Steemit Improvement Suggestion

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I just saw a posting that was supposed to contain a few photos, but none were visible.

This did not stop voting-as-usual for this poster.

It didn't bother me all that much in this case, as the poster in question usually deserves every vote he gets, but it did give me an idea. What if:

  • I made a tool to automatically repost old postings every day, starting from when one started on Steemit;
  • I made a tool to automatically buy votes for these postings;
  • Everybody delegated most of their SP to bid bots;
  • Everybody put those they regularly vote for on autovote;
  • I made a tool to generate random comments to make thing look more lively.

This would greatly simplify things, as there would be no more need to create new good content, no more need to read or look at content, and no more need to curate manually; exactly what many people seem to want.

In fact, Steemit would continue as an autonomous system without any need for further input by humans, making things far more efficient and saving everybody a lot of time, while still generating roughly the same rewards it does now.

It can't be all that hard to implement, as it feels we are almost there already.

Health warning: Voting for this may make you unpopular in some circles.

Sort:  

I totally agree that we are almost there already @ocrdu. I've seen loads of posts where the image doesn't render but the votes remain high.

I was already moving into a bit of a "what's the point" phase which happens from time to time.

Then yesterday the computer shop wiped all my photographs from my hard disc that I've just spent the last six months organising. I'm trying to recover them but with no luck so far. 😢

And now one SBD is worth well below one Steem so I'm asking myself, "is it worth it?". 😢

I have a lovely weekend coming up though so I'm hoping that will turn things around a bit.

What did the computer shop do, exactly?

They reinstalled Windows @schattenjaeger without telling me they were going to do so.

For some reason they backed up my documents and my desktop but not my photographs or my music. Then they lied and said there were no photos on my hard disc when there were hundreds.

I've run some restoration software overnight but so far, the files I've found, won't open despite their being in "excellent" condition. I googled it and apparently even if a file has been found and not overwritten there is not guarantee that it can be successfully restored.

I suspect I will simply have to give up at some point and start again with the downloading and organising. 😢

But I'll try a few more, if I can find them, before I do that.

So you do still have the photos, but lost the organising?

Pretty much I think @ocrdu. See my reply below.

Losing the organisation is mildly annoying; losing the edits is a real pain. I always feel initially I will never be able to edit them again just-so, but I know from experience that is not true. You can.

It's the reverse for me as I do very little editing. Trying to find the photographs I wanted before I'd started organising them into folders, however, was a huge waste of time.

Anyway. Whatever. As you can see I'm in a "poor me" kind of frame of mind.

This too shall pass one way or another!

Too bad.
I keep my pictures on a separate HDD. (but I have no back-up, if that drive fails it's bye-bye 40k pictures :D) Having so many pictures has teached me one thing - my pictures aren't that special. It's a good feeling to have them but ultimately they are all useless. The most I'll do is maybe watch them once a year. The best pictures I've already uploaded to the web and other places...

I once deleted a bunch of pictures too. I managed to recover about 50% of my images. These were images from my army service. It definitely sucks when it happens.

Sorry for my rambling.
All the best!

I'm not sure they are ultimately useless @sulev. They are my bread and butter here.

I was sorting them and editing them into folders for my Steemit posts in such a way I knew which ones I'd used and which ones I hadn't.

For example, I have a photograph in mind for a post I want to do today but I have no idea where it is in my backups.

I could have gone straight to it in my file system. 😢

The reason I started putting them in specific folders was because I was spending inordinate amounts of time trying to find them.

I feel I just can't face going back to the beginning but, if I don't , I'm sure there will come a point where the frustration of trying to find them will outweigh the frustration of having to start again. 😊

Technically, nothing is ever truly "gone" from a hard drive. It's just fragmented into smaller bits all over the hard drive. Sorta, kinda.

It's theoretically possible to always recover lost data as long as the hard drive itself works, but... it may cost a pretty, pretty penny.

And it may not be worth it in most situations, sadly.

Yeah. I'm pretty sure this is one of those situations where it simply isn't worth it @schattenjaeger.

I have already started the long, slow process of downloading from Google photos, editing them and putting them in folders again. The ones I've already used I won't bother with and the ones that have nothing to do with Steemit but are lost will just have to remain lost.

There have been a lot of lessons learned over the last couple of days!

Ugh... I hope it all works out. Sounds tedious, but if it can be done, you'll find a way to do it if it is worth doing.

Best of luck.

Yeah. After moaning in some comments and then writing a post about it this afternoon, I knuckled down and started again.

After that I started to feel better.

Thank you for your support @schattenjaeger. I appreciate it! 😊

Count this as a good thing because now you will stop using silly folders and get some good photo organization software. there is one where you can put tags on the photos and make them searchable. I used to use it before my fast box burned out and now I am back to using folders by year. It's a little too heavy for this sorry excuse of a netbook I am using now.

I looked into tagging software previously @leprechaun but went for the folders in the end. They worked really well but were organised by topic/event rather than years. 😊

No 2nd backup of pictures in the cloud? You don't make 3 backups of important files? It's worth the money.

Once I had bought a computer, long time ago. Was the first computer I had ever built and I was so proud of myself. I had it a few years, then one stormy night, while it was on we had a power surge. The computer was plugged straight in the wall. Fried the power supply.

That got me thinking about computer problems more. Everything that could go wrong at any point in time as a surprise. You must thing of the worst, and prepare a plan for it. Just in case.
Make backups of all important files. Files that can't be recovered or easily downloaded to the internet. Have 3 locations for those files. Your computer, the cloud, and another hard copy. Most Important files should not be saved to your computer or the cloud. They should be on 3 separate USB drives. One in the gun safe (any safe), one in a safe deposit box, one in a secret location only you know where it is. Not in home, Not in bank.

That greatly sucks. There are tools for recovering deleted files, but if the computer shop idiots have overwritten things, there will be few left to recover.

Have you got a back-up? <- question that may not cheer you up either.

Yep. I've run a recovery tool overnight and am now trying to find the photos and see what can be restored. Haven't managed to do any so far.

I'm pretty sure most of the photos I can about are backed on somewhere @ocrdu. They'll be on a hard disc or, my old computer, or in the cloud.

The loss is the time I've spent these last six months organising and editing them. That was all done on my computer. So it's looking like I'm going to have to start that process from scratch. right now I don't think I can face it. it was a massive amount of work. 😢

SBD isnt worth less than one Steem. Where the hell do you get that idea? :P

SBD is currently at around $0.86 and Steem is currently around $0.35. So 1 SBD is worth around 2.2 Steem.

I get what you’re saying, but as a new user, I find it fun to write interesting posts while knowing for sure that a few people will bother to read them. BTW, I voted for you because I’m not popular in any circle yet (laughs).

And I have so many good ol'posts!

See? I knew you'd like it. With so many old posts, nobody will notice but a few fans anyway, so you'd be golden and also less stressed.

That's brilliant!

Maybe in ver. 2.0 there can be an update where the bot takes paragraphs out of several different posts and creates an entirely NEW post, made out of old content... so plagiarism filters will never be triggered, and cheetah will just run around in a helpless circle.

You really could be onto something here!

It's like the fake cities that wealthy dictators build, to look like they are running a prosperous country. We can have a completely automated Steemit economy, where no one actually reads or creates any content. No curating, but autovotes and bot comments. Make it look legit! @ironshield

Потёмкинские деревни/Potemkin village.

I'm really starting to question how long this place is going to last. Also, who will voting for this post make me unpopular with? I'm so out of the loop lately...

All the big players. But you’re already in trouble for liking me.

Damn it, I used to get ned upvotes man, but that was a long time ago. Anyhow, I've got my little pile of steem and I've managed to accumulate a handful of other cryptos from my steem rewards over the past two years, so I guess if it all goes flaming into the abyss at least I'll have something left.

I'll flag just for fun as flagging doesn't need any explanation here on Steemit.

A post by @paulag a couple of hours ago, did 'her thing' and after analyzing - worked out that 'live human' comments could be as high as 15%...

A little depressing..

Affirmative. The humans are dead.

I just saw a joke of the day post with a lame as joke and thats it. It was 21 upvotes and counting. And here is a photo of the day post with a title and a photo. The title says it all..

Screenshot_20180524-221748.png

Sometimes steemit feels like a absolute joke.

you are right. Money is the allure and doom of Steemit.

Do you think people are in cryptocurrency for tech? 😓

the majority is purely for money made from trading.

People are in it because it gives more speed and value.

Who will vote for newbies then? Lel

minnow curation bots with paid sign ups

I'd like an AI that automatically posts my images on all social media sites with a self generated text and (hash)tags to attract attention, the moment I'm done editing.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Resteemed...

I think better like what you say ,,, for a simple performance in accordance with the rewards earned in steemit ...

Don't give them any ideas! 😆

I've already built one that does something like that. I got this sex robot in the mail by mistake. (honest) I reprogrammed her to blog. She chose a username like sugarsssj or something. I don't remember. It's not the job she was designed for but a lot more useful.

disclaimer: This comment is a joke. I don't live in the UK. So, those who would fine me 800 pounds can f*k off.

Some of those ideas on the list are pretty good, actually. No sarcasm. But yeah, we definitely have a problem here.

I have an account with 5000 followers and it makes announcements everyday and still I find people that do not know about Steemfiles which is a site that sells digital goods. Maybe I should make it work for Crypto-kitties and a like.

If you think vote-bots are a problem, you could ask some dev in a private memo, but not me, to make a bot for flagging posts that receive votes from bots. With enough Steem power, the clients will get dissatisfied and stop using paid for public bots. There will still probably be some secret bots, but if you cannot advertise in the open without getting on the bot list, the vote-buying economy would be greatly reduced.

I see you have a reputation of 71 and I seriously doubt you got all that reputation from people reading your post. Nobody is automating votes for your posts? Perhaps it is not paid for but there really needs to be a vote bot that takes into account people voters.

Bots fighting bot votes, you mean? That would require quite a lot of SP to be effective, and it doesn't appeal to me instinctively, which means I don't like the idea but still have to think about why not 8-).

I see you have a reputation of 71 and I seriously doubt you got all that reputation from people reading your post.

Reading? That I do not know, I do know it comes from people voting for my content over a long period; I have never used any artificial means of raising my rep. I earned it the old way.

Nobody is automating votes for your posts?

Not that I know of, and I would probably make quite a bit more if there were people doing that.

why is there so many bots on here?

Greed, mostly. Some were probably designed to be benign and helpful, but the huge number of them is best explained by greed, I think.

Thank's for your good post. I follow you, please follow me, sir. I'm totally new to Steemit. Hope you will follow me and help me get filled up by Upvoting. Thank you so much.