How Can Steemit Stop Terrorism and Help Those Affected?

in #steemit8 years ago

This is a genuine question. There are people on this platform who can influence. Those with technological know-how. Creativity. Ideas.

How can we pool them?

The attack in Nice last night is the final straw for me. I want to do something. My area of expertise is medicine, as I am currently studying to be a doctor. I don't know how relevant this is, but I have some involvement with the United Nations, which can also be of benefit.

What ideas do you have? What can this community do to show solidarity for people around the world suffering from terrorism? What about launching a forum, similar to steemit, where those directly affected by terrorism can go to seek support, advice or comfort, and share their stories?

If anyone wants to collaborate or offer ideas/support, please comment below.

world

P.s. wrote this post entitled 'Are We Numb To Terrorism?' a few days ago. Feels very relevant today.

Sort:  

Hey there @rachelwd,
I think this is a worthy subject to discuss here. I also think part of the problem is of a social economic one, in one sense and a religious and spiritual one in another sense. First, I think we need to be like Christopher Hitchens and Sam Harris and argue for the value of humanity without the need for oligarchic religious systems in the world. I'm not against others who want to believe in living a certain way and believing in a "God" that will reward them now and/or in eternity if they do so but I would rather they stop killing others because those others choose not to do the same. I think if more people were more well off and less in dire need then they might not think they need to turn to religion for the answers.