PewDie Pie from YouTube made $8.1 Million on YouTube, can you imagine if he was on Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago


Picture Courtesy of PewdiePie/Maker Studios

This instance are rare, but YouTube star PewDiePie made $8.1 million dollars on YouTube last year. PewDiePie is the #1 most-subscribed YouTube creator with more than 46 millions followers. If you aren’ familiar with PewDiePie, his channel focuses on gameplay videos and comedy sketches.

What’s interesting is that YouTube takes 45% share of ad revenue and multichannel network partners take a 50% split of the remaining pie. Can you imagine if he was on Steemit ? He would get much more of the pie. Thanks Steemit!

#Steemit #YouTube #basicincome #blog #content-creators #life #lifestyle #money#new

Sort:  

While I appreciate his success and playing to his strengths, I personally find him to be a bit obnoxious, but I have also wondered what will happen when celebrities migrate here. https://steemit.com/steemit/@bendjmiller222/effect-of-celebrities-on-steemit I'm all for anyone who adds value, but if someone just uses their star power to gain upvotes from fans, I feel that will start the decline in steemit, since new users won't be able to have quality content looked at. In the dhort term a celebrity would be cool if they are open to interact with fans, but too many have agents run their accounts. I'm sure we will see some people as steemit expands. I just really hope they don't break the community of support and positivity that exists already.

I agree. I like the Steemit sense of community. I hope the expansion with future star power doesn't change the Steemit sense of community.

Exactly! I'm all for valuable content over star power. I'm sure some celebrities would be awesome here. But many don't have the time needed to make meaningful posts. It would be fun to say someone upvoted you that was a celebrity, but at the same time I truly respect some of the dolphins and whales more for what they bring to steemit.

That's a very interesting insight!

I personally don't mind Pewdie. I've been watching his videos for a long time now. However, I do wish he made more gaming videos than sketches....

One big advantage of Youtube is that content providers like PewDiePie get paid even when viewers don't register and vote. Most Youtube viewers don't bother to vote/like videos. It will be difficult for Steemit to attract the critical mass of the average Internet consumer. There is no internal Steemit video hosting function to keep the audience on the site after watching a video.

I upvoted You

My daughter used to like him now she's into Jack Setipicguy. think that's his name lol

Don't worry...They will ALL be here very soon once the word gets out!

Would be some talent worth recruiting for sure. Go get em!

I was thinking the same thing!

How about build our own Steemit star

I like that idea!

He would be sensational

I'd take the highly liquid $8.1M USD.

Do you guys think I should try to recruit some celebrities or Youtube stars?