You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fifty-Word Fiction Frenzy: A Community Collaboration

in #steemit7 years ago

Who would have thought that earning three million dollars could cost me so much. I had gone from rags to riches in scarcely a year, but I'd have given it all back in a heartbeat if it meant regaining all I had lost. Let me tell you how it began.

Time. Time is where it began. Or when it began... I guess. You see time is limited for each and everyone of us. I used to watch the clocks; every day, every hour, every minute, every second. I work in a train station... I mean I... I used to. It wasn't the best job in the world, but it paid the bills, and it gave me plenty of time to think. I enjoyed a simple life with a few good friends, and my little shit of a cat who I loved. I'd spend most of the working day staring at those clocks. It was as if I was waiting for something. All the different time zones ticking away, promising something. If only I had known that what I would gain would be lost along with everything else.
Tick-tock, tick-tock, tick-tock... and then one day on a quiet platform a strange passenger appeared as if from nowhere.
"Where did she come from?" I didn't have time to think.
I had to get back to watching the clocks. I felt as though what I was waiting for was imminent.
Tick-tock, tick-tock, tick-tock..." and then my simple life was over.
BOOM!

Sort:  

Shiiii-iet! Well over 50 words. I can't do this. 50 words is too short.

I love the idea though and will be following.

Yes, well over. Lol. I don't think that matters though. As long as it is one paragraph it should be good.

It may be better to end it at;

If only I had known that what I would gain would be lost along with everything else.

Then it won't be overly lengthy.

Good entry though, and thanks for participating. You might want to give this a resteem to give as many people as possible the opportunity to vote for your submission.

Agreed! I enjoy this one, but I would definitely end it where you suggested and pick up there with the next entry. Writing isn't my forte, but I enjoyed reading this entry a lot.

Or to vote for whatever submission they prefer 😉

Well yes. That is what I meant. Lol.

I just worry there won't be enough votes to make it interesting as this is the first installment and no one really knows about it yet.

It will grow.