You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GoodBye YouTube, it's the END of an ERA :: Hello STEEMIT and DTUBE! 🤗

in #steemit6 years ago

I got the same ban hammer. Since they collect ad revenue for the site whether the video is monetized or not, I decided to pull down all my content. It was a modest channel, but it still generated over 100k views with the few videos I had up on there depicting auto repair. I've been in good standing since my channel went up over 5 years ago with zero complaints or hits against my reputation, then cya, no more monetization for the little guy. I've even stopped watching stuff on YouTube since. They're going downhill fast because they're killing all the new talent coming in. The barrier to entry is huge now. Easy pickings for DTube and other video hosting sites.

Sort:  

actually, I'm not sure the barrier to entry is that huge, for the right type of "characters"...

If you lean more towards the "free-thinking" type, then yes, I totally agree! lol

Absolutely correct. That's what I was originally thinking of doing with a channel but quickly realized it was virtually impossible on a platform like YouTube at the time. What I was thinking of in my comment though is the kind of content that I was producing, much like the content I usually consume on there. People doing little projects and posting it. Small amount of followers for each channel, but a huge community in aggregate. YouTube is doing everything they can to chase them away right now, along with a lot of others who deviate even a little bit culturally from the West Coast SJW's running the company.