STEEMIT : WHAT AN OUTLET - INSPIRING CREATIVITY LIKE NEVER BEFORE

in #steemit6 years ago

Creative juices are flowing everywhere!


Often, I get asked about how I come up with so many interesting ideas to post here on steemit. I think that we all have a lot of great ideas that we could turn into something, and now steemit has given us the chance to let it all out.

Honestly, it's just great to have a rewarding place to share it all. Most recently, I've been blessed with the participants in my Daily Steemit Selfie Contest.


@notaxation on Day 1


Personally, I kind of think that "selfies" are dumb, but I wanted to create engaging and creative contest to encourage daily interaction, reward other steemians, and have a lot of fun along the way. Even anonymous accounts signed up to participate.


@herpetologyguy on Day 2


Soon steemians from all around the globe were having fun taking photos of themselves each day that featured different themes, like the "animals" one from above.



@stuntworksinc on Day 3

While each participant may have a different comfort zone as to what they'll do for a qualifying photo, it has been amazing to see where some of these players will go with a simple theme as they not only try to outlast one another in this "endurance" style elimination contest, but compete for "Bonus Points" along the way, which are each worth 1 SBD.



@truconspiracy on Day 4

Not only has this contest given me another outlet for creating creative ways to interact with others, but it has inspired a lot of others to even get out of their comfort zone and have some fun that they normally wouldn't.



@dmcamera on Day 26

For those of you are not currently registered to play this season, don't worry, there will be a second season after this first one is over.



@otage on Day 24

Not only has this given me a chance to inspire some other steemians and interact with them on a daily basis, it's given me a chance to provide another way for them to earn here on steemit as well. The total prize pool is currently almost up to 500 SBD, but there are already a couple hundred more SBD ready to paid out in Bonus Points.



@craigcryptoking on Day 25

Recently, we crossed the 30 day mark of our daily contest, and a most surprising thing happened. A new friend that I met because of this contest wanted to bless me, and everyone else, with a gift. @Fishyculture took the time to take all 30 of my "example selfies" and create a video story out of them.

Even more amazing was her comment to me when she shared it, which included the following sentences:


I am not looking to cash in on your name. If you like this, I am inviting you to post it and donate the earnings / rewards to the "debt free pepper house" fund. I am honestly trying to thank you for dragging me out of my comfort zone and forcing me to have some fun doing something I NEVER thought would be fun... I hope you enjoy this little "summary" of your contest thus far!


Here is that wonderful work of art now!

30 DAYS OF @PAPA-PEPPER SILLINESS VIDEO

Like I said before, the idea of having a "selfie contest" may not be the best, but we are having a lot of fun with it, and these participants are getting really creative.

This video was another great example of how steemit can inspire some incredible creativity and not only provide a great outlet for us, but allow us to interact in a rewarding environment as well. Also, here is a recent photo of @fishyculture having fun doing something that normally would have been out of her comfort zone.


@fishyculture on Day 22

Anyway, there are way too many excellent selfies from the contest to include them all here, but you are all free to follow the contest and encourage the participants until you can join in next season. I just wanted to share that incredible video and also share my appreciation about being able to enjoy the wonderful outlet that steemit provides. I can't wait for the rest of the world to figure it out and join us!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-even-selfies-can-be-fun-and-inspirational



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

LOL! You picked a selfie showing my best side, thanks so much!
Thanks again, this started for me with a voice from the Universe saying "Do this, you HAVE to get over yourself." Once that lesson was learned, it became a chance to let my inner child play. THAT is a blessing!

I feel exactly the same way - never a selfie fan, a bit too self conscious. My husband couldn’t believe that I actually entered the contest, let alone have kept at it this long. This has brought me out of my “selfie-shell” and I’m very glad to have “met” you and everyone else in this contest!🤗

Lol! Funny how so many things we think are our own little hang up are really quite common! A pleasure meeting you and the rest of the selfiers here too!

Great contest @papa-pepper... you lured me out of my comfort zone with promise of (anonymous) fame and (virtual) fortune! Congratulations on your creative video @fishyculture and the initiative to donate to the "the debt free pepper house!"

Too cool! hehehe I'm heading over to @fishyculture to vote on as many of her post as I can ;-)

That is very sweet, lol! Thank you!

You are very welcome :-)

The Selfie Contest may be Carrie's favorite thing on all Steemit. She absolutely loves it. She's made some great friends, and looks forward to seeing everybody's selfies every single day.

Steemit has absolutely been encouraging me to think outside the box as well. Participating in all these contests has done so much more than just getting the creative juices flowing. It's led me to create some stuff of which I never even thought myself capable.

I've also been continuously exceeding my own expectations of myself. That's pretty cool. Steemit is the best!

Next season you can count me in on the selfie contest (though I may not last long)

this is a very happy selfi contest happy my friend @papa-pepper.
success always, hopefully the contest continues, I will always visit the contest postings to see how happy happy to follow the contest,

Hahah love all the creativity everyone has put into their selfie game 😁

Me too. It's some crazy stuff!

Great 💕

Dude... your selfie contest is phenomal... hands down the best online contest ever.. Everyday I tune in so I don't miss a episode... so pissed at myself for missing it so early...

You are not alone in those thoughts. Thanks so much for the encouragement. I wanted it to be simple and easy, but still a lot of fun. Thanks!

I think this current contest will reach 1200 SBD before you have a winner... like 2 more months @bluelightbandit will win I think although he was my second horse... I would have bet money on @dearjoyce.

As a leader in the community, when you do selfless acts like giving away some of your SBD for the many contests you run, it makes other people want to give back as well. It is definitely something that is contagious(the good kind of contagious) Will look to join when the next season starts

That sounds good! I hope to see you next time!

Eeeewww, creative juices are spilling out all over.
What a messss
Its getting everywhere

You certainly took me out of my comfort zone! And now I have a feature in this post! Well, we did all agree at sign up that you could use the selfies! I didn't realize how crazy the themes were going to get, though! Lol! I'm hanging in there, and having some pure clean fun! Thanks for doing that for us!

I like the clean fun myself!

(Like reading a good book. I still intend to read all of your book now that I have the latest Kindle and a bigger screen for reading! I just need to find all the installments!)

Amazing pictures!

I was anticipating participating in your selfie challenge, but with the glimpse above, I think I will pass... Selfie has gone way more than just my caked up face in front of a camera.

great post.

congratulations @papa-pepper contest goes well

I missing you allllllllll! I miss the contest so
Much.. ❤❤❤

Same here! @dearjyoce It's still fun to look at the challenges and entries!😀

Contest provides means of interacting and posting daily. Looking forward to partake actively next season

Hi

We are all here to help each other out. Steem On! Thanks Follow me & Upvote. I'll do the Same."

Thats A great idea and congrats for you @papa-pepper

Get out of the box then creativity will comes out! haha

That was a really cool video that @fishyculture made for you. Thanks for being a great inspiration to the rest of us @papa-pepper!

This was a fantastic post @papa-pepper ! So much creativity in these entries , its Awesomeness ! And such a great bunch of steemians its a lot of fun to check out when I get the time ! Keep steeming on like me towards that debt free house some day my friend , It Will Happen !! 👍💕😊

The outlets seem worried about getting fucked up by an adapter 😛

When I first saw your announcement of the selfie contest, I thought to myself: "How lame! Selfies are silly. I don't want to do that."

I was wrong!

Now I am feeling the FOMO. It looks a lot more fun than I could have imagined. You are proving that selfies can be a lot more creative and entertaining than most people give them credit for. Hopefully I can participate in season 2... :-)

I agree, selfies are usually lame and silly, but we found a better way.

your post is very good.
you do not know me yet. I am a newcomer to steemit. but I know a lot about you.
you are a great person.
i need support from you. thank you

Great contest, you're a great guy @papa-pepper

the selfie contest looks like fun. But I miss steem-pocalypse and hope it returns some time.

This is inspirational indeed :)

Wooow very nice photos i like this thanks for sharing @papa-pepper

I love this so much! The selfie contest has become a joy and a blessing to us over the last month!

I am not particularily good with subtleties, so if I'm taking a wrong tack on the selfie albums please let me know.

Blessings to all!

I don't even know what you mean, even if it wasn't subtle.

Chins!

Well I never asked anybodys permission to do it - but the images from this contest are the best (in my opinion) and thanks to your rules, most organized on the whole blockchain!

Love and Light

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.