This post should be a must-read for your eyes. I'm not Leonardo DiCaprio, so after two minutes it will go under low-quality content.

in #steemit6 years ago

alex-holyoake-60249-unsplash.jpg

Steemit has been so far an interesting experience. I started out as a promotion tool to gain some visibility for my business, but on the path to it, I learned to write better posts, engage in conversations and meet new interesting people from all over the world. This is something that couldn't be done on other social networks.

I believe this is because it's still too rough in its form. It hasn't developed a way yet to categorize tags successfully, so you can pretty easily jump in topics and read about them, without knowing what to expect.

Somehow this is the way you found this post :) or maybe you are one of my followers then I appreciate you read so far.

Contrary to my initial belief, I don't think Steemit will change the world of social networks and be the next Facebook. It has potential and some clone of it that is made better will probably get ahead. Steemit has a long way to go, that's I think is the reason they are still in Beta mode, for years.

I will list some points why I believe Steemit will not get better than Facebook or even Twitter.

  • Writing with this Markdown style is not for Older People. Heck, I needed a course to be able to write some lines here. Not to mention it took me hours, to find how to add my avatar image or that I need to separate tags with space and not with comma's to be able to add more than one tag and post the article.

  • Steemit depends too large on the money incentive. If the currency market is doing great, the network will flourish. But if a downturn is evolving, not even the most prolific user's post here, because usually, they buy upvotes and their earnings are lowering if the Usd to Sbd exchange isn't good.



    To 90% every user here on Steemit hopes to make money from the posts shared. Even I who had primarily promotion in mind, thought why not getting some spare change for writing, making the time of writing an instant gratification.

  • The most probable outcome here is that your content will not gain visibility. The timeframe for new content get visible must be a few minutes to some hour max. You would need a lot of followers, who follow not too many people to get visible even by them.

  • Of course, you can buy visibility. How could I not mention this? I would prefer to buy an advertising campaign targeted to people who appreciate what I would offer than just take a place among low-quality content, which is usually the content which shows up on the trending page.

  • Speaking of low-quality content. It's so difficult and time-consuming to find something worth reading. I had the luck to read some of those rare gems, but most of the time I found pictures of cats and nature without even describing why they were posted here. Also, some articles badly needed Grammarly for help. I'm prepared to get eaten alive by the Grammar police :)

  • Maybe another point, that would fit great here, I had to eat a sandwich and lost the connection with my writing.

So you would classicly ask. Why do you write then still here?

Maybe to some algorithmic wonder this post lands to the eyes of people who could need this information right ahead.

I started to write with 100% commitment over here week after week. Still do oddly enough :) Joined discussions, learned a lot, participated in contests. After finding out what was not possible here on Steemit, and I accept it took me long enough, I decided this is not an advantage for blogging. Blogging is great and some articles need to get updated over time. Like, the information has to be changed to mirror reality, or links may move and must be changed.

Another thing that could emerge as an issue here. The content is saved forever on the blockchain. As an artist, this sounds great at the beginning, as you have a digital documentary of the rights to your work. The bad thing is your work is visible and can be downloaded by anybody. Then how do you transfer those rights if anybody wants to acquire them? This I think is still in beta mode too.

aaron-burden-90144-unsplash.jpg

Quora offers me a better experience

I'm a few months on Quora active. There is great content and I like to browse through high-quality answers and learn new things. I also provide my knowledge to people who need advice. Lately, I created a blog there and all my future content will be posted there at mynlo.quora.com.

I didn't write my last post about privacy concerns, because I wanted to gain upvotes or followers. I meant it for real. And steps like this have to follow.

I got in talks with Alexis over there at Quora which I met randomly browsing for an answer that interested me and she agreed to write a guest post for my blog. And this wasn't even my initial intention. I just found her content being great and thought to ask her how she liked my website as feedback is always valuable. She liked my website so much, that this post was created by her:

The importance of Capturing Lifes Moments

Providing an ending headline

For someone who had no intention to write on Steemit, this post got actually very long. As last week I'm not sure I will post next week again. Stay tuned and let me surprise you and most probably myself too again. What would fit here is I think an image of a forest which lots of trees. Why?

anton-darius-thesollers-306223-unsplash.jpg

Mynlo does print out pictures on paper and being an admirer of nature, I thought I will give some percentage of the earnings gained from sales to a good purpose. Yeah, I couldn't resist. I mentioned Mynlo again. But more importantly, I like the idea of One tree, one dollar. So now should be really put an endpoint here. If I had just always such nights, where I write and write and cannot stop it...

So wish everyone a happy new week!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mynlo.com! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mynlo.com! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!