The HUGE issue of the self-vote - I have the answer - maybe :) !!!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey Steemers!

This has definitely been a hot topic as of late and overall a little concerning to have such a divided community. Is it morally OK to vote for ones self or is it not? To this question there is no simple answer but a compromise needs to be worked out for the betterment of the platform and it's longterm survival.

For a start I do not believe in any self styled vigilante flagging those that upvote themselves this is a negative for the community and should be frowned up. Consider this for a second; someone invests their lifesavings in Steem, powers up and then the rules change this would be lead to massive resentment and anger. Completely changing things is not the answer. We need to see middle ground!

Upvoting your own comments is another matter, maybe this should be stopped unless an equal upvote was given to the author of the post, I'm not sure. 

Anyway I propose the following:

  1. Upvoting your own posts is OK however other upvotes eat in to your own vote. Therefore if ones vote is worth $1 and they upvote themselves and receive no other upvotes their post is worth $1. If they receive other upvotes equating to anything up to $1 their post is still worth $1. However if they receive other upvotes equating to more than $1 their post is worth this amount - their vote ceases to count. This will act as an insurance policy for those that have invested in Steem Power.
  2. Upvoting your own comments that originate from your own posts should not be allowed full stop.
  3. Upvoting your own comments on someone elses post should be allowed as long as you have given an equal vote to the post in question so we can stop the practice of giving a 1% vote to a whole post and a 100% vote for yourself. This seems the fairest approach.

Just a little to think about but to me this seems like common sense!


Sort:  

I think this post proves my point ENTIRELY. I have waited close to 30 mins, value is still 0 I need to self-vote.

this is a point of view...
I think that up-voting your own posts is fine and also maybe it should be done automatically .why not ..if you can give money to yourself you should do it every time
also writing a comment on someones post should automatically give some money to the writer of the post.
i think that it will save time and will be more comfortable .
obviously, you should be able to post comments with no up-vote by selecting the option no up-vote but the default should be -up-vote

Maybe however the only problem with doing this is that it reduces the reward pool, yes you should be able to do it but in my opinion only as a just in case.

interesting proposal :)

Thanks, I think it would work :)

You're welcome

Some new ideas here which may get the conversation going.

I agree with your second point. On the third, I think we are attempting to make a distinction between upvoting comment on your own post and other peoples vote and I am not sure that it the right approach. Self vote on comments should just go. There is no room for it. It is a meaningless social transaction.

As for post self voting, I think that is a harder issue to deal with but I like your suggestion. It is pretty innovative in its approach and could be a good compromise for now.

Thanks, I'd like to see something done but would like the insurance there just in case.

Yes I agree. The insurance in the first point may just convince the SP investors to come on board.

I have voted for @l0k1 as witness. Look him up. He is really trying to take this issue up and force a change/debate. Also have you met @smackdown.kitty yet --> https://steemit.com/steem/@l0k1/introducing-smackdown-kitty

Great thanks, will take a look.