My Opinion And Possible Solution To The Excessive Hacking Activities On Steemit.

in #steemit6 years ago

1521061188548.jpg

Please note that whatever is written in this post is an opinion of @princeemmanuel and it doesnt represent the collective opinion of other steemians.

The rate of hacking(mostly phishing) is on the high and the most scary part of it is that alot of steemians has fallen victim to these set of greedy beigns.

How on earth will someone wake up one morning and have this urge or a crystal clear intention of causing harm to another person, I mean thats evil.

They say what goes around, comes around. What I know for sure is that "Karma" never relents.

**Alot of peeps(steemians) has made so much complaints about their accounts being hacked and it feels bad knowing that very little or absolute nothing is being done about it. Now is the time for all the whales with vast influence to speak for us, making our voices to be heard by the Steem devs Crew and CEO of steemit, @Ned.

My Own Opinion In Respect To Security On Steemit.

I know Steemit is still in a beta phase but to make users or investors really want to stay here and invest, more should be done in terms of security, I mean they should please try to make our security their top priority.

Solution

When a steemian logs in, there should be a set of security questions (at least 2) which will be asked to the user and he/she alone will know the answer to such questions. After answering the questions correctly, then access should me granted.
The security questions could be secret questions or very very very personal questions.

The security questions should appear when the user:

  • Tries to log in from another computer or with a different ip

  • When the user tries to change the Master Key, Active Key or Posting Key

  • When the user tries to initiate a transaction/transfer of steem, sbd(steem backed dollar) or steem power

This is my own Opinion, Thank You✌✌✌

My Heart Goes Out To Peeps Who Feel Victim To A Disaster As Such, So Sorry Peeps, Hopefully In The Future More Will Be Done To Correct These Kinda Flaws 👌👌✌✌

DQmWHUZjHQFFJKUioxVAkfyHpKP4QYTyM2R5bqjQfHvsbUH.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for your post, @princeemanuel. I myself almost got snagged by a phisher just yesterday. Someone had made a comment on my post including a link to what they said was their post. When I clicked on it, I knew something was off--it took me to "steemil.com" (with an "l"), and the site had toggled from "night mode" (like I usually have it) to "day mode." It was also asking me to re-login. Thankfully I had the wherewithall to notcie these things and suspect it was a scam (I think I had also read somewhere earlier that day on here about someone being phished, so I was already on alert).

I like your idea about the security questions.. Makes sense to me; also seems easy enough. (On a slightly different topic, I had made the suggestion that perhaps captchas might be an effective may to "prove brain;" but this was in relation to bots and their regulation.)

Anyway, thanks for bringing up this topic--hopefully something gets done to address the situation--because you're right: People are not going to want to invest in something they don't trust!! (***Similarly, it is ULTIMATELY our responsibility to protect ourselves on Steemit. This is sort of "part and parcel" of a "decentralized" system--there is no "central authority" who is truly even responsible for the "security" of the platform; it's your's and your's and mine.

Wow... this is the longest and one of the most reasonable comment I have received so far in my Steemit journey!!! On the fake website ish, there are so many fake websites at the moment that has been designed, built or cloned to look like Steemit. I also agree with you on this that "We also hold responsibility for our security"

There are some fake apps on Google Play Store these people use in carrying out their evil deeds.
Currently theres a fake dtube app on Google play store but it also baffles me to know that even almighty google couldn't detect anything malicious in these apps.

What am I saying?

  • Avoid these so called apps that claim to be steem related with little/no comment, poor comments,bad comments from users(this is an indication that it isn't safe) and when you don't seem to find any good or positive thing said about the app by users. When you see someone mention "Scam" in these reviews you gotta run outta there and don't even look back.. Lol.

  • Also avoid clicking on every link you come across most especially those shared in steem related groups on different social media platforms like facebook, whatsapp and their likes.

Thanks for your words ✌✌✌ @gjones15

Good point about being careful which links you click... I wish there were a way to check the beforehand, i'm sure there probably is.. I am gonna check it out lol. Thanks again!

You are highly welcome sir!☺✌ @gjones15

Let's hope the "phisher-men" go somewhere else @princeemmanuel.
Feel free to comment/read my latest post + 1-SBD giveaway: https://steemit.com/lyrics/@friendly-fenix/shillin-like-a-villain

Yeah.. We keep watching and hoping✌ thanks for stopping by. @friendly-fenix

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.96% upvote!
I was summoned by princeemmanuel. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princeemmanuel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.