STEEMIT – BUILDING COMMUNITIES AND RELATIONSHIPS IN REAL LIFE

in #steemit7 years ago

Until steemit came along, @papa-pepper lived his life primarily offline.


I rarely used the internet and for the most part had no need to. The people who I interacted with were mostly family, friends, co-workers, and neighbors. The interaction that we had was mostly face to face, although there were phone calls and periodical letters too. Basically, the people that I was exposed to was rather limited. @Andrarchy brings this point up in his video, where he points out how steemit connects strangers from around the world.

AROUND THE WORLD AND AROUND THE BLOCK

Meeting and interacting with people from all around the world is an amazing opportunity with incredibly beneficial potentials. We can combine our efforts, talents and creativity to collaborate on amazing projects. I’ll share this animated short as just one small example of what can happen when we work together, but it pales in comparison to the real things that we can accomplish.

@PAPA-PEPPER STEEM-HELP CENTER FEATURING @ANARCHRYSALIS


To make the video above I reached out to @anarchrysalis and we had some fun recording an improv phone conversation that I later animated. I have still never met @anarchrysalis in person, but we have had some fun interacting together, which has been made possible thanks to steemit.

These days I have many people from all around the world that I would consider to be my real friends because of steemit. Most of them I will probably never meet, but sometimes we do meet up in reality offline. Two great examples of this are when I traveled to Texas and met up with @xtrodinarypilot, or when @vcelier traveled down from Canada to visit us with his grandson @naru-celier. Here are some interviews that I did with each of them.

@PAPA-PEPPER INTERVIEWS @XTRODINARYPILOT


@PAPA-PEPPER INTERVIEWS @VCELIER

It blows my mind that suddenly we have the opportunity to actually meet many of these interesting people from all around the world. Whether it is local meetups, one on one visits, or major events like STEEMFEST, we all can potentially meet other people in real life after meeting them on steemit. Recently, @xtrodinarypilot and his family even took a ”steemit roadtrip” and visited with several other steemians across the eastern United States.

Besides one-time meetings of others from distant locations, steemit has been hard at work introducing people from the same area to one another too! If you saw my recent interview post with @paradise-found, then you may have heard that for years we lived in the same town and never even crossed paths. Here is my interview with him which I made when we finally met one another at that crazy Wisconsin Area Steemit Meetup that @provider orchestrated.

@PAPA-PEPPER INTERVIEWS @PARADISE-FOUND

The night before the @papa-pepper tribe left Wisconsin I even stopped in to visit with @paradise-found at his home, only to realize that we even lived in the same neighborhood for years! I am blessed to know him now and to have met him, it’s just too bad that it had to wait until I left town.

BACK TO ARKANSAS

Down in Arkansas though, the story remains the same. My wife had checked out some videos on YouTube from @mericanhomestead, so when they joined steemit, we already knew of them. After connecting a bit online, we made the drive over to their place and hung out for an afternoon. @Mericanhomestead took the opportunity and I decided that we should make a steemit post together. Here are the videos that we created that day.

@MERICANHOMESTEAD INTERVIEWS @PAPA-PEPPER


HOW TO MAKE A HOMESTEADER POST FOR STEEMIT


Not all that long afterwards we visited the home of @dwells and @essentialoilmom. After @dwells entered a contest that I was running, I noticed that he was located in the same area of Arkansas that I was. We got to talking a bit and before too long we were enjoying the day and a meal together. I also took the opportunity to interview @dwells.

@PAPA-PEPPER INTERVIEWS @DWELLS


As things would have it, they are also friends with @mericanhomestead, so when we returned for another visit, @mericanhomestead was at their house too. Not only that, but @jeejee and @beardo were at their house too. They had been having technical difficulties getting steemit accounts, so I offered to use AnonSteem to pick up some accounts for them.

After as much as they had been hanging out with @dwells and @essentialoilmom and with as much as they had been featured on the STEEM-POCALYPSE SHOW it was about time that someone helped them get some real steemit accounts and get started. In the end, we had quite a steemian gathering that just sort of came together in the Northwest corner of Arkansas. Without planning it, all of the following were in attendance.


That translates into four families, but still, what a gathering! Naturally, content creation was in the air. Here are a few videos that were shot that day.

BALLOON ANIMALS 101: HOW TO WORK A CROWD - Part 1


BALLOON ANIMALS 101: HOW TO WORK A CROWD - Part 2


BALLOON ANIMALS 101: A LESSON IN INFLATION


THE STEEM-POCALYPSE SHOW – SEASON 5 EPISODE 20


PAPA-PEPPER SHOW AND TELL

RELATIONSHIP REFLECTIONS

As I consider this gathering that I was at in Arkansas, a few things come to mind. First off, I would not have met any of these people if it were not for steemit. I would still be living my life, loving my wife, raising my children, building our homestead, and having fun outdoors, but I would not be sharing my adventures or life like I am. Neither would they, and our paths would not have crossed like they did.

Also, though the others who were there may have been online elsewhere, it would not have been in a way that I would have ever interacted with them, much less to the point where we decided to meet up in person.

Now, I have real friends in my area that I would have never met otherwise. Not only do we all happen to have steemit in common, but many of our beliefs, values, and goals in life are similar too, which is often the basis for lasting friendships. We can live, laugh, share, and encourage one another, both online and off.

Obviously I have long appreciated the online interaction that steemit offers. Now though, I am appreciating the lasting affect it is having on my life when it comes to people that I know and see. Perhaps one day we will even have a map where we can look up the locations of steemians around the world and in our own states and areas. Many anonymous accounts would remain just that, but for the rest of us, it could be really helpful in making connections and building relationships.

As I reflect on my steemit journey so far, I believe that no matter what the future holds, I have made some life-long friends. Not only that, I now know many more people in my own area than if I had never joined steemit. For that, I am forever grateful.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-building-real-relationships



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Great values !!! I´m looking forward to meet other Steemians here in Spain

It should be expereinced to make Steemit thrive

PAPA PEPPER!! you DA MAN!

let me get in between here for one second

HAHAHA :0)

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh you are so snarky! aren't you! XD

;0)* I'm an angel

I enjoy reading your post here on steemit. I find that now I am on steemit I spend less time on facebook. I know facebook is not the great but when you have to be on it for work,then you have to have it.

My post never get the big payout but I enjoy making the post I do make.

Awesome post brother. Thanks for the mentions. So glad our families met. Look forward to hanging out alot more in the future. Up until this post I didn't realize how much content was created for steemit that day. Sure was alot of fun. I've got a special little activity for you and I planned for our next get together.
I feel bad we had to bring The Steem-Pocalypse Show to an end. It will return eventually, it will just have to wait til I have a less time demanding job. Shabbat Shalom! Peace to you on this sabbath.

Shabbat Shalom Brother!

I can't wait until we meet again either!

This is really awesome all around and is really what I would like to get out of Steemit as a whole. That being said, this article is really inspiring to me knowing that the community is very caring and interactive. I really needed to read this after being disappointed in trying to begin planning my own Steemit meet-up in the Philadelphia, PA area of the US. Yesterday I made a post about it to try and get some feelers out and hopefully connect with a few people in my area that might be into attending something like this or even interested in helping me set it up. Regardless, I think I was getting a bit ahead of myself. Having only been here for 3 weeks now, reaching enough people to set something like this up will be tough. It's not been scratched by any means, and your article gave me a renewed sense of determination after reading what comes from these connections once made. I will continue to comment and post articles to gain connections and a bit more of a following so that the next time I make a post to try this again, more people will see it right off the bat.

Sorry if I got a little too much into my own stuff, but I did that to properly convey the point that I really enjoyed your article and believe I was meant to see it so that I continue to push through any initial failures to obtain the type of bond you describe so eloquently above. Have a great day!!

Good! My vote for you.

steemit is adding value to our lives through relationships all over the world, making money is not my main reason for loving steemit, i love the relationships and intellect of the posts.

I agree! It is adding a lot of value that is not monetary!

You're so right on this. I feel like I actually know people and I've only been on here a little over 2 months. Steemit gives a strong sense of community, and just like in the 'real world', the more you give, the more you get in return. The more I genuinely interact with people I find interesting, the more rewarding and enriching those relationships become. Great post about this great platform. Also, good job you two on that video short, hah!

That was a great project! Thanks!

Leader do you know how you are doing?

How are you doing?

And you can call me brother, not leader.

Alright bro, 👍

I'm doing well sir

You are doing really good......

I recommend checking him out....

My habits have changed too.
I wrote a post about it called "Steem colored lens".

I really must be obsessed with steemit.

steemeyesvoyce.jpg
I see Steem everywhere!

@papa-pepper we are so glad we got to meet you and your beautiful Pepper family!! Can't wait to meet again! 💥

Steemit really is amazing for getting to know others around the world whether it be connecting for projects or just sharing stories. It's great to see you getting really involved with the community including meeting up with others you work with on projects etc. Keep up the good work mate!

@papa-pepper I enjoyed getting to meet and hang out with your family. I also appreciated the help you gave us. @jeejee and I could not have done it without you! I look forward to hanging out again and learning more about your travels and plant knowledge! Thanks again!

It's been nice to hang out a few times already. I look forward to the future!

WoW... almost too much information to fully absorb AND truly appreciate / understand the impact of meeting & creating Long Term relationships BECAUSE of Steemit !!

Have to leave soon 4 work BUT promise I will come back to watch & listen to all of the videos contained in this one Post... However, I did watch the Balloon Making Series AND they were Great...LOVE the humor in the Balloon Series !!

Have a Great Weekend Papa with Your Family...

Cheers !!

Yeah, I've got a few more BALLOON ANIMALS 101 videos to make... at least. Also, thanks for all of the encouragement!

wow quite a few videos there :D I resteemed, but the first one I found kinda disappointed nobody had a hacky sack to toss around :P now to check out the video's I don't recall seeing before :) thanks for sharing

Just when we thought that online friends will only remain that- online friends...
Here you are, here's steemit, proving it again otherwise. The effort you have been giving - putting life to steemit and steemit to life is really inspiring.

Thank you @papa-pepper!

Cheers,
@arrliinn

thanks for making this

Very nice post and photo , video

that moment when you realize somebody else wrote everything you feel and think inside your head. he just says it way better!

I give forth a 100% upvote from my medium size minnow impaled and roasting over a fire self.
That was gold. I needed that laugh. Rstmd.

steemit, making distant friends just became easier

great post

could u please check my post too

I had a similar expirence,before now, i hadly interacted with people outside my country for the simple fact that facebook gives us nothing in common. But with steemit, there is no boundry, no class and no limitations as the people you can connect to. With steemit i got to know @papa-pepper the gardner and wild man. Thanks for the welcome and help in my early days.

Papa Pepper! You have eyes!!! There's proof!!!!!!

That is a very special group in Arkansas. We've had the privilege of spending time with them as well and we also met through Internet means. It's amazing how much a program like Steemit - where you essentially end up creating content for others out of daily life and experiences - can really connect people on a friendship level it can be quite difficult to achieve in our interactions with other people normally.

That's so cool all of you got to hang out together! It's incredible how you start to open up and it leads to finding and meeting other people with the same interests and making lifelong friends online and offline! That's definitely not one of the first things that came to mind when starting steemit. Glad to see you guys are getting what really matters out of this platform!

Woah, that was a lot to watch. You said to have a strong society you need strong families. We also need strong communities and steemit, while a lot of other things positive and negative, is an awesome catalyst for community.

Its awesome that you've already been able to meet a bunch of your steemit tribe. I'm hoping I'll be able to start meeting some people after New Years.

Papa-pepper ^^ what a very nice name and awesome goal hahhaha

Man you are a cool dude! Visiting people and sharing your meal with them, whom you met only on steemit is really a community builder act. And that video, with a whale impaled was damn funny!!! Between I could not find the guy who makes such posts. Is there really any steemian who writes 500 times that steemit is a scam?

The beauty of Steemit is the fact that you get to meet new people. Through Steemit I met the main man @papa-pepper the lover of wild.
Thank you Steemit.

I love watching your interviews

@papa-pepper, I'd love to interview YOU sometime for my MSP WAVES Radio show if you'd be interested! You can see the previous interviews on my profile, if interested please let me know :)

Isn't it amazing how one site can make such a difference to life? This is a totally inspiring post , thanks. Loved the "making a post". Off to try and shear my goats now, but assuming they choose to let me survive the experience , I'll return to check some more of the above videos later

Excellent stories once again by the great @papa-pepper.

So warming knowing this is possible.

hahahhahhahahha this is hilarious!
I love your style of humor, very intelligent.
Love you Papa!

Happy to be part of this adventure with you papa and hope that we can meet in person one day!

Steemit and the blockchain will continue to be so important by leveraging technology to help us build a more equitable and just physical world. I am glad you are out there actually meeting a bunch of these fellow Steemians.

Steem on!