Youtubers Spreading False Info About Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I saw some Youtubers dragging Steemit’s name through the mud...

...and, I gotta say, I was triggered.

My heart started beating faster, and the next thing I knew, my fingers were typing so fast that it was like they had been training for this very moment. I responded to one of both of these Youtubers and told him why EVERYTHING they said in their videos was WRONG.

And then we fought to the death.

Just kidding.

Actually, despite feeling like a raging spider monkey who just wanted to angrily fling my poop at someone, I explained to them why they were 100% dead wrong in a nice way.

Because I really don’t like to be mean to people if I can help it.

It’s just that this was his 2nd youtube video I’ve seen this week pedaling incorrect info about Steemit with a clickbait headline saying something along the lines of “Earn $1,100 per day on Steemit!”

At that point, I’d had enough.

Now, one of them wasn't so bad, because he admitted in his video that he didn't really know how things worked. I know his intention wasn’t to drag Steemit’s name through the mud. Then I started wondering “Why do I care so much when I see false info spread about Steemit?”

"Why do I get so defensive?”

“Why does it bother me so much when I see these videos?”

"Do I have hidden anger issues that I need to see a therapist for?! Was my childhood okay!??”

I had a fairly good childhood and I’m generally pretty happy so I think it’s safe to say that’s not why I’m feeling so ragey about it.

I thought about it.

And wondered some more as to why I feel so passionate about correcting people’s misconceptions about Steemit.

For crying out loud, I wanted to throw my fictitious monkey poop through the screen at the guy! Not a good look.

Then I finally realized why I was so upset...

I get mad because I care about steemit. I guess you could say I was feeling protective.

Since I’ve been here, I’ve grown to love steemit. I look forward to interacting with people every day. I love the fact that I see things out in the real world and I think things like “oh man, @goldmatters would love this” or “I bet @daveonarrival would like this song."

Steemit is a place where I’ve made real friendships with people I’ve never met in person. It’s a platform that has allowed me to form REAL life friendships and gave me opportunities to meet up with AMAZING people who share similar interests as me.

It’s a place where I’ve spread my wings. I’ve grown. I’ve put myself out there. I’ve been motivated and encouraged daily. I’ve been inspired to improve my skills.

There’s just something amazing about this platform that makes me feel like I can try anything in the world and there will be people here to support me along the way.

Maybe I could learn ukulele and be brave enough to put out an awesome song cover like @coruscate. I don’t know. I feel inspired here and the options are endless.

Steemit has quickly become one of my favorite social media platforms. I’ve even filed for divorce from my instagram account, which should be finalized in a few weeks.

Steemit, however, is NOT a place to get rich quick.

And when I see a ton of people commenting on these videos that they want to sign up for steemit because they think they can earn $1,000 for posting a picture of a bear...

...it rubs me the wrong way!

Not because I don’t want new users to join the platform, because I do.

But you can see why this is kinduva problem, right?

Imagine, you come across this super great video online that makes you believe you will make $700 for a picture of your breakfast, and all you have to do is sign up for a free account on steemit.

It makes being a contributor on the platform seem like even a monkey should be able to make bank on this thing and be able to retire within just a few months.

When you sign up and find out that the guy who posted the pic of his broom made 100x the $ you did, it can make you feel stupid. How could broom-picture guy figure out how this works, but you can’t? You got good grades in school. Not fair!

The reality is it's being presented in the wrong way, people don't come to add value, or maybe they do come to add value, but either way, they feel dumb and then give up and leave.

It’s okay to come to the platform in hopes of making money.

If we’re honest with ourselves, a lot of us came here for that, right? I’m just afraid that if too many people see it as a get rich quick scheme, they will come, spam a lot, get frustrated and then leave.

We don’t need more spam on Steemit.

We don’t even need more spam on our breakfast plates, because let’s face it, that stuff is so not healthy for you (but dang is it tasty when cooked inside a fried egg… Filipino style).

Is steemit still a good platform to sign up on even if you can’t get rich quick?

Heck yeah! You CAN make money on steemit.

Steem is a great investment. I’m super bullish on it (well duh, I better be)!

It’s got first mover advantage in decentralized social media world so basically, it’s ballin’.

It has a blockchain which means it’s off the chain. What other social media site has a wallet and money transfer and savings account all rolled into one?

You can get paid for liking people’s shiz.

You can find a community here in almost every niche possible.

You can make friends! In 10 years of using Facebook, I’ve only made ONE friend because of Facebook. In 4 years of using instagram, I’ve only made 2 instagram friends. In 5 months of steemit, I’ve made enough friends to not even feel like counting right now.

The community here is real, people.

But it takes a lot of time as an investment. You spend a lot of time here investing in others. In checking out their stuff. Leaving a thoughtful comment. Or, leaving an unfiltered one without thinking and looking like an idiot and then editing it 5 times until the comment eventually looks thoughtful.

All that takes time.

And you may never become a whale just by posting a picture of a bear. Or even by posting some good articles. It’s not a get rich quick thing. Steemit isn’t the maker of insta-whales.

But that’s okay.

Not everybody can be whales.

The eco-system would cease to exist if everyone was a whale.

It’s just not how the world works.

And that’s okay.

So, do you want to know how this story really ends? How did it end with the youtuber and me?

Well, I ended up answering a lot of questions about steemit and clearing up the misconceptions aaaaand you may see him here on steemit soon! :) He says he's in it for the long haul.

Sort:  

Greetings, Miss Nomadic

The only way to become a whale quickly in here is to eat all the recipes of the staff that put the delicious foods here Hihihihhi.

Other than that, I think that either the person has a lot of Dimdim and buys Steem in a brokerage and exchange Steem for Steem power here in or, starts from scratch and writes many good articles during a high amount of time and interacts well with the community, reading and commenting Posts from others. Once in a while, it may be that your posts receive a vote of who owns a lot of SP and considerably increase the remuneration for them. But this is something that happens in a very sporadic way. The question in here is to work practically every day, reading and studying to post quality content and be rewarded for it.

Thank you for posting and good afternoon!!!!

hahaha I'm down for that! I love eating lots of food at once!

Reason #32,409 to visit us in Bangkok: @suitcasemama can definitely be convinced to cook you Filipino style spam ;)

p.s. let us know if your new friend makes it to steemit so we can properly welcome him. It'll be great to have him, we need more long-haulers here fo' sho'!

hahaha she likes Filipino spam eggs?!?!

She is Filipino(a) ;)

OH YEAHHH!!! Sorry I forgot that! I KNEW THAT! omg so sorry. ooo do you speak any tagalog? does she teach you?

Almost none, but learning baby Tagalog from our toddler. Can say "go up" "eat" and "where are you going?" like a pro ;)

this is quite a nice read.

steemit has imparted my life positively so much that I can't imagine any other social media overtaking it.

i hope the guy and others who read your defense of the platform will signup asap and wait for 2 weeks to get approved

Yeah I can actually see the positive effects of steemit in your life! I even told him about anon steem so that he doesn't have to wait to get approved :)

LOL. You will have to pay for him to sign up with anonsteem

i like it when new signups wait 2weeks or more, it makes some take it serious sometimes.

you did well with your defense

Awesome @nomadicsoul! You add so much value to the platform and I love having such a cool friend :) I totally agree with everything you said. Steemit is not about getting rich and people will be disappointed if expectations are not managed correctly. Great job advocating for STeemit, now all you need to do is show them your Steemit dress!

Thanks! You add so much GOLD to the platform!!! Literal value to the platform! I love the steemit dress :)

Its so awesome! Bust that thing out again :)

This needs to be resteemed. Its sad how people think its easy money writing stuff online. Thanks to you for clearing it for some of them. You did a great job😊

aw thanks so much for resteeming!!!!

I agree with a ton of what you talked about :) a lot of people sign up, get discouraged and leave. I see it happen all the time and then the ones who get exposure and blow up stop engaging with others and just put out content without communication. It certainly hasn’t it’s flaws but that’s not to say it isn’t worth it because it’s totally changed my life . Nice being friends with you lol

I'm glad to be friends with you!!! Steemit has already changed my life too and I think the more I use it the ore that will become true!!

Btw, I wrote this post 82% because of you the other day/ for you, not sure if you saw it

Your photo and the way you writing always make me laugh. I also got the problem is ... i become so aggressive when people say something bad about steemit. lol. Maybe because Steemit has been a part of us, (or we have become a part of Steemit) :)) we care, we love, then we want to protect it. 😊😊

Aww :) So true!!! We're like steem warriors!

can you name some of the youtubers that you saw, i wanna watch the video too

on youtube type in make 1000 day on steemit there are several videos like that. or 500/day etc. I don't want to name and shame anyone specific!

It's sad but funny how I learned about Steem from a youtuber and then later figured out they had ZERO idea how Steem worked and had some crazy ideas. One youtuber I watched early on certainly presented it like a get rich quick and now they're gone.

Along that note I spent months trying to learn about Steem because no one taught it in a quick easy way. So now it's my mission to teach my friends (including many youtubers) in much quicker easier ways... and to make steempeak.com a place that is more inuitive than my long drawn out experience was on that steemit.com site.

I find that many people who try to teach about steem just want to draw it out so it can be lots of posts to get paid... or they're well meaning but just don't start with the basic foundations that can really help the newbie.

In any case keep fighting the good fight.