to post so much, I'll likely need to decide which ones of these to axe. I would have just done it myself but I'm so indifferent I'll put it to any readers out there who know what I'm talking about; which posts have you preferred reading, or if not read yet, which sounds most interesting to you conceptually?

For now I will probably just axe two of them, so let me know what you think!

Special Thanks

Lol, as if. Those who need thanks know exactly who they are.

But yeah, Thanks everyone!

Add stupid selfie with message on paper here

Sort:  

give us more chinese pseudo crap!

Done - already got a few in mind so can't ditch those

Well done lil buddy!
I'm proud of you, even though you are lagging behind a bit.

mobbsobbsobs.png

Oh thanks for pointing that out, looks like there was an error with the screenshot. It works now:

:( I'm using paint for this, please have mercy on my soul.

He's a pirate, he's an engineer, he's a piraneer. or Enginate.

is he? I can't see clearly lookalike @apsu still sleeping well. nice dream.

didnt know about deadfollowers, nice tool, btw, -1 whats now?;)

1006! =P

congratulations @mobbs :)

Good job. You beat me there, and you've won the rep battle, too! Keep pushing out your quality!

Yet you still have more raw SP! I'll be working as I said so you'll have plenty of time to catch up =D

I use steem spectacles instead of dead followers- gives you quite a bit more information.

spectacles?? On my way now

Congrats on this milestone achievement of 1000 of followers.
P.S I just made it 1001

Hah nice, but I'm 1006 now, sucker!

congrats on reaching 1000! Thats a lot of hard work and even if its dead followers, you still earned them! also congrats on the new job! maybe you will give in to the stress of a full time job and try some TCM!!! =D lol

You know what, maybe the stress will make me turn to God, too! Who knows! lol

The real follower should prepare them self properly. Otherwise maybe they are tourist.
thanks.

Congrats on the job man. Hope it works out and keeps your interest. You will be missed on the daily basis, that is for sure.

I'm sure I'll make my presence known. I have an hour coach journey each way so what else can I do but mess around in chat?

You look so pretty on that selfie! ^_^

Keep it up, mate! You are doing awesome work!