Steemit Terminology Demystified

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I am not sure if any steemians registered themselves without having any understanding of how the entire system works. To be honest I was lured by the fact that I am be paid for the same things that I have been doing on Facebook. So in other words, it merely means, I can now do my posting in luxury (while sipping coffee at Starbucks and eating scones like a real English gentleman) and not to be cooped up a local coffee shop beside McDonalds hoping to land a bar or two of their wifi bandwidth.

earn money.jpg
source

If you are a digital dinosaur like myself, this is what I had learnt in my month long journey with Steemit and my buddies @bitrocker2020, @awesomianist and @littlenewthings.

STEEM BLOCKCHAIN

Steemit is the interface that allows the creative input to be converted into crytocurrency and subsequent into cash. In short, the blockchain are like chefs cooking dishes and steemit is the brand that deals with the customers. The creative input by authors, artists, photographers and video loggers prepares the raw material to be given to the chefs and the end result is a meal package. The price if this meal package is not pre determined. The more popular the dish is, the more expensive it can sell. It is just like the famous sister char koay teow in Penang where you pay freaking good money for some scrawny prawns.

sister char koay teow.jpg
source

Simply because many patrons have given it the 'thumbs up'

thumbs up.gif
source

STEEM

Steem is a type of cryptocurrency just like bitcoins. It is the lubricant that is generated by the blockchain after serving out your dish. This is the lubrication that keeps you and me going back to Starbucks or McDonalds to continue our postings. However, Steem like any other currency is traded and its value can fluctuate which is bad for you and me as the farmer that provides the eggs, poultry, fish and meat to the chefs. So, to ensure that we don't go hungry and can still make it to be a millionaire in 10 years' time we are given a guarantee in the form of Steem Backed Dollars (SBD).

For every SBD owned by the content provider, there is a guarantee that it will have the value of USD1. So that we can write or draw in peace.

STEEM POWER

This is the interesting part. This feature of Steemit endows the owners with superpowers. If you have superpowers, you have many friends. it is just like how everyone wants to be friends with the football captain or the head cheerleader. Of course, like Aunt May says, 'with great powers, comes great responsibilities'. Of course it surprises me that Aunt May is quite well read and is able to quote Voltaire.

source
voltaire.jpg
source

But we are not really concern about that kind of books she keeps under her pillow. In short, every chick in the neighbourhood wants to be friends with Spiderman because he has superpowers. So, in short, if you have a good stash of Steem Power, you can be Spiderman, Birdman or even Antman and everyone will be your friend. This is because you can delegate some of your powers to them, you can make them 'stronger' by giving them the 'thumbs up' for their chicken or vegetable that they produce and they will be paid more.

POWER UP AND POWER DOWN

Only in this steemit universe you can choose to increase your power by paying money for it or you can choose to give up the powers and be paid for it. So that is pretty cool. If someone wants your ability to spray sticky gluey things from your body, they got to pay for it. Sorry, commercial break because I can't stop giggling and the person next to me which is stealing glances at my computer screen is bursting out.

So, powering down cannot be done at one go, it must be done in installments. Kryptonite cannot kill Superman instantly right, Superman merely gets weaker and weaker. So the same goes for Steem Power, it has to be powered down in installments. This is to prevent sudden departure of a real superhero that may leave the Steemit universe at the mercy of evil villians. So, the force shield has to exist so that there is no premature death by the sudden departure of our heroes.

This should be enough for the first installment, more to come in the next blog. Steemout.

Sort:  

Keep it up buddy. Threw you some love from the group delegation account.

Upvoted by #TheUnmentionables

The love is very much appreciated.

@perennial, brilliantly put, although I have to admit that I continued to read through this article because that shrimp dish looked so good! I love your analogies, and you helped me to understand the system dynamics a little bit better. I have upvoted this and am now following you. Looking forward to reading more of your great ideas.

Haha...thanks for the kind words. I was just as blur and looking for guidance. This is me doing a little bit to clear the air.

@perennial, your article really helped me. The hardest part for me to understand is how the different features interact with each other and impact each other. Keep writing your great thoughts about your Steemit experiences. Cheers!

You are most welcomed

Superbly done.

Thanks. I am humbled.

Thanks for sharing what you have learned about Steemit and put it into English... This is a great explanation of what is Steemit and how it works...

I was also blur...so i hope this will offer some help if not much help.

Of coz it helps.. Love your creativity in linking up food to Steemit....

I try my best and my love for food is overshadowing me.

Very useful information!

Stay tuned for part II

wow, this is my 30th day on Steemit and honestly i have NO IDEA what the rest of the steemonology meant hahaha i'm just gonna keep writing and upvoting others for the moment haha but great information, i shall keep reminding myself from time to time!

More to come. Stay tuned

This will be very useful to newbies and to help us explain the concept of Steemit to new people who have yet to hear about Steemit. In the meantime please check out my Merdeka post. On the eve of Malaysian's Independence Day, this is my dream for Malaysia.
Let Us Dare To Dream

Good enough for a good laugh and remember spiderman and char koay teow...

This is masterpiece. Making it so easy to understand; exciting too and you have nailed most of the steemian's initial objective of joining Steemit. This article would come super handy for me to introduce Steemit... Love it!!

Thanks. Stay tuned part II coming.

Some good analogies in here. Sometimes steemit can be a bit overwhelming, just gotta keep at it and think long term

Thanks for the kind words jason!

Congratulations @perennial! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great write up! Good series for new kids :)

Hi kitten...yeah hope to keep it relevant. Cheerios.