You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The new Terms of Service is a concern to me, a resident of China

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Well I did specify Freedom of speech - and I can't think of any other nation that enjoys this more than the US does. I'm sure there may be examples of incarceration of some extreme hate crimes in the US, but not nearly to the extent of 'not nice opinions' in Europe, and certainly not anything close to China.

Freedom of Speech is one of the few things America still has to be absolutely proud of, from what I can see. Most of the incarceration in the US is because of low-level drug crime - -close to half of the entire population behind bars.

Another comparison of use might be how China convicts over 99.9% of defendants, compared to 93% in the US (though compare that with the 75% from the 70's in the US!)

But yeah, freedom of speech is the specific crime here

Sort:  

"Well I did specify Freedom of speech - and I can't think of any other nation that enjoys this more than the US does. I'm sure there may be examples of incarceration of some extreme hate crimes in the US, but not nearly to the extent of 'not nice opinions' in Europe, and certainly not anything close to China."

the examples i gave were peaceful protests lmao

The guy who lost his house, car, and job, was found not guilty. Using that as a statistic doesn't say much.

and prisons are the ultimate form of taking away all freedoms, not just freedoms of speech. The US is smart, they aim to fix the problems that suppressing freedoms of speech directly causes.

Also, I'm still not trying to say china doesnt have it bad. I'm just trying to say if the US is your example of "free speech" you don't know what that means lol

I may not know the intriciate layers of law behind the US, a country I've never visited, but I certainly know what free speech is, hence my often touted frustration of the attack against it in the UK.

But even so, Nowhere is perfect, but I still think, unless statistics show otherwise, that the US has the greatest amount of freedom to speak what one desires. Protests are a fuzzy area; they could have been illegally operated for example (this has been the case on some occasions), and even if that were the case, it's still true that the majority of incarcerated individuals are in for drugs, and the vast majority of the rest are for violent crimes - 52.4% in state prisons in 2008.

There would be a small fraction in there for 'subversion of state' or criticism of government. Again - I've no doubt this does happen, but it's more the exception than the rule, compared to anywhere else I can think of. The only other way I can see it is if they secretly arrest hundreds of thousands and skip them out of the statistics to trick me but... no evidence

the best strategy for destroying free speech is to do it indirectly.

"But even so, Nowhere is perfect, but I still think, unless statistics show otherwise, that the US has the greatest amount of freedom to speak what one desires. "

I need statistics proving this true first, I dont see many other "first world" countries rounding up protesters and taking direct action against political figures (like sending police to their house likely in an effort to kill them in a "welfare check", luckily in the recent example they werent home)

the police here directly give support to fascist activities in an effort to suppress every freedom of minorities, not just speech.

also, the majority of the upper gov just ignores the law (has for a long time). So it really doesnt matter how well you know it

I believe @mobb is making this post due to my comments on the Steemitblog's TOS post.

Plenty of European Countries lock people up on all sides of the spectrum just for being offensive online.

https://staging.busy.org/@steemitblog/updated-steemit-com-terms-of-service-and-privacy-policy#@truthforce/re-surfermarly-re-truthforce-re-surfermarly-re-truthforce-re-steemitblog-updated-steemit-com-terms-of-service-and-privacy-policy-20180616t215118994z

i read the first link, it seems like they are arresting alt-right, which is fine by me

Anyone who posts "offensive speech" can be arrested in the UK. That includes you, me, someone from the LGBTQAAIYP, white people, black people, Christians, Muslims, you name it.

Unjust laws are unjust period.

i read the first link, it seems like they are arresting alt-right, which is fine by me

Yes let the divide and conquer continue. They have won.

lol the police literally go out of their way to go to fascist rallies and protect them.

Its left vs right, not auth vs lib lmao

Indeed, most people in the US seem to land in prison for very minor offenses, like carrying marihuana, jaywalking or a small tax avoidance. Furthermore, they're trying to be kept as long as possible in those private prisons, as the owner of these profit from these inmates. Not only that, but when you're poor and can't afford a good lawyer, you're even more likely to end up in jail, as the Jury has to feel good about the person being locked up, no matter if they're actually guilty. Once convicted, you're also very likely of reentering prison as "reintegration into society"-policies are almost nonexistent in US prisons.

There's so much wrong in the US system, but I'd prefer this way more over what's happening in PR China.
Being potentially put in jail for jaywalking, or having your organs harvested for practicing some yoga-equivalent... I do not have to decide for very long here.

Haha nice omission of falun-gong there. Keep the lips sealed.

But yeah I don't deny at any moment that the US doesn't have it bad, isn't it something like 25% of total inmates are in the US?

But if I were to compete, more people are put to death in China than the rest of the world combined - by a long shot. And that's only going by the confirmed numbers. there's a whole bunch that simply... disappear. I'll take the jaywalking ticket any day

Haha nice omission of falun-gong there. Keep the lips sealed.

I didn't want to say it, as I don't want to provoke any troubles more than already exist here.
But, yes, I was implicitly referring to them.

isn't it something like 25% of total inmates are in the US?

Yes, seems about right.

put to death in China than the rest of the world combined - by a long shot. And that's only going by the confirmed numbers. there's a whole bunch that simply... disappear.

I think it'd be likely that China could compete with the US when they'd abolish the death penalty and keep "track" of those "disappearing".

Yes, and right now since we have free speech we are able to speak out against these injustices. In china it isn't possible in almost any area unfortunately.

I think the USA is going to lead the way in these areas after we get our heads out of our asses. We shouldn't put millions in jail for drugs unless they harmed someone or stole something. It creates second class citizens who cannot get good jobs anymore and it ostracizes them.