7 months ago, I was a skeptic.

in #steemit6 years ago

7 months ago I was a skeptic.

I joined Steemit just to see why my brother would not stop talking about his crypto's. I had NO idea what Steem was and barely understood Bitcoin. I was one of those who thought it was a "fad" or that "there had to be catch". I made my first blog and got a few upvotes and comments and thought it was kinda neat. I began reading posts and following those who I had interest in. I skimmed through the thousands of posts to find those that seemed genuine. Those that are written by people who want to share their interests, ideas and stories. You see I am not a huge people person. In fact I'm not a people person at all. I don't relate to the majority. I'm quiet and always have a different way of thinking. So searching through all the posts was like shopping for friends. lol Weeding through the poorly written posts about everything and anything to try to make steem was a chore. Being bombarded by follow 4 follow or upvote me was overwhelming.

Truth be told 7 months later I am loving it! I have slowly made a few connections and have found some pretty neat people here. I love the homesteading community and I realize that there are more people like myself on here than I expected! It's been interesting to see those that are here to get rich, those who are trying to make a living, those that are playing a kick ass game and then those, like me, who enjoy the blogging community and the perk of gaining steem and maybe some cash down the road. I will admit it now, I rush home from work to check for comments and upvotes and to see what others are up to in my feed. And yes I love checking my wallet especially lately! lol

So now my brother and I have convinced my skeptic daughter to give it a try! What does she have to lose, right? So please take a minute and check out @simply.syd 's first post here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@simply.syd/a-little-minows-debut-my-introduction-post

Thank you to all who have posted advice and learning guides for us minnows. I have a whole lot more to learn but am having fun along the way!

@otterbeme

Sort:  

it was the same for me. Starting at SteemIt was pretty frustrating in the beginning. I wasn’t really sure the platform and payouts were for real - I had some experience with scam platforms before. it just seemed too good to be true.

It took a while to get the hang of it, because there are so many factors you should pay attention to. I’ve been learning the most by making stupid beginner-mistakes.

After 3 months there’s still a lot of SteemIt mystery to me, but I guess I’ll be learning new stuff with every post I make or read.

And yes, I’ve turned into an addict too. Posting, curating, checking my wallet (especially now I start to earn like 10 to 15 bucks a post) ihas simply become irresistable, and I’ma bit worried that my addiction will only get stronger when my posts will be really making money. ;-)